#1  
Old 31-10-2011, 10:14 AM
Poita (Peter)
Registered User

Poita is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NSW Country
Posts: 3,585
Field Derotator

Am I right in assuming that this Adaptive Optics Guider from Orion would also work as a Field De-Rotator for Alt/Az use?
http://www.telescope.com/Astrophotog...53077.uts#tabs
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 31-10-2011, 10:42 AM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 5,884
It looks like it would, driven by right software.
But.. $1,999.99 !!!
For that money, you could have EQ6 with extras... and no need for de-rotator (additional component of the system that may go faulty, or needs fiddling with in the dark)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31-10-2011, 11:42 AM
bert's Avatar
bert (Brett)
Automation nut

bert is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bathurst
Posts: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poita View Post
Am I right in assuming that this Adaptive Optics Guider from Orion would also work as a Field De-Rotator for Alt/Az use?
http://www.telescope.com/Astrophotog...53077.uts#tabs
Nope, it wont derotate. And I havent read a positive review on it, and I've read plenty of bad ones. Want ao? Go sbig or starlight xpress.

This will derotate though. http://www.optecinc.com/astronomy/ca...yxis/pyxis.htm

I have one but I have not used the derotate function.

Brett
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31-10-2011, 11:49 AM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 5,884
Hmm, it says:
Quote:
The SteadyStar AO Guider with Field Rotator not only makes rapid and accurate tracking corrections to deliver pinpoint stars, it also allows you to rotate the camera and off-axis guider without disturbing the focus. That makes finding a guide star much easier. Additionally, the SteadyStar AO Guider with Field Rotator is an ideal solution for imagers with fork altitude-azimuth mounts, including those used with popular catadioptric telescopes. Since Alt-Az mounts cannot move in arcs to match the apparent movement of the sky, the field rotator will do that for you. There’s no need to purchase a heavy equatorial wedge for your fork mount.
So the add is misleading then.... or they were referring to guide camera? Still unclear/misleading... The text above suggests this is also field de-rotator...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-11-2011, 04:24 AM
Poita (Peter)
Registered User

Poita is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NSW Country
Posts: 3,585
Quote:
Originally Posted by bert View Post
Nope, it wont derotate. And I havent read a positive review on it, and I've read plenty of bad ones. Want ao? Go sbig or starlight xpress.

This will derotate though. http://www.optecinc.com/astronomy/ca...yxis/pyxis.htm

I have one but I have not used the derotate function.

Brett
Are you sure it won't derotate? There are two models, one with a rotator built in and one without.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-11-2011, 06:07 AM
bert's Avatar
bert (Brett)
Automation nut

bert is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bathurst
Posts: 667
My bad...

I thought it was the older model without the rotator.

Brett
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-11-2011, 10:39 AM
Geoff45's Avatar
Geoff45 (Geoff)
PI rules

Geoff45 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 2,407
Field rotators are not cheap, AO units are not cheap. I would be surprised if they could bundle them together for a mere $1999. I suspect that the field rotator is an optional extra.
Geoff
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-11-2011, 11:27 AM
Poita (Peter)
Registered User

Poita is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NSW Country
Posts: 3,585
Nope, it is included in the price.
If it works, that makes it a pretty good deal, also allows you to find a guide star more readily I guess.


Quote:
Originally Posted by ghsmith45 View Post
Field rotators are not cheap, AO units are not cheap. I would be surprised if they could bundle them together for a mere $1999. I suspect that the field rotator is an optional extra.
Geoff
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-11-2011, 05:21 PM
bert's Avatar
bert (Brett)
Automation nut

bert is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bathurst
Posts: 667
I looked into the orion a while ago, and what steered me off is 2 things:

1. Describing in the manual how to fix a stuck motor with a screwdriver, and from the reviews I have read, it happens regularly. So I dont think it would work terribly well at the remote rig.

2. Drivers: I have had difficulty using orions drivers with mainstream capture programs in the past. I dont think I could get it to work with ccdsoft and hence ccdautopilot. There is some info on using maxim, but I dont know to what extent it is compatible.

I talked to Greg Terrance of fli about making a unit that provided all the parts this unit had but bigger, enough to cover a 16803 chip.

I really like the idea that the orion would work... If it did I would be first in line to buy it. One of the rigs I run hasnt got the back focus to run both rotator and ao, this unit would make that possible. I did send an email off to orion asking questions about drivers a few days ago and I am yet to recieve a reply.

So if anyone has one on order...... Please let me know how it goes.

Brett
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-11-2011, 08:06 AM
bert's Avatar
bert (Brett)
Automation nut

bert is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bathurst
Posts: 667
I sent off a question to orion.

Quote:
Dear Brett:

Thank you for contacting Orion.

We hope to have the SteadyStar working with MaximDL before too long. It is
unlikely CCDSoft will work with the SteadyStar.

Clear skies and good observing,
Rich N.

-----Original Message-----

Hi,

I run a highly automated observatory. Is it possible to run the ao part of
the steady star with ccdsoft or maxim dl?

Thanks
Brett
Sent from my iPhone
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-11-2011, 01:11 PM
bmitchell82's Avatar
bmitchell82 (Brendan)
Newtonian power! Love it!

bmitchell82 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mandurah
Posts: 2,597
That says it all doesn't it.... Sorry my money would go to the starlight xpress setup and considering they have two sizes large and small large being for 16803 sensors and small for most others. I have seen them in action and they work flawlessly with Maxim unsure about CCDsoft but no doubt they would be exactly the same.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-11-2011, 03:57 PM
bert's Avatar
bert (Brett)
Automation nut

bert is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bathurst
Posts: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmitchell82 View Post
I have seen them in action and they work flawlessly with Maxim unsure about CCDsoft but no doubt they would be exactly the same.
Brendan, sounds like you have never used ccdsoft. Making anything work in ccdoft that is not directly supported by Software bisque is somewhere between difficult and impossible I have found. Hence the comment by orion that it will unlikely that it will ever be compatible with ccdsoft.

I use ccdsoft only because it works better with ccdautopilot and adaptive optics, otherwise maxim works better any nearly any situation with automated systems IMHO.

Brendan do you know if the starlight systems are big enough to cover 16803 chip? I read somewhere that they cover an 11k chip but have not had a lot to do with them, if they did cover a sensor that big, I would consider looking into their system.

Brett
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-11-2011, 12:33 AM
bmitchell82's Avatar
bmitchell82 (Brendan)
Newtonian power! Love it!

bmitchell82 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mandurah
Posts: 2,597
mmm I have used CCDsoft before but it was very basic operation Maxim runs very well with AO from the two different people i know that run it but as for auto pilot....

As for the SX-LF they advertise a 60mm clear aperature so i would say that you should be alright with a 52mm diagonal of the 16803. I dont own one but yeah the numbers are on the right side of the foot so to speak
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-11-2011, 05:25 PM
bert's Avatar
bert (Brett)
Automation nut

bert is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bathurst
Posts: 667
Hey brendan.

Maxim works well with with ao, just not with ao AND ccdap at the same time. Maxims ao interface is far superior to ccdsoft.

Brett
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 03:24 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement