#21  
Old 16-02-2010, 09:54 PM
Chillie's Avatar
Chillie (Henry)
Registered User

Chillie is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Horsham, Victoria
Posts: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjjnettie View Post
Ooooh yes Jen. I have one of those. They're a brilliant piece of kit.
Holds the camera in the focuser very snuggly, no slop at all. But it's easy to loosen and reframe what you're shooting.
I'd highly recommend it, if you can afford it.
That does it! I'm bookmarking this thread for future reference.

Great info here.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 16-02-2010, 09:55 PM
Octane's Avatar
Octane (Humayun)
IIS Member #671

Octane is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canberra
Posts: 11,158
I am very, very daft.

Can you explain to me how this system works? Even after reading the MyAstroShop link, I still don't quite get it. What does it have over a standard T-ring and T-mount? If I upgrade the focuser on my refractor to a Feathertouch, can I still use this instrument?

Thanks for any answers.

H

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjjnettie View Post
Ooooh yes Jen. I have one of those. They're a brilliant piece of kit.
Holds the camera in the focuser very snuggly, no slop at all. But it's easy to loosen and reframe what you're shooting.
I'd highly recommend it, if you can afford it.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 16-02-2010, 10:02 PM
Jen's Avatar
Jen
Moving to Pandora

Jen is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Swan Hill
Posts: 7,028
Quote:
Originally Posted by erick View Post
And I'll bring my hacksaw so we can saw the end of your tube off to reach focus!
That sounds like a scary thought

Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 16-02-2010, 10:05 PM
Chillie's Avatar
Chillie (Henry)
Registered User

Chillie is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Horsham, Victoria
Posts: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jen View Post
Hey Chillie your welcome time for you to go shopping again buddy
Not for a while. I bought that tripod that I was telling you about in the other thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jen View Post
Yep thats the plan to have all this organised before i get to Snake Valley
You'll learn from the experts. Keep practicing you polar alignment before hand. You know ... Practice makes perfect.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 16-02-2010, 10:10 PM
Chillie's Avatar
Chillie (Henry)
Registered User

Chillie is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Horsham, Victoria
Posts: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jen View Post
That sounds like a scary thought

Have a read through this article Jen:

Modifying a Newtonian Tube for DSLR Photography
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 16-02-2010, 10:16 PM
Jen's Avatar
Jen
Moving to Pandora

Jen is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Swan Hill
Posts: 7,028
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chillie View Post
Have a read through this article Jen:

Modifying a Newtonian Tube for DSLR Photography
Yes i did it looks very frightening i read half of it then i had to run out and give my scope a big hug
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 16-02-2010, 10:20 PM
marki's Avatar
marki
Waiting for next electron

marki is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,427
What were you saying about a hammer .

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 16-02-2010, 10:21 PM
Chillie's Avatar
Chillie (Henry)
Registered User

Chillie is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Horsham, Victoria
Posts: 443
I should have had my scope out tonight but I'm too tired.

I'm NOT moving my primary mirror just so I can take pictures. Remember I have a Dob.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 16-02-2010, 10:32 PM
Davelrkn's Avatar
Davelrkn
Registered User

Davelrkn is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 73
Hi Jen
So many posts here and not sure if this has been mentioned before.
I would not want to happen to you that happen to me as I ended up having to buy two TMounts
I bought my first one from a well know large Photo supplier here and found it had heaps of movement and could not adjust out.
I ended up getting one from a Telescope Shop which was around the $50 mark were the first one was around $24.
Cheers
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 16-02-2010, 10:56 PM
Phoenix's Avatar
Phoenix (Steve)
Happy Sensing!

Phoenix is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by erick View Post
Jen, ask for secondhand in the classifieds first. I'm sure you'll save some money. The only risk is receiving a badly worn T-ring, perhaps?

ps, if you are buying new, see if you can extend to one of these:-

http://www.myastroshop.com.au/produc...sp?id=MAS-055A

I'll bring one to SV camp if you want to have a look.

You still need the T-ring as well.
I'm with Octane... what does the MAS280 have over the standard T-ring and T-mount?

nix
Reply With Quote
  #31  
Old 16-02-2010, 11:35 PM
erick's Avatar
erick (Eric)
Starcatcher

erick is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Shoalhaven Heads
Posts: 8,469
For Octane and Phoenix:-

http://www.stark-labs.com/blog/files...mpressions.php

http://www.rainydaymagazine.com/RDM2....htm#HoTechSCA

http://www.rainydaymagazine.com/RDM2...A_Installation

http://www.hotechusa.com/category-s/9.htm
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 17-02-2010, 12:38 AM
Octane's Avatar
Octane (Humayun)
IIS Member #671

Octane is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canberra
Posts: 11,158
Eric,

Thanks, so much.

Second question. It costs only US$55 but, sells here for $110 at MyAstroShop! Is there somewhere cheaper to get this nifty gadget?

Cheers.

H
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 17-02-2010, 01:25 AM
Mighty_oz (Marcus)
Registered User

Mighty_oz is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Atm somewhere in Perth
Posts: 575
Before u cut that lovely tube see if someone has a low profile focuser to try out if u can't reach focus might just work.
Just my 2c worth.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 17-02-2010, 09:58 AM
Phoenix's Avatar
Phoenix (Steve)
Happy Sensing!

Phoenix is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 243
Thanks for the links Eric - very interesting indeed! I hope Jen finds these links useful as well.

Cheers
nix
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 17-02-2010, 02:06 PM
erick's Avatar
erick (Eric)
Starcatcher

erick is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Shoalhaven Heads
Posts: 8,469
Humayun - the usual argument - buy local and pay a bit more; buy online from USA and pay a bit less - each to his own. Mine came directly from the manufacturer.

Jen - just kidding about the hacksaw. Trying a low profile focusser is the place to start.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 17-02-2010, 02:52 PM
Octane's Avatar
Octane (Humayun)
IIS Member #671

Octane is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canberra
Posts: 11,158
Eric,

How did you manage that? I tried ordering from the Hotech site and it only has options for shipping to the US or Canada? Should I email the proprietor directly?

Cheers.

H
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 17-02-2010, 03:20 PM
Screwdriverone's Avatar
Screwdriverone (Chris)
I have detailed files....

Screwdriverone is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kellyville Ridge, NSW Australia
Posts: 3,306
Hi Henry,

You might find focus on the DSLR impossible with your (and my) scope. I tried using a Televue adaptor onto the DSLR T Ring adaptor and couldnt get enough inward drawtube to get focus.
I was using a Canon 1000D.

I will try to achieve mirror up the tube scenario by sliding the secondary cage "down" a bit on the retractable truss tubes. I will test it hopefully soon and let you know.

Cheers

Chris

Ps. Hi JEN!

Last edited by Screwdriverone; 17-02-2010 at 03:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 17-02-2010, 11:25 PM
Chillie's Avatar
Chillie (Henry)
Registered User

Chillie is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Horsham, Victoria
Posts: 443
Looks great but I can think of a way they can improve it that will solve the focusing issues.

Why not ad some optics (maybe adjustable) to the SCA that extends the "eye relief" (or whatever the DSLR equivalent is)? Just thinking out aloud.

Also another question. Do I go with a 2" or 1.25" SCA? Which is better, and why?
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 19-02-2010, 10:08 PM
Chillie's Avatar
Chillie (Henry)
Registered User

Chillie is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Horsham, Victoria
Posts: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chillie View Post
Looks great but I can think of a way they can improve it that will solve the focusing issues.

Why not ad some optics (maybe adjustable) to the SCA that extends the "eye relief" (or whatever the DSLR equivalent is)? Just thinking out aloud.

Also another question. Do I go with a 2" or 1.25" SCA? Which is better, and why?
Anyone want to comment on this and answer my questions?

I'm sure the answers would benefit others as well as me.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 20-02-2010, 01:38 AM
Jen's Avatar
Jen
Moving to Pandora

Jen is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Swan Hill
Posts: 7,028
Yep Chillie im waiting patiently with you too on this one
Sounds like a bit of a task maybe if i just piggy back my camera and use my DSI cam instead
I have no idea what the hell im doing yet
I dont wanna fork out that money if its not going to focus can we try before we buy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 08:22 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement