#1  
Old 15-02-2010, 11:10 PM
Jen's Avatar
Jen
Moving to Pandora

Jen is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Swan Hill
Posts: 7,028
Attaching camera to my scope?

Gday
I was just wondering what the piece is called that you use to attach the camera to the scope. Where can i get one from and how much are they Im scared to order on line as i have no idea what im asking for (yet)



Oh its a canon 500D if that helps
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15-02-2010, 11:16 PM
Davros's Avatar
Davros (Lauren)
stumblebum

Davros is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Caboolture / ShirKahr
Posts: 750
Hi Jen
You need a T ring adaptor which is camera specific and a T mount which is basically a tube the size of an eye piece. Screw ring onto T mount and then attach to camera like a lense and away you go.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15-02-2010, 11:27 PM
Jen's Avatar
Jen
Moving to Pandora

Jen is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Swan Hill
Posts: 7,028
Thanks Mick

So i just ask for T rings and a T mount and thats it wow thats easy no size or anything like that maybe should come to mind when ordering

So if i wanted to also connect it to my friends 20inch scope do i need a different size one or is it one size fits all
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15-02-2010, 11:33 PM
marki's Avatar
marki
Waiting for next electron

marki is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,427
Jen you need this https://www.bintelshop.com.au/welcome.htm and depending on the size of your focuser (I am assumming 2" ???) something like this https://www.bintelshop.com.au/welcome.htm or this https://www.bintelshop.com.au/welcome.htm. There are lots of different options for the nose piece but the EOS ring is pretty standard. Most online suppliers can get these for you so shop around for the cheapest price. People who use 2.6, 3, 3.5 and 4" focusers will generally have an adaptor that will let you plug in the 2" nose piece so yes you can even use it on a 20" scope.

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15-02-2010, 11:40 PM
Jen's Avatar
Jen
Moving to Pandora

Jen is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Swan Hill
Posts: 7,028
Hey hello Mark
Thanks but all those links you put up all take me just to the home page of bintel
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15-02-2010, 11:43 PM
Octane's Avatar
Octane (Humayun)
IIS Member #671

Octane is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canberra
Posts: 11,158
Jen,

As has been mentioned, you need an EOS T-ring and T-mount.

The EOS T-ring has the same bayonet as your standard EF lenses you use on the camera. You attach the T-mount (tube) to the T-ring usually by three tiny screws in the ring. Then slide the assembly into your focuser as usual.

Shouldn't cost more than $50.

H
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15-02-2010, 11:52 PM
marki's Avatar
marki
Waiting for next electron

marki is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jen View Post
Hey hello Mark
Thanks but all those links you put up all take me just to the home page of bintel
Ooops hang on. http://www.myastroshop.com.au/produc...sp?id=MAS-052D

and http://www.myastroshop.com.au/produc...sp?id=MAS-052D (bit expensive, there is a cheap at bintel one under imaging and accessories, page 3, box 9)

Cheers

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16-02-2010, 12:23 AM
Jen's Avatar
Jen
Moving to Pandora

Jen is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Swan Hill
Posts: 7,028
LOL Mark both those 2 links are the same (just a ring) are you having a bad day today LMAO

thanks H and Mark wow there is nothing of these pieces.

Im too scared to attach my camera to that thing it looks like it would still fall ok i will have to put a pillow underneath it just in case
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16-02-2010, 04:51 AM
gbeal
Registered User

gbeal is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 4,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jen View Post
Im too scared to attach my camera to that thing it looks like it would still fall ok i will have to put a pillow underneath it just in case
Nah, just do what I used to, hang the camera strap around the focuser or finder, just in case.
Gary
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 16-02-2010, 07:17 AM
mithrandir's Avatar
mithrandir (Andrew)
Registered User

mithrandir is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Glenhaven
Posts: 4,161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jen View Post
Gday
I was just wondering what the piece is called that you use to attach the camera to the scope. Where can i get one from and how much are they Im scared to order on line as i have no idea what im asking for (yet)



Oh its a canon 500D if that helps
These links work any better for you?

2" to 1.25" adapter with T-thread
https://www.bintelshop.com.au/Product.aspx?ID=7472
Canon T-ring
https://www.bintelshop.com.au/Product.aspx?ID=5551

You screw the t-ring on to the adapter, click the camera onto the t-ring exactly the same as you would a lens, then slide the adapter into the focuser, and tighten exactly as you would with an eyepiece.

Wrapping the strap around something is optional, but does get it out of the way.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 16-02-2010, 09:25 AM
erick's Avatar
erick (Eric)
Starcatcher

erick is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Shoalhaven Heads
Posts: 8,469
Jen, ask for secondhand in the classifieds first. I'm sure you'll save some money. The only risk is receiving a badly worn T-ring, perhaps?

ps, if you are buying new, see if you can extend to one of these:-

http://www.myastroshop.com.au/produc...sp?id=MAS-055A

I'll bring one to SV camp if you want to have a look.

You still need the T-ring as well.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 16-02-2010, 08:25 PM
marki's Avatar
marki
Waiting for next electron

marki is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jen View Post
LOL Mark both those 2 links are the same (just a ring) are you having a bad day today LMAO

thanks H and Mark wow there is nothing of these pieces.

Im too scared to attach my camera to that thing it looks like it would still fall ok i will have to put a pillow underneath it just in case
Doh IT was late and we had a twilight swimming carnival at school so I was pretty tired. Will endevour to check my links next time

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 16-02-2010, 08:36 PM
kinetic's Avatar
kinetic (Steve)
ATMer and Saganist

kinetic is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Adelaide S.A.
Posts: 2,260
Now for the bad news Jen,

once you have all that sorted it may not come to focus!
I hope there is enough inward travel on your focuser for
it to do so...but it possibly won't be.

Don't panic....there are ways around that. Best just to get the
adaptor they have mentioned first and test it.
You will need it anyway, even to proceed to the next step.

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 16-02-2010, 09:03 PM
Chillie's Avatar
Chillie (Henry)
Registered User

Chillie is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Horsham, Victoria
Posts: 443
Thank you Jen for starting this thread. I was thinking along the same lines about getting an adaptor.

Nice timing too. If you can get your gear before Snake Valley, you can get the guys to teach you how to use it.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 16-02-2010, 09:11 PM
Chillie's Avatar
Chillie (Henry)
Registered User

Chillie is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Horsham, Victoria
Posts: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinetic View Post
Now for the bad news Jen,

once you have all that sorted it may not come to focus!
I hope there is enough inward travel on your focuser for
it to do so...but it possibly won't be.

Don't panic....there are ways around that. Best just to get the
adaptor they have mentioned first and test it.
You will need it anyway, even to proceed to the next step.

Steve
Steve, Is there any way to correct focus other than to move the primary mirror up the OTA?

Modifying a Newtonian Tube for DSLR Photography
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 16-02-2010, 09:16 PM
marki's Avatar
marki
Waiting for next electron

marki is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinetic View Post
Now for the bad news Jen,

once you have all that sorted it may not come to focus!
I hope there is enough inward travel on your focuser for
it to do so...but it possibly won't be.

Don't panic....there are ways around that. Best just to get the
adaptor they have mentioned first and test it.
You will need it anyway, even to proceed to the next step.

Steve
Jen has a unique solution to this if it becomes an issue .

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 16-02-2010, 09:31 PM
jjjnettie's Avatar
jjjnettie (Jeanette)
Registered User

jjjnettie is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Far Far Away
Posts: 16,726
Quote:
Originally Posted by erick View Post
Jen, ask for secondhand in the classifieds first. I'm sure you'll save some money. The only risk is receiving a badly worn T-ring, perhaps?

ps, if you are buying new, see if you can extend to one of these:-

http://www.myastroshop.com.au/produc...sp?id=MAS-055A

I'll bring one to SV camp if you want to have a look.

You still need the T-ring as well.
Ooooh yes Jen. I have one of those. They're a brilliant piece of kit.
Holds the camera in the focuser very snuggly, no slop at all. But it's easy to loosen and reframe what you're shooting.
I'd highly recommend it, if you can afford it.
There is a very good chance that you may be able to achieve focus using this adaptor. It butts the camera right up tight to the focuser.

Last edited by jjjnettie; 16-02-2010 at 09:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 16-02-2010, 09:46 PM
Jen's Avatar
Jen
Moving to Pandora

Jen is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Swan Hill
Posts: 7,028
Quote:
Originally Posted by erick View Post
Jen, ask for secondhand in the classifieds first. I'm sure you'll save some money. The only risk is receiving a badly worn T-ring, perhaps?

ps, if you are buying new, see if you can extend to one of these:-

http://www.myastroshop.com.au/produc...sp?id=MAS-055A

I'll bring one to SV camp if you want to have a look.

You still need the T-ring as well.
Thanks Guys

Thanks Eric im trying to get organised so that i have all this stuff before i get to Snake Valley so you guys can show me what to do with it next
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 16-02-2010, 09:49 PM
Jen's Avatar
Jen
Moving to Pandora

Jen is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Swan Hill
Posts: 7,028
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chillie View Post
Thank you Jen for starting this thread. I was thinking along the same lines about getting an adaptor.

Nice timing too. If you can get your gear before Snake Valley, you can get the guys to teach you how to use it.
Hey Chillie your welcome time for you to go shopping again buddy Yep thats the plan to have all this organised before i get to Snake Valley
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 16-02-2010, 09:51 PM
erick's Avatar
erick (Eric)
Starcatcher

erick is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Shoalhaven Heads
Posts: 8,469
And I'll bring my hacksaw so we can saw the end of your tube off to reach focus!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 08:01 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement