#1  
Old 31-03-2013, 04:02 PM
raymo
Registered User

raymo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: margaret river, western australia
Posts: 4,927
file type confusion

I am thoroughly confused. I see people talking about using registax
to align and stack their video frames from their DSLRs. I did a video
of Saturn last night, and found that registax does not recognise the
file type that my EOS1100D uses. I have an old Acuter imager, and
it doesn't recognise the files from that either.
Can somebody help me please?
thanks in advance
raymo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 31-03-2013, 04:42 PM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 5,881
Try NCH video converter, to convert into AVI format (which should be recognisable by Registax)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31-03-2013, 08:00 PM
raymo
Registered User

raymo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: margaret river, western australia
Posts: 4,927
Hi bojan, Converted in NCH, but registax cannot decompress the file;
what the hell do I do now. I am getting heartily sick and tired of
one electronic device after another failing, and recalcitrant computer
software not able to do what it is supposed to do. Every new device
I buy is either faulty from new[HEQ5 Pro Go TO ] or needs yet more
software downloaded in order to operate it. I'm one very small step
from giving it away all together. There....... thats got that off my chest.
raymo
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31-03-2013, 08:04 PM
raymo
Registered User

raymo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: margaret river, western australia
Posts: 4,927
And on top of all that, the first time I downloaded DSS it corrupted my
laptop so I couldn't shut it down , and DSS wouldn't let me uninstall it.
Luckily, a system restore fixed that. There........I got that off my chest as well.
raymo
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31-03-2013, 08:13 PM
rogerg's Avatar
rogerg (Roger)
Registered User

rogerg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 4,540
What version of Registax 5 are you using ? I had a friend who couldn't read the videos from his Pentax but then I think he had success in RegiStax 6.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31-03-2013, 08:27 PM
raymo
Registered User

raymo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: margaret river, western australia
Posts: 4,927
Hi Roger, I'm using registax 5 Beta. I'll try R6;
thanks for the info.
raymo
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 31-03-2013, 09:19 PM
raymo
Registered User

raymo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: margaret river, western australia
Posts: 4,927
I seem to be getting nearer one step at a time. R6 says the video seems to be in colour, and would I like it processed in colour. When I say yes
it says that it can't load the file. Back to the drawing board.
raymo
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-04-2013, 12:50 AM
rogerg's Avatar
rogerg (Roger)
Registered User

rogerg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 4,540
Hmm, ok, I'm not sure.

Maybe you don't have the right video codek or something, I really don't know, video stuff isn't my thing. Is there a RegiStax forum? might be worth a look, although it's not clear to me if it's RegiStax that's the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-04-2013, 01:03 AM
raymo
Registered User

raymo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: margaret river, western australia
Posts: 4,927
thanks, I'll try that.
raymo
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-04-2013, 08:56 AM
Peteren (Peter)
Registered User

Peteren is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Whyalla, South Australia
Posts: 40
In my limited experience, it won’t be RegiStax.

It’s the file type

The Canon makes .mov files that cannot be read by RegiStax, it wants .avi, .mpg or .mpeg files.

I purchased Movavi which can turn just about any video format into any other format and use it to convert the .mov files from the Canon. Works a treat.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-04-2013, 09:23 AM
rustigsmed's Avatar
rustigsmed (Russell)
Registered User

rustigsmed is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Mornington Peninsula, Australia
Posts: 3,167
I must have about 10 file convertor programs on my computer that didnt work in a way that registax 6 would read, even though it was changed to an avi.

If you brought the camera new it should have come with a number of programs on a cd. I use the canon program Zoom Browser EX to convert the mov files to avi. Registax can read this converted file.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-04-2013, 11:22 AM
raymo
Registered User

raymo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: margaret river, western australia
Posts: 4,927
Hi Peteren, You probably missed it, but I said that I had converted the
Canon MOV file to AVI.
Hi Rustigsmed, thanks, I didn't know that Zoom Browser EX could
convert files; I'll be on that like a flash.
THANKS EVERYBODY
raymo
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-04-2013, 11:30 AM
raymo
Registered User

raymo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: margaret river, western australia
Posts: 4,927
Hi again Rustigsmed; I can't find anything about file types or
conversion in Zoom Browser EX. Where will I find it?
raymo
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-04-2013, 11:53 AM
rustigsmed's Avatar
rustigsmed (Russell)
Registered User

rustigsmed is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Mornington Peninsula, Australia
Posts: 3,167
Quote:
Originally Posted by raymo View Post
Hi again Rustigsmed; I can't find anything about file types or
conversion in Zoom Browser EX. Where will I find it?
raymo

Hi Raymo,

Highlight the video you want to convert by clicking once. Then in the top left menu there should be a heading called, Export, then Export Video (or similar) and you're away, choose avi no compression etc and sit back

Cheers

Rusty
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-04-2013, 12:06 PM
raymo
Registered User

raymo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: margaret river, western australia
Posts: 4,927
thanks you're a hero
raymo
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-04-2013, 08:10 AM
LewisM's Avatar
LewisM
Novichok test rabbit

LewisM is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Somewhere in the cosmos...
Posts: 9,309
You are lucky Registax works at all for you. EVERY attempt I have tried with it - regardless of file type - fails. The program either freezes up, encounters an error and needs to close or simply won't continue. (Win 7 64 bit). I have given up on it altogether.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-04-2013, 12:14 PM
ZeroID's Avatar
ZeroID (Brent)
Lost in Space ....

ZeroID is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 4,950
Registax 5 seems to be more stable than Registax 6 although it may still have some resource problems.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-04-2013, 01:25 PM
raymo
Registered User

raymo is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: margaret river, western australia
Posts: 4,927
Hi LewisM,
I downloaded Deep Sky Stacker and it corrupted my laptop.
I took a chance and tried again, and everything was o.k. I wonder
whether re acquiring registax might help, and I wonder whether registax
struggles with 64bit. Also, as Rusty said, he has a number of file
converting programmes on his PC that are unsuccessful with registax,
so I was wondering whether you are using a Canon, and if so , whether
you have tried Zoom Browser EX as he suggested.
I'm probably trying to teach my Grandma to suck eggs, as the
old saying goes; if so, I apologise.
raymo
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-04-2013, 08:46 PM
jjjnettie's Avatar
jjjnettie (Jeanette)
Registered User

jjjnettie is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Far Far Away
Posts: 16,726
Try Any Video Converter.
The free version will only convert 3 min of vid. But that's ok, your vids should be shorter than that otherwise you'll lose detail from rotation.

If Regi still won't open it, convert it in Virtual Dub. Save as old format avi. Or, you can export the image sequence and load the individual frames in Registax.

Don't worry, you aren't the first and definitely won't be the last to go through this. It's a right pain in the butt.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-04-2013, 07:45 AM
LewisM's Avatar
LewisM
Novichok test rabbit

LewisM is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Somewhere in the cosmos...
Posts: 9,309
I have the full Any Video Vonverter as Nettie suggests (GOOD program), and the converted Canon files still won't work in Registax.

No matter how many times I delete Registax (including in the registry) and reinstall, it just won't work properly, if at all, on my Win 7 x64 system.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 06:14 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement