#1  
Old 28-03-2013, 09:31 AM
pjphilli (Peter)
Registered User

pjphilli is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Thornleigh Sydney
Posts: 613
Qhy8 driver

Hi

I am using a QHY8 camera with Windows XP Pro and Nebulosity Ver. 2.5.

The camera sometimes operates erratically producing images that are a mess of scrambled colours. I have tried reinstalling the drivers but the problem remains.

The driver details are shown in Windows Control Panel as:
C:\WINDOWS\system32\DRIVERS\WinUSB. sys
C:\WINDOWS\system32\WdfColnstaller0 1005/dll
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\WinUSBColnstall er.dll

I would like advice on:
1. Where to obtain the currently best drivers.
2. How to uninstall the present drivers
3. How to install the new drivers.

I suspect that my previous attempts to get new drivers has
not substituted them for the old drivers.

Otherwise, are there any other suggestions regarding the camera problem other than a drivers?

Cheers Peter
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28-03-2013, 10:22 AM
graham.hobart's Avatar
graham.hobart (Graham stevens)
DeepSkySlacker

graham.hobart is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: hobart, tasmania
Posts: 1,973
Qhy 8

There are drivers on the QHY forum. (yahoo group). Also Gama electronics has a page with drivers- you have to email for the password
Cheers
Graham.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28-03-2013, 11:02 AM
Shiraz's Avatar
Shiraz (Ray)
Registered User

Shiraz is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: ardrossan south australia
Posts: 4,787
FWIW, recently re-installed QHY8 drivers from the QHYCCD site for win8 - worked ok under Nebulosity and the install process seems to include a removal step that presumably clears out all history.

might be worth trying a different USB lead and also make sure that the DIN plugs are seated properly.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28-03-2013, 01:30 PM
BlackWidow's Avatar
BlackWidow (Mardy)
Seeing Stars

BlackWidow is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Adelaide Australia
Posts: 610
I have had this problem and it is mostly caused by the din plug (round one) not seating correctly. You can replace this cable or you can get an exacto knife and cut the small plastic surround at the end of the plug before the metal section starts. This allows the plug to fit into the socket tighter.. Never had the problem again... Hope this helps


Mardy
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28-03-2013, 03:16 PM
pjphilli (Peter)
Registered User

pjphilli is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Thornleigh Sydney
Posts: 613
Hi Graham

Thanks, how do I find the Gama driver's page and who do I have to email to get the password?

Cheers Peter
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28-03-2013, 06:06 PM
gbeal
Registered User

gbeal is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 4,299
Theo is a regular here.
http://www.gamaelectronics.com.au/
Gary
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29-03-2013, 08:34 AM
peter_4059's Avatar
peter_4059 (Peter)
Big Scopes are Cool

peter_4059 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 4,021
Have you tried these?

http://qhyccd.com/en/top/download/
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29-03-2013, 09:39 AM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 18,138
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbeal View Post
Theo is a regular here.
http://www.gamaelectronics.com.au/
Gary
Yeah contact Theo. He'll sort you out in no time. I know Gary also loves debugging QHY drivers issues.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 31-03-2013, 10:38 AM
pjphilli (Peter)
Registered User

pjphilli is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Thornleigh Sydney
Posts: 613
Hi All

I have been following up all your suggestions. I have been in contact with
Theo at Gama who is giving me prompt and considered advice.
It looks like my problem is a hardware fault in the camera rather than
software. So I will follow this up with Theo.
Thanks all for your help. Eventually I may return to this thread with a
good result!

Cheers Peter
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 31-03-2013, 12:59 PM
pjphilli (Peter)
Registered User

pjphilli is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Thornleigh Sydney
Posts: 613
Hi Mardy

It looks like your solution about trimming some plastic from the 4 pin
control cable into the camera solved the problem. The camera now
works normally when the plug is pushed further into the socket.

The cable checks out fine so I think that the problem has occurred when the plug has moved in the camera socket during cable shifting during imaging so that the pins on the socket are probably splayed a bit not permitting good contact. Pushing the plug in further allows mating with a bit of unsplayed socket.

This is a lesson learned, so I think I will devise a way of firmly attaching
the cables to the camera with say a metal bracket so that the cables
are held firmly and not allowed to wiggle during imaging. (I did think about replacing the camera socket but this would be hard the way the socket
is imbedded in the camera.)

So many thanks Mardy!

Cheers Peter
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 08:00 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement