Old 17-08-2019, 11:25 PM
HeavyT

PHD2 mirrored graph

Hi all

I'm very new to astrophotography and extremely new to guiding.

Finally got it working last night, but could only achieve acceptable 60 second exposures.

QHY5L-ii-mono through a ZWO mini guidescope, riding an ED100 riding a CG5. Guiding connection is "on camera".

I know my polar alignment wasn't super because of drift in the image over a couple of hours plus both ra and dec graphs consistently hovered around +1 arc second.

But the real thing seemed to be the intermittent clusters of correction spikes. (Photos attached).

I might think it's a periodic error caused by old gears, but why would the spikes be mirror images of each other? It wasn't all that windy, and I have read that dec might only receive correction for polar alignment errors (which would be consistent, not intermittent peaks?)

PHD2 calibration settings need a look perhaps?

Thanks for reading, and clear skies.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (received_1422569104574710.jpeg)
163.2 KB70 views
Click for full-size image (received_2358626044393788.jpeg)
139.1 KB62 views
Old 18-08-2019, 06:46 AM
Slawomir (Suavi)

Hi Todd and welcome to IIS.

Your graphs show corrections going in one direction with every single exposure and the guide star is never on axis so perhaps polar alignment is too inaccurate for the mount to track and guide properly. There could also be significant backlash but my guess is that polar alignment needs to be more precise.

Good luck with your investigation and please keep us posted
Old 18-08-2019, 07:14 AM
Startrek (Martin)

Next night your out start your guiding and run the guiding assistant in Tools
for about 2 minutes , it will hopefully pinpoint your issue
Also you can send your guide logs to the PHD2 forum for some assistance