Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Equipment Discussions
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 14-01-2015, 10:19 AM
Jemmo (Adrian)

What eye pieces should I be getting

Hi guys bit of a noob here. I got a 75/700 newt for Xmas and have since purchased a 10" dob. I didn't get any eye pieces with thedob as it was second hand and he old fella wanted to keep his eye pieces.
I have 3 different eye pieces and 1.5x and 3x lenses to make them better.
The eye pieces came with the Newtonian I got which is not a very flash scope. So I'm guessing he eye pieces aren't the best either. I will use them until I can get something better
My question is if I was to buy 2 decent eye pieces. What sizes should I get and what are some good brands I'm looking to buy second hand so if anyone has some pm me
Old 14-01-2015, 11:10 AM
dannat (Daniel)
daniel

if i were you id goto the next MPAS [google it] meeting & see what others are using -try some cheap-ish eyepieces & some better ones -see what you like & what you are prepared tobuy
Old 14-01-2015, 11:33 AM
Jemmo (Adrian)

Yeah I know the club Dan they are five mins down the road from me. Just trying to get an idea so I know how much money I need to save
Old 14-01-2015, 11:47 AM
barx1963 (Malcolm)
Bright the hawk's flight

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jemmo View Post
Hi guys bit of a noob here. I got a 75/700 newt for Xmas and have since purchased a 10" dob. I didn't get any eye pieces with thedob as it was second hand and he old fella wanted to keep his eye pieces.
I have 3 different eye pieces and 1.5x and 3x lenses to make them better.
The eye pieces came with the Newtonian I got which is not a very flash scope. So I'm guessing he eye pieces aren't the best either. I will use them until I can get something better
My question is if I was to buy 2 decent eye pieces. What sizes should I get and what are some good brands I'm looking to buy second hand so if anyone has some pm me