Go Back   IceInSpace > General Astronomy > Observational and Visual Astronomy > Observation Reports

Old 19-10-2010, 10:37 PM
Suzy
Searching for Travolta...

My First Obs. Report (grab a cuppa, it's long!)

Observation Report 19/10/2010
Session Duration: 8.30pm – 1.00am
Equipment: Saxon 10 inch Dobsonian.
Seeing: 4
Transparency: 4

9.00pm Jupiter.

Upon my excitement to finally be able to get the scope out in what I’m sure is close to two months (I did something I’ve never done before – not checked the seeing). The only bee inside my bonnet that evening was the excitement of the clear sky and to get the scope out to cool. I have a newly purchased TMB 6mm ep that I had not been able to try yet, so this was my first ep of choice. At 200x mag. the planet and all its moons were jumping around like balls on steroids. Therefore no detail was discernable. I did however note the fov edge performance of this ep was quite sharp. Will need to revisit with this ep. My 6” dob never had a problem at this magnification, though on the other hand it clearly didn’t give me the resolution that the 10” does. On with the Pentax XW 10mm. At 120x mag. The planet and moons bouncing motions had calmed and was blurry between small moments of reasonable seeing. Is is actually incredible in itself to watch the transition of poor to good seeing, almost as if someone is focusing your ep for you. The great red spot is clearly visible approx. ¾ of the way to the middle. On the NEQ belt towards the right side of the planet, I could make out a very small blue cloud formation very clearly. I could make out the waves on the blue/grey cloud belt, however the sharp detail I can normally tease out of these bands was not discernable tonight. The orange band above the NEQ belt was visible. Four moons were aligned in one lovely line with with Calisto to the right of Jupiter whilst the other three moons graced the left side of the planet. To me, the placement of Gaynamade on the outer edge enabled me to trul