Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Equipment Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 27-10-2013, 09:09 PM
Damienandwendy's Avatar
Damienandwendy (Damien)
Registered User

Damienandwendy is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Townsville, QLD
Posts: 68
Solar tracking with Synscan Alt/Az

I have read through the 'manwell' and searched a bit online but can't find a way to set up a Synscan alt/az mount for solar tracking. As best as I can figure, my only option is to set up for "Auto Tracking", ie align scope to North and level, then engage auto tracking.

Brightest star or 2 star alignment requires actual stars which is near impossible during the day.

Any ideas ?

cheers
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28-10-2013, 12:17 PM
frolinmod's Avatar
frolinmod
Registered User

frolinmod is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 573
On my AZ-EQ6 mount I just set the handset to the solar tracking rate in setup and it tracks at the solar rate. No?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28-10-2013, 01:34 PM
rustigsmed's Avatar
rustigsmed (Russell)
Registered User

rustigsmed is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Mornington Peninsula, Australia
Posts: 3,465
yep, i think its setup, set sidereal rate, then go Solar.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28-10-2013, 07:48 PM
Damienandwendy's Avatar
Damienandwendy (Damien)
Registered User

Damienandwendy is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Townsville, QLD
Posts: 68
As far as I can tell, the mount won't start tracking until some sort of alignment has occurred ...... regardless of what you set the tracking rate to.

Surely on the Az-Eq6 you can't just plonk it on the ground, select tracking at the solar rate and off you go - some sort of alignment needs to occur ?

Anyone ?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29-10-2013, 10:56 AM
rustigsmed's Avatar
rustigsmed (Russell)
Registered User

rustigsmed is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Mornington Peninsula, Australia
Posts: 3,465
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damienandwendy View Post
As far as I can tell, the mount won't start tracking until some sort of alignment has occurred ...... regardless of what you set the tracking rate to.

Surely on the Az-Eq6 you can't just plonk it on the ground, select tracking at the solar rate and off you go - some sort of alignment needs to occur ?

Anyone ?
try the tips on this thread...

http://stargazerslounge.com/topic/79...7-mak-synscan/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29-10-2013, 04:49 PM
Damienandwendy's Avatar
Damienandwendy (Damien)
Registered User

Damienandwendy is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Townsville, QLD
Posts: 68
Thanks Russell that confirmed it - for a pure Alt/Az mount the scope needs to be leveled and pointed north then start auto-tracking. The level and north pointing is the alignment part

I think it's more annoying that I googled synscan solar tracking over the weekend and didn't hit that site

cheers
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-11-2013, 03:39 PM
Damienandwendy's Avatar
Damienandwendy (Damien)
Registered User

Damienandwendy is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Townsville, QLD
Posts: 68
Setup the scope then ..... levelled and pointing north. Entered position data and time/date. Quit out of alignment. Went into setup and selected solar tracking and was about to turn on auto tracking but couldn't find the menu option !! It should have been the next one down the list in the seup menu but it wasn't there.

The manual is for Az 3.05 I think. The handset has been loaded with 3.35 so I have no idea what the Az software level is.

This is getting a little frustrating
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-11-2013, 03:28 PM
frolinmod's Avatar
frolinmod
Registered User

frolinmod is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 573
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damienandwendy View Post
This is getting a little frustrating
Please read the SynScan manual where it describes modes of operation. You don't need to enable tracking because that mode does so automatically. You just need to set the rate (if you don't want the default rate).
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-11-2013, 04:49 PM
Damienandwendy's Avatar
Damienandwendy (Damien)
Registered User

Damienandwendy is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Townsville, QLD
Posts: 68
Hi frolinmod,

If I slew to the Sun and set tracking to solar rate, the Sun drifts straight out of the FOV within 3 minutes @ x40 magnification.

Can you please describe how you got this to work ?

cheers
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-11-2013, 05:52 PM
Damienandwendy's Avatar
Damienandwendy (Damien)
Registered User

Damienandwendy is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Townsville, QLD
Posts: 68
After a quick chat with Steffen ( thank you! ) I think I was getting myself all confused over software levels and different manuals I was reading ( all were current manuals listed on the Skywatcher website )

So as best I can figure, to align an alt/az mount for solar viewing:
1. Setup home position for "Easy Tracking Mode"
a. Level mount
b. Level telscope and point to true north (not magnetic).
2. Slew to sun with appropriate filter on and start solar tracking rate.

I tried that this afternoon and it works.

Thank you to all for helpful comments.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-11-2013, 06:09 PM
Steffen's Avatar
Steffen
Ebotec Alpeht Sicamb

Steffen is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Toongabbie, NSW
Posts: 1,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damienandwendy View Post
If I slew to the Sun and set tracking to solar rate, the Sun drifts straight out of the FOV within 3 minutes @ x40 magnification.
Something is screwy there, this isn't the wrong tracking rate, it's no tracking at all or tracking in the wrong direction. Even at the standard sidereal rate the mount should track the Sun way better than this. The difference between sidereal and solar rate is quite small (less than 0.3%).

Just for kicks, have you tried pointing the scope due south for Easy Tracking mode? I know the manual says north, but it's worth a try?

Cheers
Steffen.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-11-2013, 06:22 PM
Damienandwendy's Avatar
Damienandwendy (Damien)
Registered User

Damienandwendy is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Townsville, QLD
Posts: 68
Hi Steffen,

Got it to work as I outlined in the post just above yours. If I had of read the v3.35 manual first, I think this would have all been sorted last weekend instead of tearing my hair out over something so simple.

Before that I was doing a variety of things that just didn't work.

Can't wait to get into AP !

Cheers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
solar, sun, tracking

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 02:10 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Limpet Controller
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement