ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waning Gibbous
98.1%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
5:46 am
Perth
2:46 am
Auckland*
7:46 am
New York
1:46 pm
Paris
7:46 pm
GMT
6:46 pm




Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Equipment Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 23-12-2018, 12:48 PM
RichardJ (Richard)
Registered User

RichardJ is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Carlingford
Posts: 674
AC power supply for Heq5 Pro mount

I’m looking for an ac to dc 12V power supply for a Heq5 Pro mount to use at home. I think the pin should be 2.5mm, centre +. What amp rating should I look for?

I found this

https://www.radioparts.com.au/catego...hmode-adaptors

Does anyone have a suggestion and where I can buy the item?

Thanks for your help.

RichardJ

Last edited by RichardJ; 23-12-2018 at 02:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23-12-2018, 01:33 PM
Merlin66's Avatar
Merlin66 (Ken)
Spectroscopy Wizard

Merlin66 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St Leonards, Vic
Posts: 6,628
Richard,
The HEQ5 Pro needs at least 2A, the one you linked looks OK at 4A.
Remember the extra power you may need for cameras etc etc.
I got a 12v 10 amp transformer from eBay.
I also use a 120w 12v to 15v car converter (on both my HEQ5 and NEQ6)
No issues, no drama.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23-12-2018, 01:35 PM
fsphotography (Frank)
Registered User

fsphotography is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: geelong , australia
Posts: 25
ac power supply

I use a Powertech 21volt 7.5 amp power supply to run a HEQ5 PRO and a

AZ-EQ6-GT simultaneously with no issues.

Purchased from JAYCAR $44.95.


Frank.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23-12-2018, 02:23 PM
RichardJ (Richard)
Registered User

RichardJ is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Carlingford
Posts: 674
Thanks Guys. I think I got the pin size wrong. It should be 2.1mm. So the 5 amp model should be OK?

Richard.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23-12-2018, 03:26 PM
Merlin66's Avatar
Merlin66 (Ken)
Spectroscopy Wizard

Merlin66 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St Leonards, Vic
Posts: 6,628
Yeah,
2.1mm is the correct size.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23-12-2018, 04:18 PM
RichardJ (Richard)
Registered User

RichardJ is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Carlingford
Posts: 674
Quote:
Originally Posted by Merlin66 View Post
Yeah,
2.1mm is the correct size.
Thanks Ken.

Richard.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 04:46 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Interest Free Finance
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement