#1  
Old 01-03-2012, 11:28 AM
allan gould's Avatar
allan gould
Registered User

allan gould is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 4,481
AP CCDT67 FR and GSO10"RC

I have been trialling a series of equipment to see exactly how they interact and in particular I was interested which FR that I have would be compatible with my GSO 10" RC.
I found that the Lumicon 2" screw in FR worked quite well with the GSO 10" RC ( see http://www.iceinspace.com.au/forum/a...e.php?a=109802) but I had seen some great shots with the AP CCDT67 FR with the GSO10"RC and so I ordered one. When it came I had the 5" refractor on the mount so I trialled it with that and it gave excellent results (http://www.iceinspace.com.au/forum/a...e.php?a=110044) and was more than happy.
Last night I managed to do some images with the CCDT67 and the GSO 10" RC and I was very pleased with the result. The first image is an uncorrected full frame from my QHY10 which shows a little vignetting, but this has no flats, darks or bias frames. Its rotated to match the second image which is the full frame field of the qhy10 with no flattener on the GSO RC . The vignetting is easily removed by flats.
Im very happy with this now and can stop fiddling with all these attachments and get down to some serious imaging when the clouds, rain and moon bugger off.
Comments welcomed.
PS I wanted to see if I could process M42 a little differently than all the other images Ive done and did it to look like an "old manuscript"
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (M42+ccdt67.jpg)
133.1 KB312 views
Click for full-size image (M42+ccdt67-cut.jpg)
91.9 KB283 views

Last edited by allan gould; 01-03-2012 at 12:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-03-2012, 11:55 AM
RickS's Avatar
RickS (Rick)
PI cult recruiter

RickS is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 10,584
Looks good, Allan! Glad to hear you're happy with the CCDT67.

I'm hoping for some clear nights so I can get my RC10 working again. Doesn't look like I missed many imaging opportunities over the past five weeks while I was away in Europe!

Cheers,
Rick.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-03-2012, 12:13 PM
allan gould's Avatar
allan gould
Registered User

allan gould is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 4,481
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickS View Post
Looks good, Allan! Glad to hear you're happy with the CCDT67.

I'm hoping for some clear nights so I can get my RC10 working again. Doesn't look like I missed many imaging opportunities over the past five weeks while I was away in Europe!

Cheers,
Rick.
Thanks Rick - no you sure didnt. If I didnt have the observatory then Id have missed what fleeting opportunities there were to test this equipment. Im really falling in love with this 10" scope as it has so much potential.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-03-2012, 08:31 PM
Ken
Registered User

Ken is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Mount Olive via Singleton
Posts: 340
Your imaging system looks like a winner, are you happy with the qhy10 as I have been thinking of buying one.
Clear skies Ken.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-03-2012, 09:19 PM
allan gould's Avatar
allan gould
Registered User

allan gould is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 4,481
Ken
YesI've been very happy with it. I had a qhy8 previously and the extra pixels and ascom work well. Have been impressed with Theo's service too. The only thing I wish is that it had the same layout as the qhy8 as I don't like it sticking out the back so much. I find the cables have to be tied to the body to prevent strain. But as an OSC it can't be beat with its low noise etc.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-03-2012, 11:37 AM
Visionoz's Avatar
Visionoz (Bill)
Registered User

Visionoz is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 714
Allan

Wonder if you could tell me what is the spacing/adaptor you used to fit the APCCDT67 to your 10" RC?

A photo would be better if you don't mind since the clouds/moon is around!

Thanks is advance
Cheers
Bill
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-03-2012, 03:29 PM
allan gould's Avatar
allan gould
Registered User

allan gould is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 4,481
spacing was as per the AP site which was 101mm. This distance comprises of 20mm for the camera chip distance, 30mm for the first spacer, 10 mm for the second spacer, 25mm for the 2" to T nosepiece and 16 mm for the reducer (according to AP)=101mm. The attached photo should help.
Regards, Allan
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (DSC00024.jpg)
102.7 KB271 views
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-03-2012, 01:50 AM
Visionoz's Avatar
Visionoz (Bill)
Registered User

Visionoz is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 714
Thanks Allan

So from looking at the image the whole lot (from reducer to the rear lip of the 2"-T2 adaptor) goes into the focuser as a 2" "nose-piece" like insertion - is that right? I think that's how it looks like to me anyway

Now I've got to try that out sooner rather than later!

Cheers
Bill
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-03-2012, 10:10 AM
Paul Haese's Avatar
Paul Haese
Registered User

Paul Haese is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 9,403
Promising results Allan. I look forward to your results.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-03-2012, 10:32 AM
allan gould's Avatar
allan gould
Registered User

allan gould is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 4,481
Quote:
Originally Posted by Visionoz View Post
Thanks Allan

So from looking at the image the whole lot (from reducer to the rear lip of the 2"-T2 adaptor) goes into the focuser as a 2" "nose-piece" like insertion - is that right? I think that's how it looks like to me anyway

Now I've got to try that out sooner rather than later!

Cheers
Bill
Bill, that's correct.
Allan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Haese View Post
Promising results Allan. I look forward to your results.
looks like you would be able to use this or the other reducer from AP for your 12", Paul
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-03-2012, 01:55 PM
Paul Haese's Avatar
Paul Haese
Registered User

Paul Haese is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 9,403
Does it have a screw thread Allan? I am only doing screw threads these days. No chance of any movement then.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-03-2012, 04:38 PM
allan gould's Avatar
allan gould
Registered User

allan gould is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 4,481
Yes the CCDT67 threads into the 2" adapter. The ccdt67 has 48mm threads front (female) and back (male). Hope this helps Paul. AP has another reducer that they specifically use for larger chip cameras as well as has a greater distance between fr and the sensor chip.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-03-2012, 08:56 AM
Paul Haese's Avatar
Paul Haese
Registered User

Paul Haese is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 9,403
Quote:
Originally Posted by allan gould View Post
Yes the CCDT67 threads into the 2" adapter. The ccdt67 has 48mm threads front (female) and back (male). Hope this helps Paul. AP has another reducer that they specifically use for larger chip cameras as well as has a greater distance between fr and the sensor chip.
I think I will need to look at the larger chip for the 12RC. I am using the STL11 on it and I think that reducer would vignette.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-03-2012, 09:10 AM
JohnH's Avatar
JohnH
Member # 159

JohnH is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NSW
Posts: 1,179
Same setup here - happy with the FR...

Except I have the CCDT667 mounted in the new model Moonlite focuser that matches the GSO RCs.

This allows you to match spacing to a variety of ccd configs and to some extent adjust the amonut of reduction (subject to being able to reach focus).

Have not got much imaging done with it (Sydney weather)...but the test images are good. I do seem to have softness in one corner - not sure yet if that is due to the FR or a collimation issue.

Will post full frame crops when I get home...
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (IMAG0066.jpg)
132.3 KB143 views
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-03-2012, 09:22 AM
RickS's Avatar
RickS (Rick)
PI cult recruiter

RickS is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 10,584
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Haese View Post
I think I will need to look at the larger chip for the 12RC. I am using the STL11 on it and I think that reducer would vignette.
Paul,

The larger reducer, the 27TVPH, has a fully illuminated image circle of 42mm at max reduction of 0.75x. The image circle is a little bigger at lower reduction ratios. I'm using mine at about 0.8x on a RC10.

Cheers,
Rick.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-03-2012, 10:40 AM
allan gould's Avatar
allan gould
Registered User

allan gould is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 4,481
I've also put a Moonlight focuser on the 10" RC using the CCDT67 and by fiddling with the spacing I can now get full illumination of the qhy10 chip. But for the 12" I would recommend the 27 TVPH as Rick has mentioned. AP make very good FR for a flat field.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 18-07-2012, 03:16 AM
dp297 (Dimitris)
Registered User

dp297 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 26
Hi guys,

I also got the Moonlite focuser with the insert for the CCDT67, however, I simply cannot figure this thing out.

It 'appears' that I can only reach focus when the distance between the CCDT67 and the DSLR 350D sensor is just right. That cant be right? Otherwise there is point in focusing. What am I missing?
What kind of combination of extension or 'stuff' do I need to make the CCDT67 work on my RC8?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 18-07-2012, 10:45 AM
Poita (Peter)
Registered User

Poita is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NSW Country
Posts: 3,585
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Haese View Post
Does it have a screw thread Allan? I am only doing screw threads these days. No chance of any movement then.

I'm with you on that score, I use teflon tape on the threads as well
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 19-07-2012, 08:19 AM
JohnH's Avatar
JohnH
Member # 159

JohnH is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NSW
Posts: 1,179
Quote:
Originally Posted by dp297 View Post
Hi guys,

I also got the Moonlite focuser with the insert for the CCDT67, however, I simply cannot figure this thing out.

It 'appears' that I can only reach focus when the distance between the CCDT67 and the DSLR 350D sensor is just right. That cant be right? Otherwise there is point in focusing. What am I missing?
What kind of combination of extension or 'stuff' do I need to make the CCDT67 work on my RC8?
I am not quite sure what your issue is - can you achieve focus with the FR in the imaging train? If yes then what is the issue? In my case (RC10 Sbig ST2000xm) with the Moonlite focuser directly on the OTA I can move the FR in/out a little and still get focus (this gives slightly greater or lesser reduction than the optimal spacing) but the ideal is to use the FR at it's designed spacing.

Do you mean you cannot get focus when you remove the FR? This is the case with my setup also as this model focuser has a short draw tube - if I want to run the scope native I have to use one of the supplied extensions. To my way of thinking this is better than very long draw tubes which could sag/flex, or you could get the longer draw tube and fit it if you want (of course you cannot mount the FR in that).


Hope that helps!

John
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 20-07-2012, 02:46 AM
dp297 (Dimitris)
Registered User

dp297 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnH View Post
I am not quite sure what your issue is - can you achieve focus with the FR in the imaging train? If yes then what is the issue? In my case (RC10 Sbig ST2000xm) with the Moonlite focuser directly on the OTA I can move the FR in/out a little and still get focus (this gives slightly greater or lesser reduction than the optimal spacing) but the ideal is to use the FR at it's designed spacing.

Do you mean you cannot get focus when you remove the FR? This is the case with my setup also as this model focuser has a short draw tube - if I want to run the scope native I have to use one of the supplied extensions. To my way of thinking this is better than very long draw tubes which could sag/flex, or you could get the longer draw tube and fit it if you want (of course you cannot mount the FR in that).


Hope that helps!

John

Thanks for the reply..

I mean I cant get focus when the FR is in the slot inside the Moonlite focuser.
I screw the FR inside the drawtube in the Moonlite focuser and then add my DSLR (with T2 adapter). Calculating the distance its about 110-125mm (FR to sensor). Slightly longer that optimal due to DSLR sensor being buried deep inside. I just cant get focus. By removing the t2 adapter and playing with distances manually I can get focus...but...thats not how its supposed to work.

Would you mind describing your setup (adapters, distances etc)??
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 04:10 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement