Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Astrophotography and Imaging Equipment and Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 11-02-2009, 05:26 PM
mbaddah (Mohammed)
Registered User

mbaddah is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 803
QHY/Orion starshoot autoguider vs Toucam for planetary imaging?

Would kindly appreciate some expert advice on whether I should purchase a qhy5/orion starshoot autoguider or a toucam for planetary/lunar imaging and also for guiding a refractor (for dso)?

I apologise if this has been million times before, tried to search through the forums to of no avail Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-02-2009, 06:48 PM
keppar (Graham)
Registered User

keppar is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Albury N.S.W
Posts: 159
I have qhy 5 for guiding and it works a treat
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-02-2009, 07:08 PM
Omaroo's Avatar
Omaroo (Chris Malikoff)
Let there be night...

Omaroo is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney/Cooma
Posts: 7,628
Moh - the QHY5 is far (and I mean FAR) more sensitive than a TouCam for guiding as it's a monochrome camera. Given the same scope of mine (Tak FS60-C) I could immediately notice the difference between my original TouCam 840k and the QHY5 when I got it when trying to pick a suitable guide star. Chalk and cheese. Rule of thumb is that mono cameras of this class are generally more sensitive - period.

The QHY has greater resolution too, resulting in larger image files. Very nice.

Only problem is that, for planetary work, you'll need to use colour filters to get colour, wheras the TouCam is colour.

If you want to get the best of both worlds, there are DMK colour cameras that will do both jobs well.

Last edited by Omaroo; 12-02-2009 at 04:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-02-2009, 05:46 PM
gbeal
Registered User

gbeal is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 4,301
I've tried, albeit only briefly, and the biggest snag so far is capture software. You have thought of this, No?. For the ToUcam I use K3 CCDTools, or IRIS for capture, but neither will work with the QHY5, only GCVideo or whatever it is called. It works, but I know K3 and would like to use that, to no avail.
Gary
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-02-2009, 06:13 PM
Bassnut's Avatar
Bassnut (Fred)
Narrowfield rules!

Bassnut is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 4,772
Gary, ummm, no. It has drivers for Maxim DL, CCD soft (the best apps, not everyone only uses freebies ), astroart and Qgvideo.

Do your home work before postng, or Gamma will smack you
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-02-2009, 06:20 PM
gbeal
Registered User

gbeal is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 4,301
Hi Fred,
Gama smacks even if you are right, LOL.
Currently I use my QHY5 with Maxim DL, and or PHD. That is for when I am using it as a guide camera.
But the thrust of the orignal post is about comparing it with a ToUcam for planetary imaging, and to this end one needs normally an AVI, which K3 does wonderfully with the ToUcam, but the QHY5 will only do an AVI with GCVideo unless I am mistaken.
Gary
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-02-2009, 06:30 PM
Bassnut's Avatar
Bassnut (Fred)
Narrowfield rules!

Bassnut is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 4,772
Opps, OK, point taken, perhaps I should do more homework . No, ill go away now
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-02-2009, 06:33 PM
gbeal
Registered User

gbeal is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 4,301
S'all right Fred. I am serious though, I would love to be able to run my QHY5 with K3, and have posted on both the QHY forum as well as the Yahoo K3 group, to no avail. I have even written to Mr K3 himself, without a reply.
At least I get a reply from Tom re his QGVid program.
Gary
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13-02-2009, 02:27 PM
mbaddah (Mohammed)
Registered User

mbaddah is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 803
Thanks guys for all the replies...

It seems both serve their purposes in different ways, i'll most likely end up buying both save me headache of thinking about it

Anywhere I can buy Toucam? Can't seem find shop that sells them (even ebay didn't have them). Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 13-02-2009, 03:19 PM
rogerg's Avatar
rogerg (Roger)
Registered User

rogerg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 4,540
I had a Quick Cam, tried guiding with that. I then had a ToUCam for guiding, and now have a Q-Guider. If I had my time again, I wouldn't bother with the first two, would just get the Q-Guider (or wait, save for it, then get it). From my experience there is little comparison in terms of ease of use, sensitivity and FOV.

If you want a ToUCam the only place I know to buy them new is: http://www.telescopes-astronomy.com.au/

Roger.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 13-02-2009, 09:30 PM
wasyoungonce's Avatar
wasyoungonce (Brendan)
Certified Village Idiot

wasyoungonce is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mexico city (Melb), Australia
Posts: 2,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbaddah View Post
Thanks guys for all the replies...

It seems both serve their purposes in different ways, i'll most likely end up buying both save me headache of thinking about it

Anywhere I can buy Toucam? Can't seem find shop that sells them (even ebay didn't have them). Cheers.

http://www.msy.com.au/Parts/clayton_W.htm


MSY Clayton Victoria. Philips SPC900NC For $79. That's where I got mine a few months back.
http://www.iceinspace.com.au/forum/s...ad.php?t=36591

I believe they now have WA store:
http://www.msy.com.au/LOCATION/balcatta.htm

MSY generally do not courier to your door but I believe some QLD & NSW stores may offer this service. I don't know if they send stock between stores aka from Clayton to WA.

At $79 it's worth pursuing ..IMHO.


Good Luck

Edit:

your in Sydney..even better..I think!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 17-02-2009, 04:57 PM
bloodhound31
Registered User

bloodhound31 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4,628
Where can I get this GC video? I would like to try to use my Orion Starshoot to capture planetary images.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 17-02-2009, 05:10 PM
kinetic's Avatar
kinetic (Steve)
ATMer and Saganist

kinetic is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Adelaide S.A.
Posts: 2,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by gbeal View Post
S'all right Fred. I am serious though, I would love to be able to run my QHY5 with K3, and have posted on both the QHY forum as well as the Yahoo K3 group, to no avail. I have even written to Mr K3 himself, without a reply.
At least I get a reply from Tom re his QGVid program.
Gary
Don't write off Peter K (the K3 author) so quickly Gary.
He has incorporated a lot of different camera drivers at the request
of users many times over.
His efforts are usually repaid by people not buying his registered version.
K3 still remains one of my most used bits of software for my webcams.
Peter always answered my requests, but from memory it wasn't always
overnight.

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 17-02-2009, 06:12 PM
Gama's Avatar
Gama
Registered User

Gama is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by bloodhound31 View Post
Where can I get this GC video? I would like to try to use my Orion Starshoot to capture planetary images.
Dont bother, QG Video is a QHY-5 program, and Orion Starshoot is not compatible due to firmware. The Orion only comes with Maxim and PHD drivers. It is not compatible with ANY of the software and drivers from Astrosoft. But i think you can get a license to run it, from memory i thing about 40 bucks or so.

Theo.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 17-02-2009, 07:26 PM
bloodhound31
Registered User

bloodhound31 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4,628
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gama View Post
Dont bother, QG Video is a QHY-5 program, and Orion Starshoot is not compatible due to firmware. The Orion only comes with Maxim and PHD drivers. It is not compatible with ANY of the software and drivers from Astrosoft. But i think you can get a license to run it, from memory i thing about 40 bucks or so.

Theo.
Bummer! Thanks for the scoop Theo.

Now I am wondering if there is or will be a way......

I might have to keep my ToUCam instead of selling it with the C11.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 01:36 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement