#1  
Old 08-04-2016, 09:57 AM
ericwbenson (Eric)
Registered User

ericwbenson is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 200
USB3 and FLI camera

Can anyone confirm for me that an FLI Proline camera will function with a USB3 connection? I don't care about the faster speed, just that an upgraded computer has 4 x USB3 and 2 x USB2, my current imaging PC has USB2 only. I could load win7 or 8.1 on the new PC.

The equipment is remote. in Arkaroola, so I can't try it until I get up there, but it would be nice to have a plan B and/or a spare USB2 hub to bring up in case!

Related question, does a powered USB2 hub plugged into a USB3 port allow legacy stuff on the hub to work properly?

My equipment layout is:
a) Scopedome v1.2
b) FLI proline
c) A200HR mount (builtin FTDI usb-rs232)
d) powered USB2 Hub:
[
e) SX lodestar,
f) Apogee FW,
g) CDK20+IRF90 (builtin FTDI usb-rs232)
]

I'm fairly certain that a) will not work with USB3. f) probably won't work. And e) might work with new drivers, but won't matter since it shares the connection with f).
c) and g) should be fine, right?!?

Current plan is scopedome and the hub get usb2, the rest USB3, this hinges on the FLI working with USB3!

Thanks for any info,
EB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-04-2016, 12:03 PM
billdan's Avatar
billdan (Bill)
Registered User

billdan is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Narangba, SE QLD
Posts: 1,338
Gooday Eric,

My understanding of USB is that any USB-2 device will function perfectly when plugged into a USB-3 port.
The USB-3 hardware automatically slows down to USB-2 speed.

Bill
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-04-2016, 05:52 PM
Paul Haese's Avatar
Paul Haese
Registered User

Paul Haese is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 9,403
Hi Eric,

My scope done v1.2 works on a usb3 port. I imagine your FLI will too as my STXL has used a USB3 port before.

I think USB3 is backward compatible to USB1.0
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-04-2016, 06:45 PM
Shiraz's Avatar
Shiraz (Ray)
Registered User

Shiraz is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: ardrossan south australia
Posts: 4,787
I would take a spare usb2 hub and a handful of usb cables as well. and a packet of cable ties.

fwiw, my system works ok on usb2 or usb3
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-04-2016, 09:59 PM
ericwbenson (Eric)
Registered User

ericwbenson is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by billdan View Post
My understanding of USB is that any USB-2 device will function perfectly when plugged into a USB-3 port.
The USB-3 hardware automatically slows down to USB-2 speed.
Yes it should work, but I was hoping for real world advice that it does work . USB has been and continues to be a PITA when it comes to system reliability...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shiraz View Post
I would take a spare usb2 hub and a handful of usb cables as well. and a packet of cable ties.
fwiw, my system works ok on usb2 or usb3
I might do that, if I can find a USB hub that I can trust! The hub on the scope now is made for automotive installations (Carnetix CNX-P5USB):
https://store.mp3car.com/collections...nd-24v-systems
it has been ultra-reliable for over four years, but it is a bit hard to get and expensive (78$A + 85$A for 5-10 business days shipping!! Too bad since I want to drive up to Ark on the anzac weekend.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Haese View Post
Hi Eric,
My scope done v1.2 works on a usb3 port. I imagine your FLI will too as my STXL has used a USB3 port before.
I think USB3 is backward compatible to USB1.0
OK thanks for the advice about the scopedome. Mark tried his once on USB3 and had no luck, but it could have been something else.

Surely someone using an FLI camera must have plugged it into a usb3 port!

Regards,
EB
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-04-2016, 10:23 PM
ericwbenson (Eric)
Registered User

ericwbenson is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 200
BTW,
I just found a really cool USB device viewer, it shows all connected devices with buckets of info, and even any previously connected devices!

Freeware from here:
http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/usb_devices_view.html
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (Clipboarder.2016.04.08.png)
57.0 KB13 views
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 09:42 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement