#1  
Old 12-10-2008, 04:35 PM
mbedsor (Matt)
Registered User

mbedsor is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Gladstone
Posts: 10
Decent camera to fit Skywatcher SW500

Can anyone tell me what a decent camera I would need to fit to my SW500 and what attachments I would need?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-10-2008, 04:48 PM
mick pinner's Avatar
mick pinner
Astrolounge

mick pinner is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: monbulk-vic
Posts: 2,010
all depends what you want to image, a camera requiring long exposures won't be any good unless you have a well tracking mount.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-10-2008, 04:50 PM
mbedsor (Matt)
Registered User

mbedsor is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Gladstone
Posts: 10
Just for taking simple photos of planets and stuff and be able to pull it off and take normal photos
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-10-2008, 04:54 PM
mick pinner's Avatar
mick pinner
Astrolounge

mick pinner is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: monbulk-vic
Posts: 2,010
unfortunetly you won't be able to photograph planets with a normal camera, you would have to get a camera capable of taking video stream and then poecessing the captured video later with astro software.
see Imaging Source cameras on the left of screen.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13-10-2008, 10:44 PM
Jen's Avatar
Jen
Moving to Pandora

Jen is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Swan Hill
Posts: 7,032
oh i was afraid you would say something like that i have been watching this thread very carefully after being a member of this site that is all i iwant to do now is take pics
so i think my first step is to get a different mount so that i can get some tracking happening first right
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13-10-2008, 11:07 PM
Ian Robinson
Registered User

Ian Robinson is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gateshead
Posts: 2,205
I was reading the manual for my 40D on Friday and noticed it can do video (streaming ?). RAW & JPEG Simultaneous Recording (from the specs).

All depends on how big a SD card you get as far as how much video you can record.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13-10-2008, 11:18 PM
RB's Avatar
RB (Andrew)
Moderator

RB is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 21,982
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian Robinson View Post
I was reading the manual for my 40D on Friday and noticed it can do video (streaming ?). RAW & JPEG Simultaneous Recording (from the specs).

All depends on how big a SD card you get as far as how much video you can record.
Read the manual again Ian.
The 40D can not record video !

What it's referring to is it's ability to record a still image in both raw and jpg.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13-10-2008, 11:38 PM
Ian Robinson
Registered User

Ian Robinson is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gateshead
Posts: 2,205
Had another look . Still a bit to learn about using my newest toy .



Apparently video on a 40D requires a hack or software update .... maybe Canon will do that.

Mind you better than 6 frames per second in live view in a burst of several dozen at high ASA would be pretty handy for recording a moving planet or moon.

This might be handy for Matt : http://www.saao.ac.za/~wpk/exposure.html .

Last edited by Ian Robinson; 13-10-2008 at 11:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13-10-2008, 11:42 PM
RB's Avatar
RB (Andrew)
Moderator

RB is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 21,982
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian Robinson View Post
Had another looks .



Apparently video on a 40D requires a hack or software update .... maybe Canon will do that.
What are you talking about ????

The only Canon DSLR with the ability to take video is the new 5D MkII.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 14-10-2008, 12:06 AM
Ian Robinson
Registered User

Ian Robinson is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gateshead
Posts: 2,205
Quote:
Originally Posted by RB View Post
What are you talking about ????

The only Canon DSLR with the ability to take video is the new 5D MkII.
Google it ....
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 16-10-2008, 07:23 AM
Garyh's Avatar
Garyh
Amongst the stars

Garyh is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Glen Innes, N.S.W.
Posts: 2,839
Hi Matt,
How about a QHY-5 cmos camera?
Good for planetary and lunar shots and maybe some very bright deepsky stuff, but you would need a laptop or pc to plug it in to...
Good price too! but you could go for just a Philips Toucam webcam?

http://web.aanet.com.au/gama/QHY%20Cmos.html
cheers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 05:19 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement