#1  
Old 21-07-2007, 10:24 AM
[1ponders]'s Avatar
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

[1ponders] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Obi Obi, Qld
Posts: 18,778
Canon 400D focusing Question

At this time DSLR Focus does not support the Canon 400D and I was wondering what techniques are being used to achieve critical focus. I have a friend coming over tonight to try out his 400D and I'd really like to avoid the take a snap and zoom into the screen to check focus as this doesn't seem to be a very efficient method. What, if any, programs are people using to check their focus?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21-07-2007, 12:26 PM
JohnG's Avatar
JohnG (John)
Looking Down From Above

JohnG is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cootamundra, NSW
Posts: 1,698
Hi Paul

I don't know if this supports a 400D or not but it is free from PHD:

http://www.stark-labs.com/DSLR_Shutter.html

DSLR Shutter. May be worth a go .

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21-07-2007, 01:35 PM
[1ponders]'s Avatar
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

[1ponders] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Obi Obi, Qld
Posts: 18,778
Thanks John. Does it download and display each image to the laptop screen for preview? I have an exposure control that will work (Star-mate) with the 400D, what I don't have is a focus assist.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21-07-2007, 01:41 PM
JohnG's Avatar
JohnG (John)
Looking Down From Above

JohnG is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cootamundra, NSW
Posts: 1,698
Sorry mate, don't know, like you, I use DSLRFocus with a 350D.

I guess the only way to find out is to try it.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21-07-2007, 01:49 PM
Astroman's Avatar
Astroman (Andrew Wall)
<><><><>

Astroman is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Paralowie, South Australia
Posts: 4,348
DSLR Shutter is only a snap program, it will take a pic via a bulb cable but will not display the image. Various programs I have used are MaxIm DL / MakIm DSLR and another program called Focus assist written specifically to focus the Canon 400D and uses the cameras USB cable. So I don't think it will work in Vista yet as the 400D is unsupported in Vista.

http://www.xmission.com/~jstanley/focusassist/

Give it a try, works okay but its not automatic.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21-07-2007, 02:38 PM
[1ponders]'s Avatar
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

[1ponders] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Obi Obi, Qld
Posts: 18,778
Thanks Andrew. No need to worry about vista here. I'm waiting for the next MS windoze environment release to see if they get that one right instead.

I'll give it ago tonight.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21-07-2007, 07:46 PM
DeanoNZL (Adrian)
Seize The Night

DeanoNZL is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Rodney, New Zealand
Posts: 310
Hi Guys,
Have you tried "Nebulosity", also from Stark-Labs?
Has support for the DIGIC II as well as a bunch of other camera's.
The fast focus & fine focus tool work very well.
Let me know how you go...
CS
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21-07-2007, 08:16 PM
[1ponders]'s Avatar
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

[1ponders] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Obi Obi, Qld
Posts: 18,778
Focus Assist works a treat. Just what we needed. Used in conjunction with the magnifier under the Accessibility program group it was every bit as good as using the magnifier in DSLR Focus. Thanks for the link Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 22-07-2007, 03:53 AM
mostschaedel's Avatar
mostschaedel (Gerald)
mostschaedel

mostschaedel is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ebreichsdorf Austria
Posts: 60
Hi Paul!
ImagePlus is the Software which supports the newer
Canon DSLRs also. It has same functions as DSLRfocus.
I am using Imageplus also for focusing and
Dust removal via flatfield image and vignetting removal also via flatfield.

http://www.mlunsold.com/

Gerald
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22-07-2007, 09:59 AM
[1ponders]'s Avatar
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

[1ponders] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Obi Obi, Qld
Posts: 18,778
Thanks Gerald. I use ImagePlus all the time and didn't even think about it for focusing as I use DSLR Focus exclusively for my 300D. I gather it will operate the 400 then?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 22-07-2007, 10:08 AM
JohnG's Avatar
JohnG (John)
Looking Down From Above

JohnG is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cootamundra, NSW
Posts: 1,698
Hi Paul

I think that 400D support came in from Version 2.82, I don't recall it in V 2.80 that I use.

I actually find it a bit cumbersome compared to DSLRFocus but there again I am quite comfortable with DSLRFocus.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 22-07-2007, 10:20 AM
[1ponders]'s Avatar
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

[1ponders] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Obi Obi, Qld
Posts: 18,778
I only have 2.8. Might check out the website to see what the upgrade is worth.

Mind you that Focus Assist used with the Accessibility Magnifier worked a treat. If only it didn't shift all my desktop icons around

Any one know of a desktop magnifying glass available on the web anywhere?


Where's my mate Al Sheeny? He's pretty good at doing that sort of stuff (hoping he reads this thread )
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 22-07-2007, 10:24 AM
JohnG's Avatar
JohnG (John)
Looking Down From Above

JohnG is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cootamundra, NSW
Posts: 1,698
I would wait until Version 3.00 comes out, they are Beta testing now. I am waiting until then for an upgrade.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 22-07-2007, 10:24 AM
[1ponders]'s Avatar
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

[1ponders] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Obi Obi, Qld
Posts: 18,778
That was quick. Found one

http://www.snapfiles.com/get/imagnifier.html
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 22-07-2007, 10:25 AM
[1ponders]'s Avatar
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

[1ponders] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Obi Obi, Qld
Posts: 18,778
Will do John. Any chance of getting on the beta testing crew
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 22-07-2007, 10:28 AM
JohnG's Avatar
JohnG (John)
Looking Down From Above

JohnG is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cootamundra, NSW
Posts: 1,698
I believe that if you send an email to Mike Unsold and request to be a beta tester, he will send you a time limited version for testing, there will be 2 files, one for ImagesPlus itself and one for Camera Control.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 22-07-2007, 10:31 AM
[1ponders]'s Avatar
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

[1ponders] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Obi Obi, Qld
Posts: 18,778
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 07:57 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement