#1  
Old 16-03-2018, 04:44 PM
LewisM
Novichok test rabbit

LewisM is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Somewhere in the cosmos...
Posts: 9,326
Auto-darks

Do MaxIM created and auto-subtracted auto-darks work as well as regular darks?? They are the same exposure as the sub, then applied at readout to dark-correct the images.

Would adding "real" darks during calibraation later hurt the image in any way, or do they literally mutually exclude each other? I usually let PI run the batch preprocess, so not entirely sure what it does in the script! If I process in CCDStack, I use the calibration setups as usual - doesn't SEEM to affect the data negatively.

Also, any point to using auto-darks during flat frame capture, or is that counter-productive?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16-03-2018, 04:54 PM
RickS's Avatar
RickS (Rick)
PI cult recruiter

RickS is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 10,584
Hi Lewis,

A single auto-subtracted dark won't work as well as a master integrated from multiple darks. It will add a lot more noise.

If you dark calibrate twice then you will damage the data. That's the short of shenanigan that could cause the error you mentioned the other day (BPP complaining about no data in some of the subs.)

For flat frames I think you are generally better off just bias calibrating them unless you have a camera with a very high dark current or are doing very long darks. If you do want to dark calibrate them then, again, it is better to use a master integrated from multiple dark frames than a single auto dark though the noise won't have as big an impact because flats have lots of signal.

Cheers,
Rick.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16-03-2018, 05:12 PM
LewisM
Novichok test rabbit

LewisM is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Somewhere in the cosmos...
Posts: 9,326
Thanks Rick. Makes sense.

I wish PI would make an add-on or stand-alone for camera control/capture...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16-03-2018, 09:39 PM
Bart's Avatar
Bart
Don't have a cow, Man!

Bart is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 739
Actually, they do Lewis!
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (PI_INDI.jpg)
96.0 KB30 views
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17-03-2018, 07:39 AM
LewisM
Novichok test rabbit

LewisM is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Somewhere in the cosmos...
Posts: 9,326
Well there ya go!

That's one thing about PI - stuff crammed everywhere in non-logical folders etc you don't find them.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 10:26 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement