Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Astrophotography and Imaging Equipment and Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 03-11-2015, 09:27 AM
batema's Avatar
batema (Mark)
Registered User

batema is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sunshine Coast
Posts: 1,807
Polar aligning using the SBIG 8300 guide chip?????

Hi,

At the moment I have to check my alignment every week as I have my tripod marked on pavers but have to pull everything down each night. To do this I put my W/OFlt110 on and use theis to align and then put my imaging scope on after. Bit of a pain.

What I am wondering is if you can use PHD2 with the guide chip in my SBIG 8300 to drift align. It would save me a lot of time. Also I have a VArio 10 x 60 finderscope and have seen that if you get a 40mm T2 adapter you can turn this into a guide scope but wonder if someone who uses this could tell me if a single 40mm T2 would be enough or should I also buy a 15mm. I will be using a ZWO 120m as my guide camera in this situation.

Thanks

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-11-2015, 09:33 AM
elken2004 (Australia)
Registered User

elken2004 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: boronia
Posts: 35
try this

Hi this is what i did.

http://www.iceinspace.com.au/forum/s...d.php?t=139955
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-11-2015, 09:44 AM
Atmos's Avatar
Atmos (Colin)
Ultimate Noob

Atmos is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,266
Is see no reason why you wouldn't be able to use the guide chip. I've polar aligned multiple times with a guide scope in PHD2. I usually do refinements will all sky models in TSX but my guide scope gets me pretty close.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-11-2015, 04:39 PM
gregbradley's Avatar
gregbradley
Registered User

gregbradley is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 15,410
Can you connect the guide chip output to PHD2? If so then I don't see a problem.

You are talking about the internal filter wheel guide chip right not an external guide camera like an STi?

Greg.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-11-2015, 07:45 PM
batema's Avatar
batema (Mark)
Registered User

batema is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sunshine Coast
Posts: 1,807
yes Greg. The internal guide chip in my STT 8300M.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-11-2015, 10:15 AM
gregbradley's Avatar
gregbradley
Registered User

gregbradley is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 15,410
I imagine it comes down to whether you can connect that guide chip in PHD2. If you can there should be no problem.

Greg.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-11-2015, 12:35 PM
lazjen's Avatar
lazjen (Chris)
PI cult member

lazjen is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Flaxton, Qld
Posts: 1,687
I've got a ST-8XE - when I connect it to PHD2 for drift aligning, it asks if I want to use the guide or main camera. For this task I normally select the main camera, but either works.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-11-2015, 12:37 PM
gregbradley's Avatar
gregbradley
Registered User

gregbradley is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 15,410
Well then you should be laughing and it should not be a problem.

Greg.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 01:12 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement