Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Equipment Discussions

Old 16-11-2020, 07:44 AM
Louiseb2790 (Louise)

Konus 200mm reflector - worth persisting?

Hi all,

Complete newbie here so excuse the long post.

I bought a Konus Konusky 200mm Newtonian reflector scope with equatorial mount around 20 years ago in the US with the intention of bringing it home and exploring the night skies. Totally new to scopes but this one was recommended to me by the sales people at the time and reviews were pretty good. I was living in a pretty urban area in the US so didn't have much luck looking at anything except the moon.

Fast forward to today and I have dug the old scope out of storage as I'm finally living somewhere non-urban. And boy am I having trouble.

I have spent hours and hours following all the instructions online about setting up in the day time to align the finder scope, etc, and have collimated the mirrors. But nothing seems to 'stick'. As soon as I move the scope to a different location alignment seems to be gone and disappointment follows. Nothing lines up, I can see the spider mount in the view, everything is really shaky even with a big eyepiece

I am not sure where to go from here. Could it be that the scope has been damaged in some way in transit or storage for such a long time? Could the mount be to blame? As you can probably tell I'm clutching at straws here as I really don't know what I'm doing. I've looked into local clubs but nothing is happening due to COVID so its hard to get advice.

Any suggestions or advice very welcome,
Louise.
Old 16-11-2020, 09:07 AM
N1 (Mirko)

Check out this thread.