ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Gibbous
81.5%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
7:23 am
Perth
4:23 am
Auckland*
9:23 am
New York
3:23 pm
Paris
9:23 pm
GMT
8:23 pm




  #1  
Old 24-10-2017, 05:18 PM
Malcolm
Registered User

Malcolm is offline
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Lismore NSW Australia
Posts: 176
Synscan daylight saving?

If I input the correct time to the haqndset, why does it ask daylight saving Y/N?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24-10-2017, 05:21 PM
The Mekon's Avatar
The Mekon (John B)
Registered User

The Mekon is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bowral NSW
Posts: 649
Perhaps just a reminder? It annoys me as well. I keep mine on +10h and always input EST.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24-10-2017, 05:48 PM
Malcolm
Registered User

Malcolm is offline
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Lismore NSW Australia
Posts: 176
Well I've just put in YES and also input NSW DST so I'll see what happens.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24-10-2017, 08:20 PM
Wavytone (Nick)
BigBanger

Wavytone is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Killara, Sydney
Posts: 3,355
Synscan handles this correctly in my experience. If it didn't the result would be a constant offset of 15 degrees in hour angle, which would be rather obvious.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24-10-2017, 10:28 PM
jimmyh1555 (James)
jimmyh1555

jimmyh1555 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: George Town TAS
Posts: 156
synscan

Presumably the programming was done under American supervision. Perhaps in different countries they have different dates for turning the clocks forwards or backwards. They maybe didn't know when our clocks go forward. For instance, in UK, the clocks don't get adjusted until mid/late October (if I remember right) , so it made sense for each user in whichever country, to tell the computer
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24-10-2017, 11:04 PM
Steffen's Avatar
Steffen
Selure Caps Nieci

Steffen is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Toongabbie, NSW
Posts: 1,871
The confusion stems from the fact the user is asked for both timezone (GMT offset) and DST flag. A user in NSW, during summer, could enter any of these combinations (together with the wristwatch time):

Timezone +10, DST=YES
Timezone +10, DST=NO
Timezone +11, DST=YES
Timezone +11, DST=NO

Two of them are correct, and it's fairly straightforward to work out which those are. It can still be confusing during setup in the field.

I sidestep the issue altogether, by entering UTC time, timezone +0 and DST=NO at all times of the year

Last edited by Steffen; 04-11-2017 at 10:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-11-2017, 10:27 PM
jimmyh1555 (James)
jimmyh1555

jimmyh1555 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: George Town TAS
Posts: 156
Good idea, Steffen, but pleeese call it GMT like it always has been
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-11-2017, 10:43 PM
Steffen's Avatar
Steffen
Selure Caps Nieci

Steffen is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Toongabbie, NSW
Posts: 1,871
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmyh1555 View Post
Good idea, Steffen, but pleeese call it GMT like it always has been
Haha, I would if I could, but I'm too OCD for that. My time source (NTP) only delivers UTC, which incorporates modern achievements like leap seconds (something GMT has no concept of). And who'd want to be off by a second (stars drift by up to 15 arc seconds per second!)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-11-2017, 10:52 PM
jimmyh1555 (James)
jimmyh1555

jimmyh1555 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: George Town TAS
Posts: 156
Leap seconds???? Crikey, I used to use a sextant and my assistant had the deck watch which I bet wasn't very accurate! Probably lucky to be within a minute.
Maybe that explains why my fixes were never too accurate, but on one occasion I navigated a minesweeper across the Indian Ocean, and we did actually make landfall! Those were the days... Leap seconds? What will they think of next?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 19-01-2018, 09:51 AM
Heathcote (Colin)
Registered User

Heathcote is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Heathcote
Posts: 5
Dst

I may have a simplistic view of this but it seems logical. Synscan needs to know UTC/GMT time to accurately know where things are. When you enter the inputs during setup, look at your watch and enter, then YES/NO for DST.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 06:23 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Atik Horizon
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Interest Free Finance
Advertisement
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Advertisement
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement