#1  
Old 29-03-2010, 02:21 PM
allan gould's Avatar
allan gould
Registered User

allan gould is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 4,481
Astro photography tool

Free program from
http://www.ideiki.com/astro/Download.aspx
for control of DSLRs.
Thought it may be of interest.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29-03-2010, 02:35 PM
DavidTrap's Avatar
DavidTrap (David)
Really just a beginner

DavidTrap is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2,799
Looks very interesting and would certainly help my workflow - if only they supported proper cameras (ie Nikon)...

DT
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29-03-2010, 03:03 PM
Octane's Avatar
Octane (Humayun)
IIS Member #671

Octane is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canberra
Posts: 11,159
lol @ "proper cameras".

H
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29-03-2010, 03:50 PM
troypiggo's Avatar
troypiggo (Troy)
Bust Duster

troypiggo is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 4,785
I'm an astrophotography tool.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29-03-2010, 05:34 PM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 5,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by troypiggo View Post
I'm an astrophotography tool.
Ditto.
With the little help from Aputure timer.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29-03-2010, 05:39 PM
troypiggo's Avatar
troypiggo (Troy)
Bust Duster

troypiggo is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 4,785
It does look interesting. Wondering if it does anything Nebulosity 2 doesn't do.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 31-03-2010, 02:54 AM
JD2439975's Avatar
JD2439975 (Justin)
Cloud hater

JD2439975 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Conondale QLD
Posts: 493
Very interesting, thanks for the link Allan.

The exposure planner is a novelty for me.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23-04-2010, 09:34 PM
Yoddha's Avatar
Yoddha
Registered User

Yoddha is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 350
Hello to everyone!

I'm the author of this program and am happy to inform you that there is new version on the site. There are fixes and new features included (take a look on history page for details).
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 23-04-2010, 10:04 PM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 30,300
thanks - will have a look
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24-04-2010, 09:05 AM
wasyoungonce's Avatar
wasyoungonce (Brendan)
Certified Village Idiot

wasyoungonce is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mexico city (Melb), Australia
Posts: 2,309
Hi Ivo.

Love this program. Very easy to use.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 24-04-2010, 02:55 PM
danielsun's Avatar
danielsun
Canon collector

danielsun is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Taylors Lakes Melb
Posts: 1,964
I really like the way it operates the mirror lock up on the 500D (Same as the 350D system )with your nominated pause and without the use of live view.
But I can't work out how to direct the image transfer it will not send my images anywhere and gives me no options of where to send them. It also won't run my 350D at all. It says it is conected but will not fire the mirror or shutter.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 24-04-2010, 03:59 PM
wasyoungonce's Avatar
wasyoungonce (Brendan)
Certified Village Idiot

wasyoungonce is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mexico city (Melb), Australia
Posts: 2,309
Quote:
Originally Posted by danielsun View Post
I really like the way it operates the mirror lock up on the 500D (Same as the 350D system )with your nominated pause and without the use of live view.
But I can't work out how to direct the image transfer it will not send my images anywhere and gives me no options of where to send them. It also won't run my 350D at all. It says it is conected but will not fire the mirror or shutter.
Daniel have a look at the help guide. Images are saved to C:\windows\program files\astrophotographytool\Camera.. .then in a date file it creates.

The paid version has ability to change the location of saved files otherwise they are saved as above location.

Once you "connect" you then bring up your file list of images & ISOs you want with the exposures tab. The press start.

Hope this helps.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (camera control.png)
36.0 KB200 views
Click for full-size image (AptSite.JPG)
96.1 KB204 views
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 25-04-2010, 09:49 AM
danielsun's Avatar
danielsun
Canon collector

danielsun is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Taylors Lakes Melb
Posts: 1,964
Thanks Wasy,
I had a look in the defalt destination and when I get intoC:\ program files\astrophotography tool but nothing further (Just drivers and stuff) so still not sure where they are going. I dont see\ camera ..It also will not let me make any manual adjustments to the camera until I disconect shut it down and restart.
Never mind, It may be because it is only the trial version.

Cheers Daniel.

Last edited by danielsun; 25-04-2010 at 10:03 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 25-04-2010, 10:53 AM
wasyoungonce's Avatar
wasyoungonce (Brendan)
Certified Village Idiot

wasyoungonce is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mexico city (Melb), Australia
Posts: 2,309
Attached is a screen grab of my install file locations for APT.

As you can see from the attached it creates a fiolder "Camera_1". Inside this folder it creates another date format folder to hold images you take.

Are you sure another program like the canon EOS utility is not running or auto starting when you switch on your camera. I have found this interferes with the APT software.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (file menu 2.JPG)
34.4 KB66 views
Click for full-size image (file menu.JPG)
52.8 KB76 views
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 25-04-2010, 05:41 PM
astrospotter (Mark)
Registered User

astrospotter is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: San Jose, CA, USA
Posts: 146
Are there adjustable crosshairs for drift align?

Did anyone try to use the alignment mode? I did not find much on the website on that. Did he have crosshairs that can be placed over a star to assist doing drift alignment or is that some other alignment mode?

I think I am going to try it but it would be a big plus if he also had some assist to track star drift built into the program. The ideal thing would be have large crosshair that sits on liveview screen and a mouse click sets the center (like on the star at some start time). Then after the star has moved with the mount drive off be able to rotate the grid with a second mouse click on the new position of the drifted star.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 25-04-2010, 05:58 PM
wasyoungonce's Avatar
wasyoungonce (Brendan)
Certified Village Idiot

wasyoungonce is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mexico city (Melb), Australia
Posts: 2,309
Quote:
Originally Posted by astrospotter View Post
Did anyone try to use the alignment mode? I did not find much on the website on that. Did he have crosshairs that can be placed over a star to assist doing drift alignment or is that some other alignment mode?
Hi Mark. I do not think the alignment cross hairs are moveable. You have to rotate the camera to align with the star drift for drift alignment routine.

But a software inbuilt rotatable cross-hair would be handy.

Of course you could overlay this utility with a 3rd party cross-hair that can be rotated aka JAC virtual cross-hair.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 26-04-2010, 02:00 PM
astrospotter (Mark)
Registered User

astrospotter is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: San Jose, CA, USA
Posts: 146
Rotate camera works, I was just lazy

I also know of a rotating grid app and thought about that later but I think I'll take a look at the one you mention as well, thanks.

Im going to check out this software and the price is nice so I Ill buy it as well but was a little confused on Canon 40D specifics in terms of USB drive and mirror lockup delay. For those things, the free download will answer all that even in my living room on a full moon I think. I like the live-view preview for mask-focus and framing so I don't have to kink my neck to see focus on the tiny screen. Nice.

I really don't want anything but usb between the camera and my field laptop and if that really happens, including mirror lockup delay, I'll be sending in my moo-lah cause it looks like it is simple yet does so much of the workflow. Easy to remember how to use in the dark is a HUGE Plus.

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 26-04-2010, 02:08 PM
JohnG's Avatar
JohnG (John)
Looking Down From Above

JohnG is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cootamundra, NSW
Posts: 1,694
If you want to Drift Align in these programs, get yourself a copy of StarTarg, open it up and you can drag it all over the screen and set it at various orientations.

http://www.andysshotglass.com/StarTarg.html

Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 26-04-2010, 09:34 PM
Yoddha's Avatar
Yoddha
Registered User

Yoddha is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
Posts: 350
Hello to everybody!

Excuse me, I had forgotten to make a subscription to this thread and didn't receive notification that there are new post here

danielsun, to use APT with 350D a serial cable is needed to control the shutter and mirror. Only the models after 2006 can be controlled only with USB.

As for the cross, the original idea for it was to help me with "High precision" feature of my LXD-75 mount. It works quite well in combination with LiveView . But I suppose that the cross will be handy for drift alignment too. If there is something that can be handy for doing it, let me know and I'll try to add it in the next version.

wasyoungonce, thanks for the help!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 27-04-2010, 03:24 PM
astrospotter (Mark)
Registered User

astrospotter is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: San Jose, CA, USA
Posts: 146
Bought APT and it just worked right from start

I await a field test or two to see if anything comes up then.
Paid for the version today.

Intuitive, easy to understand, well laid out with a pro look, does what it says it will do.

As with any program there will be little things but this is one nice tool at a fair price. This seems to have full USB control with my Canon 40D with 1.0.8 firmware.

I will upgrade firmware at some time because I think there is a 1.1.1 that people like and a 1.1.2 that may have issues around some focus feature. But that has nothing to do with this APT and may be on some other thread here in Ice.

Mark
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 12:39 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Interest Free Finance
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement