Old 11-02-2019, 11:56 PM
Ukastronomer (Jeremy)
Feel free to edit my imag

First imaging steps

I have placed this in imaging because I have never used a dedicated camera before, as you can see I have the ZWO ASI 178MM

I have always been happy with DSLRs but want to use the ASI for solar but have NO idea and happy to admit that, unfortunately having Autism does not help meaning lost tempers and giving up

Is there any form of diagram that shows me some idea of the imaging train please.

I have most of what is needed but no matter what I do I can't image trees in the distance, or over 50' away

The ONLY way to image the trees 1/4 mile away is with a barlow and extension image 1

Just camera nothing

Many thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (P1060338.jpg)
41.4 KB69 views
Click for full-size image (P1060339.jpg)
198.3 KB52 views

Last edited by Ukastronomer; 12-02-2019 at 06:21 PM.
Old 12-02-2019, 10:06 AM
Saturnine (Jeff)

For starters, I suspect that the flip mirror adds too much length to the imaging train. The simplest way to find out where the focal plane is in the system is to remove the camera and put in an eyepiece and bring that to focus. If focus can't be achieved with an eyepiece with the flip mirror in place, no matter how much the focuser is racked in or out, remove the flip mirror assembly.
With the eyepiece inserted directly into the drawtube again rack the focuser in or out until focus is achieved. once you have focus with an eyepiece, then your ZWO camera will require about another 12 / 15mm of in travel of the drawtube for the camera sensor to reach the focal plane.
Using an barlow will move the focal plane further out, maybe not by much, my 2.5X Powermate when added to the imaging set up requires the drawtube to be racked out an extra 10 / 12mm approx. That is why you can just reach focus with an barlow in place and therefore without an barlow in place you you need some extra in travel of the drawtube to reach focus.