Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > DIY Observatories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 21-07-2018, 05:26 PM
Imme (Jon)
Registered User

Imme is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Kyneton
Posts: 511
Automation questions....

A question for those of you with remote observatories.

How does you automation work? As in how do you switch computers and lights on and off and how are you operating your roof?

Am I right in saying you are using some form of USB controlled relay?

Something like this?.. https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/1-2-4-8-...usb+relay.TRS0

So far I’ve got a my obs equipment including focus controlled via computer.
A small router in obs running a wired network back to house.
Webcam also running back to house so I can ‘see’ what’s happening.
I have control of my obs equipment via teamviewer from house computer.
Shed roof is electrically controlled.

So what’s the next step?
How do I organise remote turn on/turn off/roof closing???
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23-07-2018, 09:26 AM
Octane's Avatar
Octane (Humayun)
IIS Member #671

Octane is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canberra
Posts: 11,159
Have a look at the Lunatico Astro products such as the Dragonfly.

H
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23-07-2018, 09:39 AM
Imme (Jon)
Registered User

Imme is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Kyneton
Posts: 511
Will do
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23-07-2018, 05:41 PM
diegocolonnello's Avatar
diegocolonnello (Diego)
Breathing Stars

diegocolonnello is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: melbourne, australia
Posts: 251
Hi Mate, i use a Dragonfly from Lunatico, it controls 8 relays and has 8 sensor contacts, allows Scripting and interfaces with other software by using ASCOM...

Really simple to setup and comes with APP for the phone.....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24-07-2018, 06:47 AM
DavidTrap's Avatar
DavidTrap (David)
Really just a beginner

DavidTrap is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2,799
In the remote school observatory I have setup, we use a combination.

Dragonfly for triggering the roof controller and receiving inputs from limit switches/travel sensors to make sure the roof has done what you asked it to do. It can also switch DC loads.

Digital Loggers universal input PDU for AC loads - ASCOM driver available.

If you want to spend a lot of money, you can go to ACP Scheduler and have the observatory turn itself on at dusk and off at dawn, and run itself for the entire night without you even lifting a finger.

DT
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24-07-2018, 07:03 PM
Paul Haese's Avatar
Paul Haese
Registered User

Paul Haese is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 9,222
Ok, here goes.

My internet account has a static IP address. Then I have port forwarding in the router which allows connections to computers, IP switches and IP cameras. I power everything up via an IP switch (9258) which has its own web address.

Once powered up I can access the computer either via Team viewer or Radmin.

The computer (fitPC4) controls the roof via USB (scopedome control systems), mount, focusing and camera.

I power up my camera, focuser and fans via Mount Hub Pro hardware. This also powers up the computer on power up.

My cloud sensor is always on and I connect it via USB.

All equipment is controlled by a variety of programs which include SkyX(mount), Maxim DL6 (cameras), Focusmax 4 (focuser, cameras and mount) Pinpoint (plate solving) and Scopedome (Roof)

Everything is controlled by CCDAP5 as the command program. It watches the weather, controls the mount, camera, plates solves, everything to produce imaging runs on selected targets.

That's it. Sounds easy but you need to be good at bug hunting and rely on the wisdom of others who have come before you to be successful.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24-07-2018, 07:25 PM
Imme (Jon)
Registered User

Imme is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Kyneton
Posts: 511
Seems theres not an easy plug and play type fix for me.....

I definately have some research to do.

Thanks everyone for your input......but I think I may be. A little farther away from full automation than I thought! Hahahaha
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24-07-2018, 07:34 PM
DavidTrap's Avatar
DavidTrap (David)
Really just a beginner

DavidTrap is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 2,799
Definitely not plug & play.

You’ve got to be willing to give scripting a go to completely automate. I have no coding experience, but have worked it out by dissecting sample files.

That said, my personal equipment isn’t fully automated - at the most, I use CCD commander to automate a run of imaging for the evening and put it all to bed before I do.

DT
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26-07-2018, 12:40 PM
Peter Ward's Avatar
Peter Ward
Galaxy hitchhiking guide

Peter Ward is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The Shire
Posts: 6,262
I use a Digital Loggers web power switch and Team Viewer to monitor the host PC in my fully robotic Sirius Dome.

In effect it's just like being in the dome, as you can power up cameras, mount and telescope (the dome is always powered) . Then fire up whatever software you want to use for an imaging session.

The host PC (Toshiba Tecra) stays powered, but I can re-boot it remotely if necessary.

I use a Boltwood to keep an eye on the weather and com status to the dome...it will close the shutter automatically if it no longer senses a link with the host PC.

My main telescope has all the bells and whistles: remotely controllable rotator, focuser, and mirror cover.

I also have an Allsky camera which uploads a new image to the web every five minutes or so, but can monitor it real-time if need be.

Lastly...if it all gets too hard, I can walk out into my backyard and sit in the dome when I've had a gut-full of lame TV shows about knocking up a meal or knocking down a house
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26-07-2018, 01:08 PM
Imme (Jon)
Registered User

Imme is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Kyneton
Posts: 511
I'm similar Peter, obs is at home about 70m from house however I would like the ability to image if I am away from home, or, setup an image run when I'm home and have the ability to monitor/end it if I go out for the night.

Still studying away looking at options

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter Ward View Post
I use a Digital Loggers web power switch and Team Viewer to monitor the host PC in my fully robotic Sirius Dome.

In effect it's just like being in the dome, as you can power up cameras, mount and telescope (the dome is always powered) . Then fire up whatever software you want to use for an imaging session.

The host PC (Toshiba Tecra) stays powered, but I can re-boot it remotely if necessary.

I use a Boltwood to keep an eye on the weather and com status to the dome...it will close the shutter automatically if it no longer senses a link with the host PC.

My main telescope has all the bells and whistles: remotely controllable rotator, focuser, and mirror cover.

I also have an Allsky camera which uploads a new image to the web every five minutes or so, but can monitor it real-time if need be.

Lastly...if it all gets too hard, I can walk out into my backyard and sit in the dome when I've had a gut-full of lame TV shows about knocking up a meal or knocking down a house
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 30-07-2018, 07:04 PM
Imme (Jon)
Registered User

Imme is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Kyneton
Posts: 511
Seems i have most issues sorted now.... Or will have once my relay board arrives from bulgaria!

I have hit one hurdle though, the lens cap, how are people handling protection of the lenses remotely when not in use?
Is it just a matter of parking the scope with lens pointing down?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 30-07-2018, 07:33 PM
Paul Haese's Avatar
Paul Haese
Registered User

Paul Haese is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 9,222
I don't use covers, even when I had refractors in one of my observatories, I just washed the front element once or twice a year. You could use a flipflat if you want to use a cover, but it is largely unnecessary and a bit of a luxury to have automated covers.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 09:21 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Interest Free Finance
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement