#1  
Old 01-06-2018, 08:34 PM
troypiggo's Avatar
troypiggo (Troy)
Bust Duster

troypiggo is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 4,790
guide camera dying?

Noticed something weird with guide camera (QHY5) images tonight. Last week there was no issue with the image, but tonight there are weird sections of the image - the black zone middle and right checkerboard type pattern. See attached. Any ideas/thoughts?
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (PHD.png)
132.3 KB56 views
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-06-2018, 10:57 AM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 17,764
Ouch! Doesn't look good. Have you tried cycling the picture with another software to rule that out?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-06-2018, 10:57 AM
billdan's Avatar
billdan (Bill)
Registered User

billdan is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Narangba, SE QLD
Posts: 1,217
That looks weird Troy, I must admit I've never seen anything like that before.

Have your tried the usual things, like turning everything off and restarting, swap out the USB cable, or testing the QHY5 in a different program like EZCAP or Sharpcap.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-06-2018, 01:04 PM
troypiggo's Avatar
troypiggo (Troy)
Bust Duster

troypiggo is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 4,790
I'll see how it goes again tonight. That'll take care of the power cycling and reconnecting etc. Will also try other software. The camera isn't new, think about 9 years old?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-06-2018, 11:03 PM
troypiggo's Avatar
troypiggo (Troy)
Bust Duster

troypiggo is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 4,790
Same issue tonight with that black band. It's weird - seems that every time I disconnect and connect the camera, the black band moves left and right in the image, but stays there once imaging. If I change the exposure time (eg from 2s to 0.2s) the black band shifts left or right, but then stays same location for that new exposure time.

Tried taking image with other software, but the only software I had was SGP and it seemed to just take all black images. I've never really used the QHY5 for anything other than guiding with PHD and Maxim (in the old days, on antoher computer).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-06-2018, 06:29 AM
DavidS's Avatar
DavidS (David)
Registered User

DavidS is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by troypiggo View Post
Same issue tonight with that black band. It's weird - seems that every time I disconnect and connect the camera, the black band moves left and right in the image, but stays there once imaging. If I change the exposure time (eg from 2s to 0.2s) the black band shifts left or right, but then stays same location for that new exposure time.

Tried taking image with other software, but the only software I had was SGP and it seemed to just take all black images. I've never really used the QHY5 for anything other than guiding with PHD and Maxim (in the old days, on antoher computer).
Have you tried changing the cable? I chased a problem for 4 months until I swapped the cable accidently and noticed everything was working all of a sudden. It's now the first thing I check. The fact that the band moves around sounds like connection somewhere - hopefully not inside the camera. Did it get a bump? Try rotating it and see if that "settles" it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-06-2018, 07:57 AM
troypiggo's Avatar
troypiggo (Troy)
Bust Duster

troypiggo is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 4,790
Thanks mate. No bumps that I’m aware of. I’ll try another cable.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-06-2018, 09:01 AM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 17,764
Have you tried running it with sharp cap? With a straight USB right off the PC. Try a few cables and USB ports.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-06-2018, 09:14 AM
gregbradley's Avatar
gregbradley
Registered User

gregbradley is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 15,051
Good advice. I sometimes get interference patterns with my SBIG STi which is very reliable.

Sometimes an image comes out with heavy white lines. I assume its some sort of interference from a tangle of cables.

Make sure your USB cable isn't next to a power cable.

Greg.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-06-2018, 09:36 AM
Imme (Jon)
Registered User

Imme is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Kyneton
Posts: 555
Just a thought from my own experience.....are you running this through a USB hub?
I had an issue once when I added a new piece of equipment and found the hub power rating wasn’t large enough to supply all the devices connected....removed one item and everything worked fine again
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-06-2018, 10:21 AM
troypiggo's Avatar
troypiggo (Troy)
Bust Duster

troypiggo is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 4,790
Thanks guys. Will try these suggestions and report back. I didn’t realise it worked in sharpcap. It’s plugged into a mount hub pro, but has been for ages, same slot, no new gear or gear rearrangements.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-06-2018, 01:27 PM
LewisM's Avatar
LewisM
Novichok test rabbit

LewisM is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Somewhere in the cosmos...
Posts: 8,901
Just covering the minutiae - have you installed a ferrite ring or tube around the cable? I used to have really crap results and drop outs with a ZWO until I put a ferrite clamp on around the cable (I know you have QHY but just an idea).
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-06-2018, 03:18 PM
troypiggo's Avatar
troypiggo (Troy)
Bust Duster

troypiggo is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 4,790
Thanks mate. Will look into that too.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-06-2018, 04:22 PM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 17,764
Quote:
Originally Posted by troypiggo View Post
Thanks mate. Will look into that too.
I have one more suggestion. Less asahi, more debugging.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-06-2018, 04:56 PM
troypiggo's Avatar
troypiggo (Troy)
Bust Duster

troypiggo is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 4,790
More Asahi, less care about the black region
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 06:16 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Nitecore
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement