Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Astrophotography and Imaging Equipment and Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 15-07-2017, 03:19 PM
traveller's Avatar
traveller (Bo)
Not enough time and money

traveller is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,110
Help to decipher this error message

Help!
Pulling my hair out figuring out how to set up my EFW. Here is my set up
Hardware: ZWO ASI 1600 mono with a ZWO 7x36mm filter wheel.
Software: ASCOM platform 6.3 (latest), ASI ASCOM camera driver v1.0.2.25 (latest), ZWO EFW ASCOM driver v1.0.0.12 (latest)
Connection: USB3 laptop to Camera, USB2 Camera to EFW.

Problem: Connect camera to program. EFW starts
If I use Sharpcap 2.9 the program says it cannot connect to the EFW, but I can find it and connect it under setup. However it cannot be calibrated. I have tried to set it manually to position 1, but it still runs and returns to random positions and refuse to calibrate (see attached screen shots).

I then tried using Sequence Generator (Pro trial version expired, so using the lite version). The EFW just runs randomly and stops and then runs again.

I tried using the ZWO EFW calibration tool, as per this thread https://zwoug.org/viewtopic.php?f=29...t=filter+wheel
But no luck, the EFW is a possessed zombie.

Anyone else had this issue? I will see if this is any operator issue before I get in touch with Bintel.

Cheers
Bo
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (EFW screnshot.jpg)
173.5 KB34 views
Click for full-size image (EFW screenshot2.jpg)
170.2 KB22 views
Click for full-size image (EFW screenshot3.jpg)
101.8 KB22 views
Click for full-size image (EFW screenshot4.jpg)
196.1 KB25 views

Last edited by traveller; 27-07-2017 at 09:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15-07-2017, 03:31 PM
traveller's Avatar
traveller (Bo)
Not enough time and money

traveller is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,110
I should add that I have tried to power the EFW directly from the laptop.
Powers up fine, tried to calibrate/initailise using the EFW Tool, manually setting to position 1, hit the initailise key, it run and then returns to 75% of position 2 (going towards position 3).
If I manually set to position 1 again, it will return back to the 75% of position 2, if I reposition to a different number (say 4), the it will return to a +75% offset position on the next filter (75% of position 5).
I hope I am making sense.
Anyway, it seems to be a EFW driver issue not recognising it's a 7 position wheel ...
More investigations to be had!
Bo
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15-07-2017, 03:51 PM
Marke's Avatar
Marke (Mark)
Registered User

Marke is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,189
I have same combo what filters are you using I say this as clearance is very tight so make sure nothing is touching and getting stuck inside. Make sure you have latest Ascom maybe uninstall and reinstall. I had a couple small similar issues but reinstalling drivers fixed it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15-07-2017, 05:12 PM
traveller's Avatar
traveller (Bo)
Not enough time and money

traveller is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,110
Thanks Mark.
I am using ZWO filters with their EFW. I know what you mean by the clearance I had to put the split ring under the wheel itself (as opposed to on top of wheel when viewed from the back cover) to give it more clearance.
I will back off the tension on the central retaining nut to see if it gets any better.
Bo
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15-07-2017, 05:34 PM
Marke's Avatar
Marke (Mark)
Registered User

Marke is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,189
I am betting that is your issue there . I swapped my ZWO filters for Astrodon which are thicker but I just have enough clearance still in standard config with the 8 pos wheel
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15-07-2017, 07:38 PM
kens (Ken)
Registered User

kens is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 281
Have you got power to the camera?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15-07-2017, 10:02 PM
traveller's Avatar
traveller (Bo)
Not enough time and money

traveller is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marke View Post
I am betting that is your issue there . I swapped my ZWO filters for Astrodon which are thicker but I just have enough clearance still in standard config with the 8 pos wheel
I backed the tension in the central retaining nut, not much better, still off target and still won't calibrate in Sharp Cap
I may have to give Bintel a call on Monday.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kens View Post
Have you got power to the camera?
Yes, camera is powered through the USB and its own 12v DC power supply.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15-07-2017, 10:36 PM
Marke's Avatar
Marke (Mark)
Registered User

Marke is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,189
Have you put it back to original way it came and tried it could be effecting the position sensor
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15-07-2017, 11:10 PM
barx1963's Avatar
barx1963 (Malcolm)
Bright the hawk's flight

barx1963 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Colac vic
Posts: 3,769
Hey Bo. One thing that occurs to me is that as this is powered entirely by the USB port, have you turned off USB power management in Windows? I used to all sorts of issues with my Atik camera and FW until I did that.

Malcolm
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 16-07-2017, 12:19 AM
traveller's Avatar
traveller (Bo)
Not enough time and money

traveller is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marke View Post
Have you put it back to original way it came and tried it could be effecting the position sensor
I managed to get a small washer and put that between the wheel and the camera side of the filter wheel body. Helped a bit, smooth turning etc, but still cannot calibrate! And Sharpcap won't automatically recognise and I need to find the wheel under setup (which I think is part of the problem!).

Quote:
Originally Posted by barx1963 View Post
Hey Bo. One thing that occurs to me is that as this is powered entirely by the USB port, have you turned off USB power management in Windows? I used to all sorts of issues with my Atik camera and FW until I did that.

Malcolm
Ok, will give that a go and report back!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 16-07-2017, 09:58 PM
traveller's Avatar
traveller (Bo)
Not enough time and money

traveller is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,110
The mystery deepens.
It seem the computer doesn't see the EFW or the built in USB hub of the ASI 1600 camera.
I uninstalled the ASCOM drivers for the camera and EFW and then re-installed them (Ran as Administrator).
But it still doesn't recognise them, either when the EFW is plugged directly into the laptop USB port, or when EFW is plugged into the camera USB hub.
Has anyone else experienced this before?
Thanks
Bo
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (Untitled.jpg)
189.9 KB27 views
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 16-07-2017, 11:11 PM
Atmos's Avatar
Atmos (Colin)
Ultimate Noob

Atmos is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 5,927
It looks like a driver issue, just as a guess.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 16-07-2017, 11:37 PM
Marke's Avatar
Marke (Mark)
Registered User

Marke is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,189
Have you tried a different cable just a thought .
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 17-07-2017, 12:57 PM
billdan's Avatar
billdan (Bill)
Registered User

billdan is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Narangba, SE QLD
Posts: 1,214
I agree with Colin, there is no driver associated with the device.

If you right click on the unknown device as you've shown in device manager. It should pop up a menu and then you can select "update driver". This will launch a hardware wizard to find the driver and you can follow the prompts.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 17-07-2017, 06:49 PM
traveller's Avatar
traveller (Bo)
Not enough time and money

traveller is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,110
Ok, next on the do try list is a different cable, failing that rolling back the driver to an earlier version.
Will report back!
Bo
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 19-07-2017, 10:16 PM
traveller's Avatar
traveller (Bo)
Not enough time and money

traveller is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,110
Another update.
I posted the same thread on CN and Sam from ZWO suggested I update my USB 3.0 controller hub.
So I did and managed to solve one issue, but not the other.
See CN thread here
https://www.cloudynights.com/topic/5...sue/?p=8001415

Bo
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (device manager profile.jpg)
88.9 KB20 views
Click for full-size image (device manager profile updated.jpg)
92.6 KB19 views
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 27-07-2017, 09:53 PM
traveller's Avatar
traveller (Bo)
Not enough time and money

traveller is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,110
Error message under ASCOM

A quick update.
Sam from ZWO has kindly offered me a couple of solutions (trying a new USB3 root hub controller and trying the ZWO EFW Tool).
Unfortunately, none of them make much difference.
I can move the filter wheel, but somehow the programs (Sharp Cap, Images Plus, Sequence Generator) just cannot connect to the EFW.
When I tried to setup the EFW under the ASCOM dialogue window, I get an exception error. I have attached the error message in the attached text doc.
Maybe someone can help me decipher it?
Thanks
Bo
Attached Files
File Type: pdf EFW error message.pdf (121.7 KB, 15 views)
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 28-07-2017, 12:35 AM
luka's Avatar
luka
Unregistered User

luka is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,048
The top of the log tells you that it is trying to add a negative number of rows to the datagridview (table). What is supposed to be in the table?


Did you get the wheel to appear in the Device Manager yet? Are you sure that the unknown device is the filter wheel? Does it go away when you unplug it?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 28-07-2017, 10:21 AM
traveller's Avatar
traveller (Bo)
Not enough time and money

traveller is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,110
Quote:
Originally Posted by luka View Post
The top of the log tells you that it is trying to add a negative number of rows to the datagridview (table). What is supposed to be in the table?

Did you get the wheel to appear in the Device Manager yet? Are you sure that the unknown device is the filter wheel? Does it go away when you unplug it?
I think the table refers to the table of listing of the filters (LRGB etc). So it looks like it's not setting to 0 or a positive number, so that could explain why the EFW cannot be connected or calibrated.

The unknown device remains after I plug in the EFW. In fact the EFW moves the filters when powered through the USB and it continues to move once I disabled the unknown device, so I am safely ruling out the unknown device as the EFW.

So I am beginning think it might be a firmware issue or even try to get a different EFW or different laptop to get to the bottom of it.
Bo
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 28-07-2017, 10:44 AM
redbeard's Avatar
redbeard (Damien)
Registered User

redbeard is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 410
When installing the drivers, did the OS pop up a message that the driver was unsigned or not secure. If so, you'll need a signed driver.

A long shot but seen this before.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 11:57 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Nitecore
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement