#1  
Old 25-01-2019, 11:50 PM
Outcast's Avatar
Outcast (Carlton)
Still a Noob....

Outcast is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cairns, Qld
Posts: 278
Orion SSAG for image capture

I have acquired an Orion SSAG as part of a bundle of astro equipment I picked up locally for a good price.

I have successfully installed it's drivers & PHD2 so, one day I can use it with the little Orion 80mm ST Guidescope & use it for it's intended purpose.

However, I would like to try & use this for some simple mono image capture.. I have researched the hell out of it online & came up with three options:

(a) Fastcap - select QHY camera... doesn't work, doesn't detect camera
(b) Sky Video 2011 - advertises itself as working with SSAG.. doesn't work, doesn't detect camera
(c) QGVideo (QHY5 software as these are the same camera I believe)... doesn't work, doesn't detect camera

Has anyone had any success using this camera for image capture & if so, what program have you used? How did you make it work?

I have read about reflashing the Orion SSAG to make it into a 'real' QHY5 but, can't find any detailed instructions on how to do that & the thought of messing with reflash instills a fair bit of fear into my heart..

Don't want to ruin the camera for it's intended purpose, would just like to wring a little more out of it if possible...

Thanks in advance...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26-01-2019, 12:41 AM
Ukastronomer's Avatar
Ukastronomer (Jeremy)
Registered User

Ukastronomer is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Llandysul, WALES, UK
Posts: 436
You are not alone there are problems with "these" cameras on all forums, I avoided Orion and Meade completely, good luck

GOOGLE "Orion SSAG problems" as I did for forum solutions

https://indilib.org/forum/ccds-dslrs...utoguider.html

Unfortunately it makes a "good price" less so if it was considered part of the deal, if unexpected and not considered then nothing lost
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26-01-2019, 08:19 AM
Outcast's Avatar
Outcast (Carlton)
Still a Noob....

Outcast is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cairns, Qld
Posts: 278
Fortunately, it was just a bonus in the deal... I haven't setup to guide with it yet, I'm a ways from that part of my AP journey. It seems to work fine with PHD2 on Windows 10 (at least Orion have put out a Win10 driver).

It's basically a rebadged QHY5 as I understand it, just has it's own firmware.

I'm just trying to make it do something it wasn't meant to do in it's Orion guise...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ukastronomer View Post
You are not alone there are problems with "these" cameras on all forums, I avoided Orion and Meade completely, good luck

GOOGLE "Orion SSAG problems" as I did for forum solutions

https://indilib.org/forum/ccds-dslrs...utoguider.html

Unfortunately it makes a "good price" less so if it was considered part of the deal, if unexpected and not considered then nothing lost
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26-01-2019, 09:21 AM
Cimitar (Evan)
Evan Morris

Cimitar is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Gunnedah, NSW
Posts: 245
Hi Calton,

I use my Orion SSAG with SharpCap, works a treat

Specifically, I use the polar alignment tool (SharpCap) in combination with the SSAG and my 50mm guide scope. It works surprisingly well considering it's riding piggyback on a Meade LX200 ACF (fork mount, with a wedge).

Cheers, Evan
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26-01-2019, 09:25 AM
Outcast's Avatar
Outcast (Carlton)
Still a Noob....

Outcast is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cairns, Qld
Posts: 278
How did you get Sharpcap to recognise the camera..

I have tried sharpcap but, no success...

There must be some trick I'm missing perhaps.. have you used native Orion SSAG drivers or ASCOM drivers... I currently have Orion drivers loaded & associated with the camera..

Cheers

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cimitar View Post
Hi Calton,

I use my Orion SSAG with SharpCap, works a treat

Specifically, I use the polar alignment tool (SharpCap) in combination with the SSAG and my 50mm guide scope. It works surprisingly well considering it's riding piggyback on a Meade LX200 ACF (fork mount, with a wedge).

Cheers, Evan
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28-01-2019, 01:47 AM
Outcast's Avatar
Outcast (Carlton)
Still a Noob....

Outcast is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cairns, Qld
Posts: 278
It's all good, I found a very old (2015) thread in IIS quite by accident which detailed the procedure for getting this to work using a combination of the native driver & ASCOM in Sharpcap..

It's a little clunky in that there is no native gain control within Sharpcap for the way it's setup.. but, there is a button labelled 'show' which when selected opens up a small ASCOM window with a gain slider, shift the gain control, hit okay & then get an exception error, hit okay to acknowledge & everything just worked & the gain is adjusted.. not perfect but, it works...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28-01-2019, 01:05 PM
NorthernLight's Avatar
NorthernLight (Max)
Settled

NorthernLight is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 313
Hi Carlton, do you mind sharing the link?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28-01-2019, 05:06 PM
Outcast's Avatar
Outcast (Carlton)
Still a Noob....

Outcast is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cairns, Qld
Posts: 278
http://www.iceinspace.com.au/forum/s...d.php?t=136367
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 04:33 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
Advertisement
Interest Free Finance
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement