Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Astrophotography and Imaging Equipment and Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 25-01-2017, 04:44 PM
jwoody's Avatar
jwoody (Jeremy)
Registered User

jwoody is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ormeau Hills, Australia
Posts: 268
Help with QHY9M - sudden change of Gain/Offset

Hello everyone
I have a QHY9S mono camera which I bought new a year or so ago.
I set the gain and offset (14/75) using a method from Craig Stark (I think) and all was good, used the camera for months and months no problems at all.
Then one night I noticed that something was very wrong with my subs. Long story short my Gain and Offset which I had set months ago was now suddenly way off. I re-did the setup and came up with numbers (17/105) that were very different from the originals.
What would cause this? Power supply problems or similar?
Now my images are not good at all, lots of noise and strange pixels.

Trying to troubleshoot the problem to work out if the DC201 power is faulty, the 9 pin cable or the camera itself.
Is the someone near to me (Ormeau Hills Gold Coast/South Brisbane) that I could borrow a power supply and or 9 pin cable from to test?

Thank you for reading, any help appreciated
Jeremy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 26-01-2017, 05:21 PM
diegocolonnello's Avatar
diegocolonnello (Diego)
Breathing Stars

diegocolonnello is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: melbourne, australia
Posts: 251
happened to me, somehow i was using a different version of the ascom driver........

I went back to the driver downloaded from Gamma electronics and everything was perfect again
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27-01-2017, 11:43 PM
billdan's Avatar
billdan (Bill)
Registered User

billdan is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Narangba, SE QLD
Posts: 1,160
Hi Jeremy,
Not sure if this comment is too late and you have already sorted out your problem.
The change in the gain and offset has to do with the EZCAP software going back to probably default settings. The camera doesn't store those settings the capture software does all this (I believe).
The DC201 power supply is only for the TEC controller, it should not have any effect on the gain and offset settings.

The QHY help desk or ticket system is quite good and they respond to problems reasonably quickly. They can give you advise and depending on the problem can also flash upgrade the firmware from China for you.

Cheers
Bill
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28-01-2017, 07:42 AM
jwoody's Avatar
jwoody (Jeremy)
Registered User

jwoody is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ormeau Hills, Australia
Posts: 268
Thanks Diego and Bill
I have tried older drivers Diego but no change unfortunately.

I use APT most of the time Bill which does remember the settings so it wasn't that either but I know what you mean about Ezcap doing this. Flash upgrading the firmware couldn't hurt though.

I am narrowing down the probable cause of all this (I hope!). I seem to have hundreds of hot pixels even after just a 300 sec sub. The TEC is working as confirmed by all the lights being lit on the DC201 and the software (APT,EZCAP) telling me it is sitting at -15c.
I have a new 9 pin cable and dc201 coming (Theo from Gama - top service) just to see if that solves it. If not it will be back to China after their New year.

I originally thought it was to all to do with power. My connection sequence is
USB - 9 pin - 12volt
I am sure (well pretty sure but memory isn't that great) that when I used to connect this way that when the 9 pin went in that all the power lights on the DC201 would come on (apart from TEC obviously). Then when the problem started the -15v did not come on until I then plugged in the 12v plug.
If I go
9 pin - 12volt - USB then the -15v does light up. Maybe this is all happening as it should and it is just my memory playing tricks on me.


It is all a little odd (to me anyway) that all was fine for months then suddenly Gain/Offset needed to be changed which coincided when my troubles started. Something is off and it is bugging me. Sure the hot pixels can be sorted out with Dark frames but that isn't the point.

Thanks again for reading and your help Bill and Diego
Cheers
Jeremy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 06:54 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Interest Free Finance
Advertisement
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement