ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Crescent
2.9%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
11:15 pm
Perth
8:15 pm
Auckland*
1:15 am
New York*
8:15 am
Paris*
2:15 pm
GMT
12:15 pm




Go Back   IceInSpace > General Astronomy > Astronomy and Amateur Science

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 12-10-2017, 11:24 PM
gary
Registered User

gary is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Mt. Kuring-Gai
Posts: 4,629
Bizarre Dwarf Planet Haumea Has Rings

Harrison Tasoff from SPACE.com reports in Scientific American today
on the discovery that the Kuiper Belt dwarf planet Haumea has a ring
system.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harrison Tasoff from SPACE.com
Earlier this year, Haumea passed between Earth and a distant star, allowing planetary scientists to get a better idea of the dwarf planet's shape and size. The new findings were announced today (Oct. 11) in the journal Nature.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harrison Tasoff from SPACE.com
Haumea is not the smallest known object with rings. In 2013, astronomers identified rings around the 188-mile-wide (302 km) asteroid Chariklo, and in 2015, researchers announced that a similar asteroid, Chiron, may have rings as well. Researchers think the two objects, which belong to a group of asteroids known as Centaurs, might also hail from the Kuiper Belt, suggesting that rings may be more common in these objects than scientists previously thought.
Article here :-
https://www.scientificamerican.com/a...mea-has-rings/

Nature paper here :-
http://www.nature.com/articles/natur...icamerican.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13-10-2017, 08:56 AM
rally
Registered User

rally is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 835
Thx Gary.
Fascinating stuff.

Sounds like a very large peanut with a halo !!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 10:15 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement