#601  
Old 22-02-2017, 05:20 PM
luka's Avatar
luka
Unregistered User

luka is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,100
Pat, can you try uninstalling the old driver first from the Windows control panel. Then install the new driver.

Also in APT hold shift while clicking to connect to the camera. This will bring the camera selection dialogue. Somehow there may be more than one version of the driver installed.

Thank you for confirming the Bayer matrix arrangement. The camera driver is reporting it incorrectly but I think APT does not use this information. That's why nobody else noticed it.
Will fix in the next release of the driver.
Reply With Quote
  #602  
Old 22-02-2017, 09:09 PM
luka's Avatar
luka
Unregistered User

luka is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,100
Another thought, the drivers are usually installed in folder
C:\Program Files\Common Files\ASCOM\Camera
(Program Files x86 for the 64-bit systems).
There should be a subfolder Cam86. You can delete this folder and then reinstall the drivers.

And if all fails copy three dll files from the Google Drive/source code/luka/cam86_v0.4L/cam86/bin/Release/ to the folder Cam86 in the above folder with ASCOM drivers. That will overwrite the original files.
Probably restart the computer after this just to make sure the files are registered properly.
Reply With Quote
  #603  
Old 22-02-2017, 09:58 PM
pat30 (Patrice)
Registered User

pat30 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: France
Posts: 119
Nothing works, I do not have a file in ascom I made one with the DLL but it does not work.
I also supressed in the register!
I have windows starter

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_1.png
Views:	9
Size:	11.8 KB
ID:	210489

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2.png
Views:	9
Size:	14.8 KB
ID:	210490

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_3.png
Views:	6
Size:	9.0 KB
ID:	210491
Reply With Quote
  #604  
Old 22-02-2017, 10:00 PM
luka's Avatar
luka
Unregistered User

luka is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by pat30 View Post
the matrix is GRGB
Hi Pat, I could not see GRGB in APT, only GRBG (or GBRG). Did you mean GRBG?


Also ignore my comment about the driver having incorrect Bayer sensor type. I tried fixing it and realised that ASCOM uses RGGB indicating a sensor with a Bayer matrix. It says nothing about the actual arrangement of the matrix.
(The other options are monochrome, colour, CMYG, CMYG2 and LRGB)
Reply With Quote
  #605  
Old 22-02-2017, 10:03 PM
luka's Avatar
luka
Unregistered User

luka is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,100
Almost missed your post as you posted a minute before my post about the Bayer matrix.

Can you:
1. Uninstall the driver
2. Delete the C:\Program Files\Common Files\ASCOM\Camera\Cam86 folder from Program Files and see if you can connect to the camera.
Reply With Quote
  #606  
Old 22-02-2017, 10:23 PM
pat30 (Patrice)
Registered User

pat30 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: France
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by luka View Post
Almost missed your post as you posted a minute before my post about the Bayer matrix.

Can you:
1. Uninstall the driver
2. Delete the C:\Program Files\Common Files\ASCOM\Camera\Cam86 folder from Program Files and see if you can connect to the camera.

I look tonight for the pilot ,.
For the matrix, there is the choice in APT GRGB.

We do not work with the complete matrix that's why I think there is a difference with the datasheet
Reply With Quote
  #607  
Old 22-02-2017, 11:45 PM
luka's Avatar
luka
Unregistered User

luka is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,100
Pat, my APT does not have GRGB, see the attached image. By trial and error I found out that GRBG works, is this what you meant?

Also it is worth noting that GRBG works in DSS. Do not use Nikon D70 profile, Pat is correct to say that we are not using the whole sensor and that the datasheet does not apply any more.

Which stacking software do people use?
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (APT_bayer.png)
11.6 KB16 views
Reply With Quote
  #608  
Old 23-02-2017, 12:26 AM
pat30 (Patrice)
Registered User

pat30 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: France
Posts: 119
Yes, that's right, a thousand excuses for my error.
For stack, I use IRIS, I did not have good result with DSS ( it delete 1 color)
what is you result with DSS ? Not problem ?
Reply With Quote
  #609  
Old 23-02-2017, 01:08 AM
N_DD
Registered User

N_DD is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 33
Hi luka,

hmm, I cannot reproduce the issue indoor... when I was observing this kind of "ghost images", my camera was powered using a battery and the input voltage could have gone below 12 V. Maybe the signla for clearing the CCD wasn't properly generated? I will try and power the camera with my battery this weekend and let you know. I will also try and find some images where the star trails from the slew were evident, but I am not sure that I have kept them.
I can confirm that the right pattern in APT is GRBG.

Nico
Reply With Quote
  #610  
Old 23-02-2017, 02:07 AM
pat30 (Patrice)
Registered User

pat30 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: France
Posts: 119
Luka, that was the problem, we had to delete the file Cam86 in common files .

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #611  
Old 23-02-2017, 02:19 AM
luka's Avatar
luka
Unregistered User

luka is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,100
Patrice, that is great news. By the way, did you ever see any effects of charge accumulation, like Nico has been mentioning?

Also I completely got put on the wrong track with the RGGB that was mentioned in the software source code and only last night I figured out that it did not mean that the matrix was RGGB
So, while I had few nights of data (taken with uncooled cam86) I never managed to process anything properly because of the wrong Bayer matrix information. I just stacked data from Carina nebula with DSS and the resulting image is here. I did not spend much time on it but don't think I am missing any colours. I used the following options:
In RAW/FITS DDP Settings and then in FITS Files I ticked the Monochrome box on the top and then selected the camera as Generic GRBG. The transformation was left as bilinear.

Again, selecting D70 does not work.
Reply With Quote
  #612  
Old 23-02-2017, 04:29 AM
pat30 (Patrice)
Registered User

pat30 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: France
Posts: 119
Strange, I would stay with your DSS settings!

With the original driver, never artifact. I would test with your pilot.

Nico, please post 1 picture to see the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #613  
Old 23-02-2017, 04:41 AM
luka's Avatar
luka
Unregistered User

luka is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,100
Regarding the Bayer matrix, we have a shift of 1 pixel in the Y-direction. The standard D70 sensor is
BG
GR
while we have
GR
BG
That is 1 pixel shift down (or up).
Reply With Quote
  #614  
Old 23-02-2017, 11:10 AM
luka's Avatar
luka
Unregistered User

luka is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,100
Nico, if you still cannot reproduce the problem can you try going back to the original firmware/software and see if it appears there.
Reply With Quote
  #615  
Old 24-02-2017, 07:14 PM
luka's Avatar
luka
Unregistered User

luka is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,100
For the local crowd, here is the link to the French forum about Cam86 and here is the google translation of it. Several people there (including our Pat and Gilles) have built Cam86s and are discussing improvements to it.
Lots of useful info there. Great work
Reply With Quote
  #616  
Old 24-02-2017, 08:20 PM
gehelem (Gilles)
Registered User

gehelem is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Rambouillet - France
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by luka View Post
For the local crowd, here is the link to the French forum about Cam86 and here is the google translation of it. Several people there (including our Pat and Gilles) have built Cam86s and are discussing improvements to it.
Lots of useful info there. Great work
Yes, and we have just openned a new site to share all this information (searching on thses forums is not easy). Pat and I wrote several articles on our work.
It's in french, but any contribution is wellcomed :
https://www.diycam.fr/index.php/fr/
Gilles.
Reply With Quote
  #617  
Old 24-02-2017, 10:32 PM
luka's Avatar
luka
Unregistered User

luka is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,100
I was already reading it in Google Translate Gilles. When I read your section about setting offset/gain I realised that I was doing it incorrectly. Thank you.

How much do gain/offset vary with the ambient temperature? Would, say, 5 degrees C make much difference?
Reply With Quote
  #618  
Old 24-02-2017, 11:00 PM
gehelem (Gilles)
Registered User

gehelem is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Rambouillet - France
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by luka View Post
(...)How much do gain/offset vary with the ambient temperature? Would, say, 5 degrees C make much difference?
I don't know, I let Patrice answer you.
Reply With Quote
  #619  
Old 24-02-2017, 11:10 PM
pat30 (Patrice)
Registered User

pat30 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: France
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by luka View Post
I was already reading it in Google Translate Gilles. When I read your section about setting offset/gain I realised that I was doing it incorrectly. Thank you.

How much do gain/offset vary with the ambient temperature? Would, say, 5 degrees C make much difference?
Luka, thanks for advertising!

I would detail a little more the article for the settings OFFSET and GAIN because it lacks explanations.
I have not yet made any real measurement of the increase of the Offset with the temperature but it is necessary to remember that all the commercial cameras are not adjustable and the manufacturers have factory values between 200 and 1500.
500 it's good !

I would take steps to put on the site!

Last edited by pat30; 25-02-2017 at 08:13 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #620  
Old 25-02-2017, 03:49 AM
gehelem (Gilles)
Registered User

gehelem is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Rambouillet - France
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by luka View Post
I was already reading it in Google Translate(...)
Open source world is marvelous :
i've added gtranslate module to our site, hope it'll help
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 09:20 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement