Old 27-04-2008, 07:57 AM
Ric
Support your local RFS

ISO speeds

Hi all, a quick question.

How are ISO speeds for imaging determined?

I have noticed that some images are taken at ISO 800 while others are at 400, 200 etc.

I can see that there are subtle differences at different speeds but was wondering there are any general rules to follow to start off and then I can experiment from there.

Cheers
Old 27-04-2008, 08:39 AM
shane shaw

g'day mate. I am fairly new to photography especially astro Photography, however I believe that if you think of taking pictures of any subject at night with minimal light that 100 iso is just not going to work very well.

The smaller the F-stop number (or f/value), the larger the lens opening (aperture). this will allow more light in and give the the possibilty of using a lower iso.

So a high apeture (smaller opening) will allow less light in and require a higher iso. Just have to try and get a happy mix of the 2 and you will be fine.

As an example I went to a circus the other night and no flash was allowed and I took some really good photos just changing the iso, apeture and also shutter speed.

good luck I hope I have got it right
Old 27-04-2008, 08:58 AM
Ric
Support your local RFS

Hi Shane and thanks for the explanation.

As a scenario,
if I was imaging for 30 seconds @ f/10 and at a setting of say ISO 600. If I then changed to f/3.3 via a focal reducer I could then take the same 30 second image with a higher ISO speed say ISO 800 for example.

Does that sound right or have I gone off on a tangent.

Cheers
Old 27-04-2008, 09:12 AM
Dennis
Dazzled by the Cosmos.

Hi Ric

Speed is mainly related to the physical size of the “pixel” or “grain” which captures the incoming photon. Small pixels and small grains require a lot of light, but produce nice images with little noise when exposed optimally.