ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Gibbous
73.2%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney
2:39 pm
Perth
12:39 pm
Auckland
4:39 pm
New York*
12:39 am
Paris*
6:39 am
GMT
4:39 am




Go Back   IceInSpace > Images > Deep Space

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21  
Old 15-03-2018, 01:56 PM
furgle (Adam)
Registered User

furgle is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 104
My wife thought I was joking at first when I asked where the beans were.

I thought it was collimated until took the camera off and put the beans on. You can see the difference in this photo. Prior to this, it was collimated just with the laser, no on axis guider, camera weight, etc.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (IMG_7578.JPG)
70.6 KB9 views
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 15-03-2018, 06:00 PM
alpal's Avatar
alpal
Registered User

alpal is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by furgle View Post
Doh. I was hoping it was just my phone that didn't want to show the photos.


Hi Adam,
What a pity,
those photos would have been good to compare your mechanical setup
to see what was really happening.
We live and learn - don't ever use photobucket.

I believe that more expensive RC designs don't put any stress from the focuser
or camera on to the primary mirror.

I am surprised at the marvelous pictures from Paul Haese with his RC12
which is without any serious mechanical modifications,
but then again GSO may have made changes to their design over the years.
From the article I linked in this thread that guy called Doug, was having considerable trouble
but was smart enough to get it all going nicely with some mods.

cheers
Allan
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 02:39 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Atik Horizon
Advertisement
Interest Free Finance
Advertisement
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement