ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Gibbous
73.3%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney
2:51 pm
Perth
12:51 pm
Auckland
4:51 pm
New York*
12:51 am
Paris*
6:51 am
GMT
4:51 am




  #1  
Old 21-02-2018, 07:30 PM
graham.hobart's Avatar
graham.hobart (Graham stevens)
DeepSkySlacker

graham.hobart is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: hobart, tasmania
Posts: 1,936
old imac astro ideas

hey folkers, I have an old 2008 Imac with a great screen but the Apple folkers will not let it be upgraded software wise to newer stuff. I have 10.8.5 and am looking to get some semi decent astronomy/planetarium stuff on it ... no processing or guiding. Just want to use the big screen real estate.
Graz
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21-02-2018, 07:53 PM
lazjen's Avatar
lazjen (Chris)
PI cult member

lazjen is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,523
You might be better off installing a Linux distro on there and then getting access to Stellarium, INDI, ekos, kstars, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21-02-2018, 09:11 PM
OzEclipse's Avatar
OzEclipse (Joe Cali)
Registered User

OzEclipse is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 886
Quote:
Originally Posted by graham.hobart View Post
hey folkers, I have an old 2008 Imac with a great screen but the Apple folkers will not let it be upgraded software wise to newer stuff. I have 10.8.5 and am looking to get some semi decent astronomy/planetarium stuff on it ... no processing or guiding. Just want to use the big screen real estate.
Graz
Graham
Starry night 6 Pro will run on 10.5.8 and higher
Joe
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21-02-2018, 09:15 PM
Wavytone
BigBanger

Wavytone is online now
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Killara, Sydney
Posts: 3,029
Sky Safari should work fine, for a start...

Have you looked in the App Store ? Plenty of astro stuff there.

Linux on a Mac ... no thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21-02-2018, 11:08 PM
rally
Registered User

rally is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 894
If you wanted you could always set it up as a VNC client using the Mac's inbuilt Per User Screen Sharing (available since OSX Lion) and have your new iMac become the server and do all the processing and your old one with the nice screen useful as a workstation - then you will have two fast, lastest version OSX iMacs !
Any of the users logged in this way will have their own complete virtual machine running independently but simultaneously.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22-02-2018, 10:41 AM
Camelopardalis's Avatar
Camelopardalis (Dunk)
Drifting from the pole

Camelopardalis is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 4,287
Yeah you should be able to install later than 10.8 on a 2008 model
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22-02-2018, 10:51 AM
lazjen's Avatar
lazjen (Chris)
PI cult member

lazjen is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wavytone View Post
Linux on a Mac ... no thanks
It would be a huge improvement.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22-02-2018, 10:52 AM
Camelopardalis's Avatar
Camelopardalis (Dunk)
Drifting from the pole

Camelopardalis is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 4,287
On that age of Mac, it really wouldn’t
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 02:51 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Atik Horizon
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Advertisement
Interest Free Finance
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement