#1  
Old 27-10-2007, 11:45 AM
EzyStyles's Avatar
EzyStyles (Eric)
I HATE COMA!

EzyStyles is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Posts: 3,208
Change of plans....

Hi Guys,

I have changed my plans and stick to getting a 350DA instead of a Hutech 40D... ive been thinking heaps lately and have done some research. This is what ive conclude:

- I have all the software which supports the 350D to capture and focus

- Much cheaper

- Noise is less on the 350D than a 400D

- 350D is light weight

- Shoestring DSUSB only supports the 300/350D/20D (Shutter Control via computer). Have to purchase a remote on the 40D to capture. (About $150-$200 for remote)

- I don't really take enough terrestrial images to get a decent DSLR such as the 40d

so there you have it. here comes the 350D with the baader UV/IR filter. The most off putting is not being able to take automated images via the computer as well as the lack of compatibility and support with software for the 40D. Maybe later when there are more software available for the 40d.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27-10-2007, 12:42 PM
iceman's Avatar
iceman (Mike)
Sir Post a Lot!

iceman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Gosford, NSW, Australia
Posts: 36,709
What about a cooled 350DA? Even better!?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27-10-2007, 02:20 PM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is online now
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 30,540
yun has discontinued those - but he could do one ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27-10-2007, 02:29 PM
EzyStyles's Avatar
EzyStyles (Eric)
I HATE COMA!

EzyStyles is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Posts: 3,208
yes, yun have discontinued the 350D. currently doing th 400D. im sure he can get the 350D modified if you send him one. It won't be one from yuns unfortunately, just can't afford that atm.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27-10-2007, 02:39 PM
mrsnipey's Avatar
mrsnipey
Verified Astronomy Noob

mrsnipey is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Corinda, Australia
Posts: 199
Hi Eric,
Have you tried E-bay. I just had a look and the remote controls for the
350D and 400D are pretty cheap. I don't know if they do everything you
want but it's worth a look.

Btw, I am in awe of your photos. Keep up the excellent work.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27-10-2007, 04:40 PM
Garyh's Avatar
Garyh
Amongst the stars

Garyh is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Glen Innes, N.S.W.
Posts: 2,839
Good stuff Eric! old boy!!...
But why didn`t you keep your 350D and get that modded?
I will be getting my shoestring shutter control and autoguide interface soon so I can understand the need to have that work with the camera, But I would be sure if you bought a cheap remote for a 40D and cut off the plug you should be able to wire it up to it like the 20D and 30D.
Have to look into the sort of plug/socket the 40D has?
cheers Gary
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28-10-2007, 02:34 PM
leon's Avatar
leon
Registered User

leon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ballarat
Posts: 10,788
With everything you mentioned, considered, Eric, I reckon you made the right choice.

Leon
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28-10-2007, 05:55 PM
dugnsuz's Avatar
dugnsuz (Doug)
to baldly go...

dugnsuz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hahndorf, South Australia
Posts: 4,200
Quote:
Originally Posted by EzyStyles View Post
Hi Guys,
Have to purchase a remote on the 40D to capture. (About $150-$200 for remote)

The most off putting is not being able to take automated images via the computer as well as the lack of compatibility and support with software for the 40D. Maybe later when there are more software available for the 40d.
Hi Eric,
You can run the 40D from the computer via the EOS Utility Software that comes bundled with the camera - you can control all camera functions and setup a series of automated images to be taken too of any exposure length in bulb mode.
The LiveView function can be accessed through the EOS Utility software too - no need for DSLR Focus!
Images download from the camera very quickly via USB2.0 for instant feedback too.
All the best
Doug
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 30-10-2007, 10:53 AM
EzyStyles's Avatar
EzyStyles (Eric)
I HATE COMA!

EzyStyles is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Posts: 3,208
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garyh View Post
Good stuff Eric! old boy!!...
But why didn`t you keep your 350D and get that modded?
I will be getting my shoestring shutter control and autoguide interface soon so I can understand the need to have that work with the camera, But I would be sure if you bought a cheap remote for a 40D and cut off the plug you should be able to wire it up to it like the 20D and 30D.
Have to look into the sort of plug/socket the 40D has?
cheers Gary
I can never decide or make up my mind even now.. to get the 350d modded with a baader uv/ir filter from eg: david burrens, $460. the remote socket plug on the 40d is completely different to a 350d hence i have no idea where to start to rewire it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 30-10-2007, 10:55 AM
EzyStyles's Avatar
EzyStyles (Eric)
I HATE COMA!

EzyStyles is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Posts: 3,208
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrsnipey View Post
Hi Eric,
Have you tried E-bay. I just had a look and the remote controls for the
350D and 400D are pretty cheap. I don't know if they do everything you
want but it's worth a look.

Btw, I am in awe of your photos. Keep up the excellent work.
Cheers mrsnipey . Thanks. have looked around ebay they are decent prices.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 30-10-2007, 10:56 AM
EzyStyles's Avatar
EzyStyles (Eric)
I HATE COMA!

EzyStyles is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Melbourne, Victoria
Posts: 3,208
Quote:
Originally Posted by dugnsuz View Post
Hi Eric,
You can run the 40D from the computer via the EOS Utility Software that comes bundled with the camera - you can control all camera functions and setup a series of automated images to be taken too of any exposure length in bulb mode.
The LiveView function can be accessed through the EOS Utility software too - no need for DSLR Focus!
Images download from the camera very quickly via USB2.0 for instant feedback too.
All the best
Doug

oh no don't tell me that now doug... ... hmmmmmm..... you damn convinced me back lol
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 30-10-2007, 11:29 AM
dugnsuz's Avatar
dugnsuz (Doug)
to baldly go...

dugnsuz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hahndorf, South Australia
Posts: 4,200
Quote:
Originally Posted by EzyStyles View Post
oh no don't tell me that now doug... ... hmmmmmm..... you damn convinced me back lol
The 40D's got it all going on baby!!!!

Eric I could send you a pdf of the EOS Utility manual if you want so that you can look at the functions provided for the 40D.
PM me your email address - it's a 5.2Mb file
Doug
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 30-10-2007, 11:53 AM
dugnsuz's Avatar
dugnsuz (Doug)
to baldly go...

dugnsuz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hahndorf, South Australia
Posts: 4,200
Sent it to your hotmail address Eric
Cheers
Doug
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 30-10-2007, 12:04 PM
DJDD
Registered User

DJDD is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 936
Quote:
Originally Posted by dugnsuz View Post
The 40D's got it all going on baby!!!!

Doug
OT: Doug, your shot of 47 Tucanae with the 40D + new mount is spectacular.

cheers,
DJDD
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 30-10-2007, 12:37 PM
dugnsuz's Avatar
dugnsuz (Doug)
to baldly go...

dugnsuz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hahndorf, South Australia
Posts: 4,200
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJDD View Post
OT: Doug, your shot of 47 Tucanae with the 40D + new mount is spectacular.

cheers,
DJDD
Thanks a lot DJDD
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 30-10-2007, 12:47 PM
Dennis
Dazzled by the Cosmos.

Dennis is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 10,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by EzyStyles View Post
the remote socket plug on the 40d is completely different to a 350d hence i have no idea where to start to rewire it.
Hi Eric

I modified (non-destructive) the Canon TC-80N3 Timer to also use it on my Pentax *istDS, until I pluck up the courage, and funds, to buy a 40D. Therefore, I assume a similar mod would make it work with a 350D?

Here is the "how to" link.

Cheers

Dennis
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 30-10-2007, 07:25 PM
ozstockman (Mike)
Registered User

ozstockman is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kenmore Hills, Brisbane, QLD
Posts: 392
Hi Eric,

about a camera remote control for 350D/400D. Look at this one. It works through walls even 20 meters away from a camera and it supports bulb mode.

I've bought it with some ideas in my mind to modify its sender to be able to connect it with serial camera control adapter. The whole idea is to build wireless control via PC software and eliminate the need of using a cable fot it.

Unfortunately during a test of this modification I realised that it's not just as simple as connecting cables running from serial adapter to a switch of RC sender and I put this project on hold for a while. However I'm pretty sure it can be done and I keep looking among my friends to find the one who has enough skills to help me this.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 07:26 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement