Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Equipment Discussions
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 24-06-2014, 01:26 PM
Mountain_Wanderer

Skywatcher Heritage 5 inch Dobsonian telescope

Hi everyone,

I'm a beginner on a budget and am looking to get my first telescope.

My search has taken me to the Skywatcher Heritage 5 inch Dobsonian telescope.

It's cheap, compact and should be easy to use.

Can I please get your thoughts on it if you have managed to use/own one?

The aperature is 5 inches which I feel is the minimum I'd need to see the main deep sky objects at a decent level of detail. Is that true? Can 5 inches get a decent view of the wonders of the deep sky?

Any other comments are welcome?

Scope is currently for sale at OzScopes for $269. How long do the OzScopes sales usually last?

Thanks.
Old 24-06-2014, 01:57 PM
Monstar (Johnny)

I've got this and it's a great little scope. If you haven't used a scope before the views of the moon are terrific, Jupiter with bands and moons, Saturn and it's rings, Messiers and other DSOs notching up. It performs brilliantly for its size, just be realistic and remember it is only 5 and a bit inches.

Generally we'll put together apart from the focusser being a bit sloppy. This can be easily fixed with plumbers tape but this has to be replaced around every 3-4 sessions. The provided eyepieces are OK until you can better.

Also remember that it is low and you'll need a platform for it (unless you want to sit on the ground). On my balcony or in the garden is fine as you can use a table but you'll have to rethink this before going to a dark site. I use a stool for it and have also been looking at maybe adapting the cats scratching pole which has a wide base and top, I don't know how the cat will take that though.

But I personally love the scope and would definitely recommend it if you can't get an 8" or bigger.