ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Gibbous
84.2%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney
11:00 am
Perth
9:00 am
Auckland
1:00 pm
New York*
9:00 pm
Paris*
3:00 am
GMT
1:00 am




Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Software and Computers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 14-03-2018, 12:50 PM
LewisM's Avatar
LewisM
Novichok test rabbit

LewisM is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Somewhere in the cosmos...
Posts: 7,802
P.I batch pre-processing script

Been using batch pre-processing on all my photos lately, and revisions of older ones. Went to redo my Running Chook, and I get a fatal error of "Insufficient signal" or somesuch with a query of "Blank frame?" at the end.

Now, CCDStack has nil problem seeing stars to register in the image, as they are 600 sec exposures. Nor does PI stand-alone registration algorithm. But the Batch script just can't see these lights (even if I load scaled versions).

Any ideas? I've had it do it before too with some subs, whereas no stretch or even a simple stretch shows abundant stars.

I'm lazy - I like the batch preprocessing script, instead of doing 4 seperate steps (debayer, calibrate, register, integrate)

Last edited by LewisM; 14-03-2018 at 02:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14-03-2018, 01:06 PM
Atmos's Avatar
Atmos (Colin)
Ultimate Noob

Atmos is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 5,253
All that comes to mind is that the Darks are causing an issue where they’re WAY over correcting and removing stars.

What are the calibrated subs looking like?

I started off using the BPPS but I found I was getting better results doing it manually.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14-03-2018, 01:09 PM
RickS's Avatar
RickS (Rick)
PI cult recruiter

RickS is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 9,780
Have you checked the calibrated version of the files, Lewis? That can happen when calibration goes wrong and truncates data in an image.

For a problem like that I'd run BPP with Calibrate Only ticked, check the results look OK, and then run StarAlignment manually and tweak settings if needed.

I've rarely needed to adjust the StarAlignment settings but I have heard of cases where it was necessary to adjust Noise Reduction or other Star Detection parameters.

Cheers,
Rick.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14-03-2018, 02:33 PM
LewisM's Avatar
LewisM
Novichok test rabbit

LewisM is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Somewhere in the cosmos...
Posts: 7,802
I shouldn’t think the darks are truncating as these were done the same night as the data but you never know. Maybe the flats?

Anyway, I’ll keep fiddling with it. What I like about the batch preprocess is it seems to remove the colour botching of this OSC better than manually and definitely better than CCDStack
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 11:00 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Interest Free Finance
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Atik Horizon
Advertisement
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Advertisement
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement