ANZAC Day
Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Equipment Discussions
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 25-03-2015, 12:00 PM
Akwestland (Andrew and Kim)
Andrew and Kim

EQ6 Pro Mount

I am the proud father to an EQ6 Pro mount. I purchased it off the IIS classifieds. I am very happy so far, these surely appear to be a very solid mount to enable some good stable viewing.

I do have a question though, I am no electrician. I have a 240V 2.5A center positive AC adaptor. Is that suitable for use. I have read the specs in the manual but it gives very little tech spec when it comes to the power requirements.

I have not powered the mount yet as I need to make sure that this wont be a problem. I am though eager to power it up and to start learning how to use it.

Thanks in advance for any advice (again).
Cheers,
Andrew.
Old 25-03-2015, 12:10 PM
killswitch (Edison)

EQ6 require DC power (12-15v) and can draw up to 4A

Do NOT use an adaptor that outputs 240v.

You need something like this http://www.jaycar.com.au/p/MP3575
Old 25-03-2015, 12:19 PM
Andrew and Kim

Killswitch,

Sorry I omitted one vital part. The output of the adapter is 12V.

I would not have used anything with an output of 240V, if I did then maybe my eyes really would light up lol.

My question was mainly at the amperage draw on these units.

Cheers,
Andrew.
Old 25-03-2015, 12:23 PM
killswitch (Edison)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akwestland View Post
Killswitch,

Sorry I omitted one vital part. The output of the adapter is 12V.

I would not have used anything with an output of 240V, if I did then maybe my eyes really would light up lol.

My question was mainly at the amperage draw on these units.

Cheers,
Andrew.
lol good to hear theres no fireworks.

The EQ6 uses about 2A at full slew and less than 1A when tracking. A 2.5A adapter should be enough but cutting it a bit close.
Old 25-03-2015, 12:38 PM
Andrew and Kim

Edison,