ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Crescent
29%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
7:59 pm
Perth
4:59 pm
Auckland*
9:59 pm
New York
3:59 am
Paris
9:59 am
GMT
8:59 am




  #1  
Old 13-10-2017, 09:58 AM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 15,781
Thumbs up 100,000 Stars

Cool bit of visualisation.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13-10-2017, 10:21 AM
FlashDrive's Avatar
FlashDrive (Col)
Senior Citizen

FlashDrive is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Brisbane North
Posts: 3,288
Very Cool .... ... Amazing
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13-10-2017, 11:45 AM
N1 (Mirko)
Registered User

N1 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Dunners Nu Zuland
Posts: 855
This is a great visualisation. I expect some bugs will still need to be ironed out. It does suggest we are inside a globular cluster, but that's not really the case, is it?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13-10-2017, 11:49 AM
Shano592's Avatar
Shano592 (Shane)
#6363

Shano592 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Central Coast NSW
Posts: 1,055
Bookmarked.

I just lost 20 minutes reading about a bunch of stars. If I don't stop now, I won't get any work done.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13-10-2017, 11:53 AM
multiweb's Avatar
multiweb (Marc)
ze frogginator

multiweb is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hinchinbrook
Posts: 15,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by N1 View Post
This is a great visualisation. I expect some bugs will still need to be ironed out. It does suggest we are inside a globular cluster, but that's not really the case, is it?
I think it's just an illusion. Must be the stars in the volume within a given radius from our solar system.

In the same concept there's a good satellite 3D vis around earth.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13-10-2017, 11:54 AM
el_draco's Avatar
el_draco (Rom)
Politically incorrect.

el_draco is online now
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tasmania (South end)
Posts: 2,176
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shano592 View Post
Bookmarked.

I just lost 20 minutes reading about a bunch of stars. If I don't stop now, I won't get any work done.
hehehe.... I'm on holiday
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13-10-2017, 11:56 AM
ZeroID's Avatar
ZeroID (Brent)
Lost in Space ....

ZeroID is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 4,698
Woah ! Too cool
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13-10-2017, 12:06 PM
leon's Avatar
leon
Registered User

leon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ballarat
Posts: 10,157
That is excellent indeed, but i noticed another one in the left bottom corner, so it is 100,001 na just mucking around. good stuff

Leon
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13-10-2017, 01:09 PM
RickS's Avatar
RickS (Rick)
PI cult recruiter

RickS is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 9,147
Cool, indeed
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 13-10-2017, 03:23 PM
kittenshark (Cheryl-Ann Tan)
Registered User

kittenshark is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: South brisbane
Posts: 183
Woah that's trippy....
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 13-10-2017, 03:40 PM
CJ's Avatar
CJ (Chris)
Registered User

CJ is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Woombye, SE Qld, Australia
Posts: 561
Brilliant! Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 13-10-2017, 10:27 PM
RobF's Avatar
RobF (Rob)
Mostly harmless...

RobF is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 5,280
Amazing. Great find Marc!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 14-10-2017, 08:33 AM
Ric's Avatar
Ric
Support your local RFS

Ric is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Wamboin NSW
Posts: 12,352
Very cool indeed.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 06:59 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Esprit
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement