#1  
Old 21-07-2019, 04:00 PM
pjphilli (Peter)
Registered User

pjphilli is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Thornleigh Sydney
Posts: 602
Synscan Problem

For some years I have been running SynScan firmware Version V0327EQ.ssf on my HEQ 5 Pro Mount. I have tried other versions of the paddle firmware but the above has appeared the most satisfactory for my application.
However, it has one problem. When I go to a guide star it invariably requires some movement to centre it. This is a deadly slow procedure when confined to the"normal" slew rate of 2. The SynScan manual (page 6) states "the slewing speed can be adjusted by pressing on the RATE botton. Then choose a number between 0 (slowest) to 9 (fastest)." Very nice, but it has never worked. Can anyone throw some light on this or perhaps suggest another EQ SynScan firmware version where this facility does work?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21-07-2019, 06:12 PM
Malcolm
Registered User

Malcolm is offline
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Lismore NSW Australia
Posts: 201
Probably not a lot of help to you but I ditched using the handset long ago and switched to WiFi. Synscan app and SkySafari. Much easier to use.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21-07-2019, 06:27 PM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,235
Peter
Ive used Synscan version 4.37.03 on my HEQ5 mount for over 2 years without any issue including changing slew rates
Make sure you press enter after selecting a number (slew rate )
I also have a later version on my EQ6-R and another version on my 12Ē Goto Az Alt dob with again no issue changing slew rates
I only use the handcontroller on my EQ mounts for polar alignment. After that I unplug it and connect EQMOD and Stellarium for Goto and tracking , works so well and so accurate
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21-07-2019, 06:54 PM
Merlin66's Avatar
Merlin66 (Ken)
Spectroscopy Wizard

Merlin66 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: St Leonards, Vic
Posts: 6,812
Peter,
I also use V3.27 on both my HEQ5 and NEQ6. Iíve had no issues over the past five years or so.
The slew rate changes for me as per the Manual......
Trying to think of a reason why it doesnít work for you......
I assume you have a good power source and no flashing red light.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22-07-2019, 08:24 AM
pjphilli (Peter)
Registered User

pjphilli is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Thornleigh Sydney
Posts: 602
Thanks for these replies.I have been using SynScan for several years but only recently learned about the way to change the slewing rate.
Malcolm
I only use the paddle for centering/selecting the initial alignment star and then move to my Starry Night on screen star chart to do subsequent star hops and alignments.
Martin
I have a feeling that I am making a simple (stupid?) mistake in trying to change the slew rate. Just to get is straight I HIT AND HOLD THE RATE BUTTON WHILE SELECTING THE REQUIRED SLEWING RATE NUMBER. I ONLY HIT THE SELECT BUTTON WHEN THE ALIGNMENT STAR IS CENTERED - THE PADDLE THEN INDICATES "ALIGNMENT SUCCESSFUL"? Is this the correct procedure?
Ken
I am also puzzled by my failure to achieve this simple step. The V03.27EQ.ssf firmware is pretty simple and I have reloaded it to no effect. My power supply is good and no flashing red lights etc. Of course I have checked the scope mechanics/balance, polar alignment and entered the correct location, date, time, etc into the paddle. I may now try some other paddle firmwares to see whether my problem haunts me!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22-07-2019, 09:12 AM
TwistedRider (Drew)
Registered User

TwistedRider is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 100
Hi Peter,

The GOTO on my dob may be different as it's not EQ, but still with the paddle.

To change slew rate exactly what you describe:

1: Press and release the rate button,
2: Select the number for the rate you need

Mine works immediately with no further key press

3: Move target into view and then press enter to confirm alignment


Hope you get it sorted.

Last edited by TwistedRider; 22-07-2019 at 09:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22-07-2019, 09:15 AM
Nikolas's Avatar
Nikolas (Nik)
Dazed and confused

Nikolas is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,150
Definitely user error there, it's very simple. Apart from the slew rates when the thing is going through alignment in order to change the slew rate, press 2 then then press the slew number ie either 123456789 then enter
Slew rate is then changed to the required slew rate.
No need to do anything else in order to change slew rates.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22-07-2019, 09:21 AM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,235
Correct procedure Nick for both EQ and Az Alt Synscan !!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 22-07-2019, 11:02 AM
Rainmaker
Registered User

Rainmaker is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Canberra
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwistedRider View Post
...

To change slew rate exactly what you describe:

1: Press and release the rate button,
2: Select the number for the rate you need

Mine works immediately with no further key press No need to press Enter afterwards

3: Move target into view and then press enter to confirm alignment


...
Mine too
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22-07-2019, 04:03 PM
pjphilli (Peter)
Registered User

pjphilli is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Thornleigh Sydney
Posts: 602
Thanks everyone for your assistance. What would I do without IceInSpace!
I have just been out and done a dummy run with my gear. I can now select the rate that I want. Somehow, I had become obsessed with the thought that the RATE button had to be held down whilst selecting a speed button. Wrong - yes I know!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 22-07-2019, 04:49 PM
TwistedRider (Drew)
Registered User

TwistedRider is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 100
Good to hear!

Happy slewing.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 22-07-2019, 05:46 PM
Startrek (Martin)
Registered User

Startrek is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,235
Peter
Glad your issue is resolved and your up and running !!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 09:54 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement