Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 27-07-2016, 09:17 PM
Lumpy (Stuart)

New Member From Gippsland

Hi there,

I'm Stuart from Sale, Vic.

I've had a passing interest in astronomy for a long time. I'm a keen hunter and I love the outdoors. When away on hunting trips I look at the night sky and think how amazing it is. I've found the whole thing overwhelming with so much to learn and so little time.

I've bitten the bullet and decided to put some time aside to further my knowledge of the night sky. After a bit of a search I came across this forum.

I'm looking for a club in the Gippsland area. I have found links to the Astronomical Societies of East Gippsland and Latrobe Valley websites but the websites don't exist. If the clubs are still running I'm interested paying them a visit.

I'm new to this thing called a forum too...
Old 28-07-2016, 06:28 AM
steve.garner (Stephen)

Welcome - i'm also fairly new but they are a really friendly and helpful bunch on here.
Old 28-07-2016, 09:23 AM
sharptrack2 (Kevin)

Welcome!

Stuart!

As a hunter, I'm sure you have a pair of binoculars, is a great way to start learning your way around the night sky.

There are a couple of Sticky threads at the top of the Beginners Start Here topic, one on binos and the other on free start charts. Great reads and very informative. You'll find lots of Sticky threads in ever main topic that will answer most of your questions at the start.

Good luck with finding the Astro groups you are looking for, I'm much farther north so am not familiar with them directly. There is a big group of IIS'ers down that way that will certainly know how to help you.

Again welcome and clear skies!
Old 28-07-2016, 12:42 PM
mjarred4 (Mark)

Latrobe Valley Astro

Hi Stuart

I am a new member to IIS also, re your search for an Astro Society, the Latrobe Valley Astro Society is alive and well.

You can find their website here: www.lvastro.org