Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk

Old 14-02-2015, 12:39 AM
aiesh_kaul (Jimmy)

Best book for Astronomy in Australia?

Hi Everebody,

I am new to astronomy and looking for a good book to start with, which gives a step by step guidance to navigate the southern night sky. I have come across the following over the internet:

1. Astronomy 2015 Australia
2. Australian Backyard Astronomy
3. Atlas of the Southern Night Sky

Could you please suggest which one of these is a good one or if you know any other better option please let me know.

Thanks,
Jimmy
Old 14-02-2015, 07:51 AM
CJ (Chris)

Hi Jimmy
Atlas of the Southern Night Sky is the only one I have from your list but I will say I think it is great book. Good photos, loads of info about allsorts of aspects of astronomy. And for those of us with poor reading vision, decent size text.
But, it is a bit of a coffee table book. It's a big and heavy hardback.
I read mine from the comfort of my sofa!
Cheers
Old 14-02-2015, 02:35 PM
madwayne (Wayne)

Hi Jimmy

I'm like Chris, I have the Atlas of the Southern Night Sky and love it. It is a big heavy book, too big for the field in my opinion but very useful for planning.

For the field I would recommend the pocket sky atlas. Pages have a plastic coating and it is coil bound so you can just have one page open without destroying the book. It has enough bright stuff to keep you busy but also some more dim and challenging objects for that something extra. I bought mine at Bintel a few years ago.

You can't have enough books on astronomy. I also have and recommend the Messier Atlas and Astrometria 2000. Makes birthdays and Xmas very easy for your family .

Wayne
Old 14-02-2015, 05:48 PM
SkyWatch (Dean)

Hi Jimmy,
I believe "Australian Backyard Astronomy" is aimed at a young audience, probably not what you are after.