Go Back   IceInSpace > Beginners Start Here > Beginners Talk
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average.
Old 28-01-2015, 03:32 PM
Visionary (David)

Refractors

I am a newbie as far as astronomy is concerned. I have read widely about scopes and the strengths and weakness of refractors v reflectors arising from this reading it seems that a 130mm refractor is roughly the equivalent of a 12" reflector in terms of image quality. Is this a correct interpretation of the rough/relative comparison between the image quality of refractors v reflectors. Or is it a result of my miss reading the relativised comparison between the two types?
Again from what I have read, I would much prefer to lug a 6" refractor around, rather than a 12" reflector.
Old 28-01-2015, 03:48 PM
pluto (Hugh)
Astro Noob

Hi David and

I'll leave the details to those more experienced than I but it's not as simple as that. Scopes of all types can vary greatly in quality and the quality of the views they produce. Your choice of scope depends heavily on the type of observing or imaging you want to do.

It might be worth having a read through some of the past threads on here regarding glass vs mirrors:
http://www.iceinspace.com.au/index.p...C0%2C1%2C0%2C0
Old 28-01-2015, 03:54 PM
brian nordstrom (As avatar)

I am a refractor kind of guy , see my sig , anyway there is a lot of plusses and minuses on both a refractor and a reflector ,
-'s on the frak , is CA ( unfocused colour on bright objects) , to get colour free you need an APO and here lies
-#2 , COST !!! an APO over 100mm or so gets very expensive and at the 6 inch size you are looking at 8-10k OTA alone , this brings us to
-#3 a Mount , to mount a 6 inch refractor you need a BIG ! mount , so in reality a 12 inch Dob is probably easier to lug around and set up true .