#761  
Old 09-04-2017, 11:34 PM
luka's Avatar
luka
Unregistered User

luka is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,142
In parasitic mode you can power the sensor using the data line (the Vin pin on the sensor is grounded). This way you can run the sensor with only one wire (+ GND). The sensor basically "sucks up and buffers" enough power from the data line to measure temperature and return a reading. It does not work too well on long wires and/or if the power is not that great.

By the way, I just rewired the sensor the "classic" way and it works fine.
The DHT22 and the TEC work fine as well .
Reply With Quote
  #762  
Old 24-04-2017, 02:00 AM
pat30 (Patrice)
Registered User

pat30 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: France
Posts: 119
Hello friends,

Last night I tested the version 0.7L, everything is OK no bug found, thank you again for the work LUKA.

Click image for larger version

Name:	m106.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	36.0 KB
ID:	212918
Reply With Quote
  #763  
Old 28-04-2017, 06:09 PM
luka's Avatar
luka
Unregistered User

luka is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,142
That is a very nice image Patrice. Thank you for testing the driver.

I have sent the driver to Vakulenko several weeks ago as he wanted to add it to his github instead of having two separate codes. As far as I can see he uploaded the firmware, the low level driver and the viewer source code but not my ASCOM driver. Not sure what is going on there.
Reply With Quote
  #764  
Old 05-05-2017, 07:12 PM
luka's Avatar
luka
Unregistered User

luka is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,142
Is everybody's DHT22 working OK? Did you compare the readings with any other humidity sensors?

I started to test my camera again and it is incorrectly showing 20% humidity while it should be about 50%. The sensor is almost new so I am not sure if it broken or there is something wrong with the software.

Also while speaking of DHT22, the stated accuracy of +-2% is only for humidity over above 20%. It gets as bad as +-5% below 20% humidity. Very inaccurate for our purpose.
Also these sensors are notorious for breaking. Apparently most last less than 1-2 years.


I am looking into BME280 sensors now... +-3% accuracy across the whole range.
Reply With Quote
  #765  
Old 05-05-2017, 07:31 PM
gehelem (Gilles)
Registered User

gehelem is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Rambouillet - France
Posts: 112
hi
mine is working, but you're right, we don't have to expect more than it can do...
Comparison with another humidity sensor : nope
Comparison with another temp senor : yep
in fact, it's still interesting and gives an indication. When you open your camera for some reason, you can see if you close it well or not.
you can also be warned if your humidity sudenly raises.
I think if you consider there are only 4 values ("Good" "Bad" "Better" "Worse"), it does the job.
Gilles.
Reply With Quote
  #766  
Old 05-05-2017, 07:37 PM
luka's Avatar
luka
Unregistered User

luka is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,142
Swapped the sensor, the new one shows 55% humidity. The temperature readings are the same.
So the new sensor is broken :-(
Reply With Quote
  #767  
Old 05-05-2017, 07:41 PM
gehelem (Gilles)
Registered User

gehelem is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Rambouillet - France
Posts: 112
BTW :
Quote:
Originally Posted by luka View Post
(...)Not sure what is going on there.
no news ?
Reply With Quote
  #768  
Old 05-05-2017, 08:36 PM
luka's Avatar
luka
Unregistered User

luka is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,142
I have not heard anything from Vakulenko. He pushed all the code to his github apart from my ASCOM driver 2 months ago and there was nothing since then.
Reply With Quote
  #769  
Old 09-05-2017, 10:38 AM
perdrix (David)
Registered User

perdrix is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Kenilworth, UK
Posts: 5
Hi Bren,

Long time since this thread was last active.

What's the current state of play? Particularly interested in the cooling setup.

Cheers, Dave
Reply With Quote
  #770  
Old 10-05-2017, 09:40 PM
gehelem (Gilles)
Registered User

gehelem is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Rambouillet - France
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by perdrix View Post
Hi Bren,

Long time since this thread was last active.

What's the current state of play? Particularly interested in the cooling setup.

Cheers, Dave
Hi Dave,

I can't say, but i'm sure Brendan and Luka are working hard on their setup
On my side (in France) this project is more than ever living, the boxing part is really the hard one.
You can follow our french forum if you want :
http://www.webastro.net/forum/showthread.php?t=141764
Or find information we've tried to gather here (you can easily use the "google translate" button on top) :
https://www.diycam.fr/index.php/fr/
It contains some informations regarding TEC cooling
Gilles.
Reply With Quote
  #771  
Old 10-05-2017, 09:43 PM
gehelem (Gilles)
Registered User

gehelem is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Rambouillet - France
Posts: 112
@Brendan,Luka

I've added an article to show how to use Excel to make automated cooling tests :
https://www.diycam.fr/index.php/fr/1...ure-avec-excel

Gilles

Last edited by gehelem; 10-05-2017 at 10:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #772  
Old 11-05-2017, 09:21 AM
flolic (Filip)
Registered User

flolic is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Split, Croatia
Posts: 48
Too many things to do, too little time...
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (cam86_housing_1.jpg)
100.2 KB45 views
Click for full-size image (cam86_housing_2.jpg)
112.0 KB46 views
Click for full-size image (cam86_housing_3.jpg)
154.5 KB44 views
Reply With Quote
  #773  
Old 12-05-2017, 01:46 AM
pat30 (Patrice)
Registered User

pat30 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: France
Posts: 119
I like your work, excellent
Reply With Quote
  #774  
Old 17-05-2017, 02:15 PM
pat30 (Patrice)
Registered User

pat30 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: France
Posts: 119
Flolic, how did you dry the air between the sensor and the window when you removed the matrix ?
Reply With Quote
  #775  
Old 18-05-2017, 08:18 PM
flolic (Filip)
Registered User

flolic is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Split, Croatia
Posts: 48
I did not
That day air humidity was quite low, and I hope for the best.

My debayered Canon 450D sensor is resealed the same way without any bad effects when cooled.
Reply With Quote
  #776  
Old 19-05-2017, 03:12 PM
wasyoungonce's Avatar
wasyoungonce (Brendan)
Certified Village Idiot

wasyoungonce is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mexico city (Melb), Australia
Posts: 2,313
Long time no post...so forgive me.

I Have a cam86 PCB ready dark test etc all good. Took some time fixed some vertical noise with was DD11 capacitors again.

Anyway I've identified the issue and tacked on a 200uf 25V cap on DD11 output. No more dark noise.

Anyway I wanted to optically test this PCB. Bearing in mind I have no ability to mount it or fix a lens to it atm. So I was thinking a pin hole camera test...anyone done this? Any tricks?

Edit:
Oh meant to say...I had vertical stripes across my darks, removing 2 of DD11 caps doubled the number of these stripes. Placing a 220uf 25V on DD11 out...fixed. I've seen it written vertical stripes on the left are DD11 capacitor issue. Well yes...even vertical stripe noise across the sensor is also an issue with these caps. FWIW.
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (0ms dark sensor fitted 2.jpg)
134.9 KB25 views
Click for full-size image (0ms dark DD8 caps changed.jpg)
129.2 KB25 views
Click for full-size image (0ms 220microfaradcap dd11op test 2.jpg)
122.9 KB36 views

Last edited by wasyoungonce; 19-05-2017 at 03:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #777  
Old 19-05-2017, 03:55 PM
Gary47 (Gary)
Registered User

Gary47 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Tatura Vic
Posts: 35
Bren,
Do you want me to send your case so you can do tests?
Gary
Reply With Quote
  #778  
Old 19-05-2017, 04:30 PM
wasyoungonce's Avatar
wasyoungonce (Brendan)
Certified Village Idiot

wasyoungonce is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mexico city (Melb), Australia
Posts: 2,313
Gary many thanks but not yet. I'll try a pinhole camera and Lukas trick with a lens and loop image taking first!

I'm sure its ok atm and I have done images with objects placed on the sensor...yes they work I can see them. But I just wanted to ensure with some methodology before pronouncing it good.
Reply With Quote
  #779  
Old 19-05-2017, 05:57 PM
flolic (Filip)
Registered User

flolic is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Split, Croatia
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by wasyoungonce View Post
So I was thinking a pin hole camera test...anyone done this? Any tricks?
No tricks, pinhole works great for camera testing
Place pinhole 4-5cm from the sensor. You need light-tight enclosure around the sensor, I have used from plastic tube to toilet paper tube
Reply With Quote
  #780  
Old 19-05-2017, 07:21 PM
wasyoungonce's Avatar
wasyoungonce (Brendan)
Certified Village Idiot

wasyoungonce is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mexico city (Melb), Australia
Posts: 2,313
Thanks Flip...I was going to try ~ 10cm...H,, might be too long an FL. I'll try and get back.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 01:45 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Astromechanics
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement