Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Astrophotography and Imaging Equipment and Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #1  
Old 29-06-2008, 07:30 PM
Matty P's Avatar
Matty P (Matt)
Star Struck

Matty P is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Canberra
Posts: 2,797
Alternative Power Source for my Canon DSLR?

Im looking for an alternative power source for my Canon 450D as a replacement for using the battery. Im not too keen on continuously using the only battery I have during an imaging session so I would like to know what options I have to power my 450D?

What would you recommend?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-07-2008, 11:27 AM
Matty P's Avatar
Matty P (Matt)
Star Struck

Matty P is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Canberra
Posts: 2,797
Anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-07-2008, 11:39 AM
Bassnut's Avatar
Bassnut (Fred)
Narrowfield rules!

Bassnut is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sydney
Posts: 4,772
You can buy an AC power adaptor for the 450D, as you can for any DSLR.

I stripped the guts out of a battery and wired DC to it from a DC adaptor, but if you do it yourself you need to know exactly what to do. The one I built worked fine on a 300D, but not with a 40D (same battery and voltage). DSLRs now it seems test the battery in ways that make it hard to simulate with an external DC supply (internal impeadance, capacity etc). I then bought the Canon real deal and it works fine.

IMO its not worth the bother/risk to go cheap and try and make your own, just get a Canon AC adaptor for the 450D, I dont know the part no, but its not hard to find.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-07-2008, 11:48 AM
Robert_T's Avatar
Robert_T
Registered User

Robert_T is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,578
Hi Matty, you might consider buying a couple of non genuine batteries for spares on ebay from Hong Kong. I got a pair for the 40D for $12 and $9 postage...a fair margin cheaper that the genuine article. They work fine.

cheers,

Rob
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-07-2008, 12:15 PM
[1ponders]'s Avatar
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

[1ponders] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Obi Obi, Qld
Posts: 18,778
AC power is the oooonnly way to go Especially in chilly Canberra where the cold will reduce the imaging time per battery considerably.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-07-2008, 12:24 PM
Matty P's Avatar
Matty P (Matt)
Star Struck

Matty P is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Canberra
Posts: 2,797
OK that's settled, AC adapter it is.

Does anyone know where I can get one? I can't find anything.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-07-2008, 12:50 PM
[1ponders]'s Avatar
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

[1ponders] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Obi Obi, Qld
Posts: 18,778
I've had a quick search online and often see them listed as optional accessories but haven't found the actual product. You might have to give one of the camera stores a call. Don't expect them to be cheap.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-07-2008, 01:14 PM
Matty P's Avatar
Matty P (Matt)
Star Struck

Matty P is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Canberra
Posts: 2,797
Quote:
Originally Posted by [1ponders] View Post
Don't expect them to be cheap.
Unfortunately you're right Paul.

I found this site that lists them for $89. Just for an AC adapter, that is fairly overpriced. I'll keep looking.

http://www.camera-warehouse.com.au/p/canon-ack-e5
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-07-2008, 01:16 PM
[1ponders]'s Avatar
[1ponders] (Paul)
Retired, damn no pension

[1ponders] is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Obi Obi, Qld
Posts: 18,778
$89 Grab it!!! Name brand ac adapters often start at around $130.

You may be able to pick one up cheaper in one of the ebay stores, but I haven't found one yet.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-07-2008, 01:20 PM
Matty P's Avatar
Matty P (Matt)
Star Struck

Matty P is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Canberra
Posts: 2,797
I expected it to be around the 50-60 dollar mark. Although it is still reasonable, I will keep looking around.

I have to check Ebay.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-07-2008, 01:31 PM
leon's Avatar
leon
Registered User

leon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ballarat
Posts: 10,956
No Matty that is a bargain, go for it, mine for the 5d cost 140.00 and it is worth every cent.

Mine is hooked up permanently to the camera, which is in turn hooked to the scope, but then I do have an Observatory, where everything just stays put.

leon
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-07-2008, 03:10 PM
B.Wilson
B Wilson

B.Wilson is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Swan Hill
Posts: 10
Buy it
Just checked box 12 months old price sticker $99.00
ACK-DC20
for 350d
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-07-2008, 10:15 AM
Liz's Avatar
Liz
Registered User

Liz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Beautiful SE Tassie
Posts: 4,734
Did ya buy it Matty? I looked into getting one when I bought my 450D, but yep, too dear. I bought a spare battery off Ebay, but the battery lasts a long time for me ( I took 80 star pics down beach the other night) and then I have the spare. You are obviously doing a lot more ... intricate work requiring more vrooom........ buy the ac source
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-07-2008, 12:58 PM
Matty P's Avatar
Matty P (Matt)
Star Struck

Matty P is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Canberra
Posts: 2,797
Before I buy the AC adapter, I just want to clarify that the Canon ACK-E5 AC adapter will work with my 450D?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-07-2008, 03:06 PM
Liz's Avatar
Liz
Registered User

Liz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Beautiful SE Tassie
Posts: 4,734
Hi Matty, have read in heaps of places that power source is the ACK-E5
This guy gives a pretty good review/specifications of camera. This is p 3, but also good info on p 1 & 2.


http://www.steves-digicams.com/2008_...l_xsi_pg3.html






http://www.steves-digicams.com/2008_...si_battery.jpg

The Digital Rebel XSi is powered by a Canon Battery Pack LP-E5 rechargeable battery. At normal temperature (73F and above) it's good for ~600 pictures without flash or ~500 pictures if the flash is used 50% of the time. At colder temperatures (32F and below) that number drops to ~500 or ~400 if flash is used 50% of the time. The figures above are based on CIPA (Camera & Imaging Products Association) testing standards and are much improved over the battery supplied with the XTi.
The supplied LC-E5 compact charger required ~90 minutes to charge a fully depleted LP-E5 battery pack. It requires no separate power cord, it has fold-out prongs.
AC power can be supplied via AC Adapter Kit ACK-E5 (optional).
(Note that there is also a lithium "button" battery inside the battery compartment to retain camera settings during main battery changes.)
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-07-2008, 03:19 PM
Matty P's Avatar
Matty P (Matt)
Star Struck

Matty P is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Canberra
Posts: 2,797
Thanks for the info Liz.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 16-07-2008, 07:53 PM
Jeff's Avatar
Jeff
Starry Eyed

Jeff is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wonga Park
Posts: 688
The following DC-DC converter from Jaycar should hopefully do the trick instead of using an AC adaptor (can provide regulated 7.5v DC output at 2 amps).
http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView...=&SUBCATID=665

I have just ordered one of these myself.

Cheers,
Jeff
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 16-07-2008, 08:02 PM
Tandum's Avatar
Tandum (Robin)
Registered User

Tandum is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Carindale, Brisbane.
Posts: 4,122
Jeff,
How are you going to connect that to your camera?
Doesn't the battery have like 3 or 4 connections?

[edit]
I've been avoiding running 240V to the scope and a low volts DC solution would be great.

Last edited by Tandum; 16-07-2008 at 08:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 16-07-2008, 08:53 PM
Jeff's Avatar
Jeff
Starry Eyed

Jeff is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Wonga Park
Posts: 688
Hi,

I also purchased the AC Adaptor (ACK-E5).

I'll use the "DC Coupler" from that, making it interchangeable between AC Adaptor and the DC-DC Converter (using some small 2-pin plug type connectors).

At least that's the plan!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 16-07-2008, 09:00 PM
Tandum's Avatar
Tandum (Robin)
Registered User

Tandum is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Carindale, Brisbane.
Posts: 4,122
Sounds like a good one ... let me know if it works please ...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 05:21 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astromechanics
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Testar
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement