#1  
Old 28-06-2012, 01:28 PM
Jeffkop's Avatar
Jeffkop (Jeff)
Star-Fishing

Jeffkop is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tuckurimba
Posts: 885
Pixinsight help

OK all you pixinsight users ... I have looked and cant find the solution anywhere so here goes ... I want to be able to save an image that has had a screen stretch performed on it ... simple ... Ive done my processing and want to save the image to put on the web, add to a library, what ever. Sure I can save it as a tiff etc but it doesnt save it stretched .. whats the process ??? ... Ive tried a lot, had a look at tutorials, one even told me that saving the picture will save it in its linear form ... I can definately say that is true ... As yet I havent been able to sort this out.

Thanks for your help
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28-06-2012, 01:32 PM
h0ughy's Avatar
h0ughy (David)
DOGHOUSE REBORN

h0ughy is online now
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NEWCASTLE NSW Australia
Posts: 30,498
the only way to save the screen stretch is to create a clone of the image then apply it to the histogram transformation by dragging the title triangle area and dropping it onto the histogram transformation bottom of the tab - note it changes the image permanently or you can save your whole process to a process icon and save the whole image processing session as a project
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28-06-2012, 01:57 PM
rcheshire's Avatar
rcheshire (Rowland)
Registered User

rcheshire is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Geelong
Posts: 2,603
If you apply the stretch and save in a different format to the image, the stretch can be undone afterwards and returned to its linear state. If this is what you mean. Otherwise as Houghey suggests.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28-06-2012, 02:11 PM
Octane's Avatar
Octane (Humayun)
IIS Member #671

Octane is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canberra
Posts: 11,159
Click the little A to automatically screen stretch in the ScreenTransferFunction.

Then, bring up the HistogramTransformation tool. Reset its settings. Drag the little triangle from STF to the bottom of HT.

I think that's the way; I can't check as I'm on the train to the airport. I think it's basically what h0ughy said.

H
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28-06-2012, 02:21 PM
Jeffkop's Avatar
Jeffkop (Jeff)
Star-Fishing

Jeffkop is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tuckurimba
Posts: 885
Quote:
Originally Posted by h0ughy View Post
the only way to save the screen stretch is to create a clone of the image then apply it to the histogram transformation by dragging the title triangle area and dropping it onto the histogram transformation bottom of the tab - note it changes the image permanently or you can save your whole process to a process icon and save the whole image processing session as a project
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcheshire View Post
If you apply the stretch and save in a different format to the image, the stretch can be undone afterwards and returned to its linear state. If this is what you mean. Otherwise as Houghey suggests.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Octane View Post
Click the little A to automatically screen stretch in the ScreenTransferFunction.

Then, bring up the HistogramTransformation tool. Reset its settings. Drag the little triangle from STF to the bottom of HT.

I think that's the way; I can't check as I'm on the train to the airport. I think it's basically what h0ughy said.

H
Thanks for the heads up guys ... will try that and if successful post my IC4604 with washed out colour ... no wonder with all this rain !!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28-06-2012, 04:08 PM
Jeffkop's Avatar
Jeffkop (Jeff)
Star-Fishing

Jeffkop is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tuckurimba
Posts: 885
Thanks .. got it sorted, but not after some trouble .. you cant have the image already stretched before you drag the triangle over to the histogram tool.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28-06-2012, 09:02 PM
whzzz28's Avatar
whzzz28 (Nathan)
Registered User

whzzz28 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 339
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffkop View Post
Thanks .. got it sorted, but not after some trouble .. you cant have the image already stretched before you drag the triangle over to the histogram tool.
You can, however you need to remember that if you apply a transformation with the histogram transformation tool, you will essentially have your transformation applied twice (hence looks crap).

If you drag it to the histogram transformation tool and then apply it, you then simply need to reset the STF tool.
You do that by opening the STF tool and down the bottom right is a four arrow icon. Hover over it and it says reset. Click it to remove your STF, this will give you back the nice stretched image which is permanently applied. If the reset button does nothing, to the left of it is another icon (tick) that says "Track View" when you hover over it. Click that, then click reset and it will disappear.

Also, i highly suggest you spend a few hours playing with PI tools after watching these videos:
http://www.harrysastroshed.com/pixinsighthome.html
(newbie videos are really good)

More specifically, using the STF tool with the histogram transformation tool is covered in video: Histogram Transformation, around 3:30.

Save these videos to your PC - they are really handy.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 11:58 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement