Old 07-01-2010, 09:14 AM
Dave47tuc (David)
IIS member 65

Observing report 6th Jan.

Observing report 6th Jan 2010 local time 22.30 - 0.15 local time.
Location Main Ridge Vic.
Scope: 18" Obsession with Argo Navis. Eyepieces used set of Tele Vue Naglers and 14 and 8.8 mm UWA Meade's. Filters UHC and H beta also 0III.

In the early days of Iceinspace I reported my viewing experience with my friends 18" Obsession not sure where they are now. I normally don't write observing reports but thought as this site has many thousand new members now I would give it a go. I don't observe anywhere near as much as I use too. And since I have been observing since 1970 you can get tired of it ( shock horror but true) Julian and I have basically the same background when it comes to viewing the night sky. We can find our way around with out the Argo navis, meaning we can find objects with a star map and finder. But hey its a new era in armature astronomy and I don't mind using the tools of today and the AN is fantastic, and when time is short it makes viewing more objects much easier, anyway enough of that.

The scope is as I said an 18" Obsession when it comes to viewing the night sky size does matter (SDM!) for all you beginners don't let anyone tell you it does not. The bigger the scope the more light it gathers and the more you will see and the brighter the object. It's that simple. They don't build little scopes on top of mountains do they!!