#1  
Old 29-06-2005, 06:06 AM
toetoe's Avatar
toetoe (Peter)
Always Trying

toetoe is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Albury, N.S.W.
Posts: 1,296
Auto Focus

I am trying very hard to understand this camera of mine, Olympus C-725. The book tells me to push the shutter half way down to get the focus and the camera will lock on to the target and then snap away. 9 times out of 10 this will not happen, the focus is going in and out like it should when focusing but it will stop out of focus most of the time. Is there a trick to this Auto Focus stuff or something else i can do so i can take some pictures. Any input on this would be great.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29-06-2005, 06:16 AM
iceman's Avatar
iceman (Mike)
Sir Post a Lot!

iceman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Gosford, NSW, Australia
Posts: 36,709
Most cameras do this now.. press halfway down and it will focus for you, and then beep or flash when it's achieved focus, then press the rest of the way down.

I've had times where mine won't focus properly and just keeps trying before giving up, but usually in low light. What are you trying to take a photo of?

What are your focus settings? Centre spot? Multi point? Do you get a choice? Can you also manually set focus to (for example), 1m, 3m, 5m, 7m, infinity?

I'm not familiar with the camera, but hopefully we can get you sorted out.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29-06-2005, 06:16 AM
iceman's Avatar
iceman (Mike)
Sir Post a Lot!

iceman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Gosford, NSW, Australia
Posts: 36,709
Oh also do you have a link where I can see the specs/features of the camera?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29-06-2005, 06:31 AM
toetoe's Avatar
toetoe (Peter)
Always Trying

toetoe is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Albury, N.S.W.
Posts: 1,296
There is a AF Square in the viewer which you aim at your target for focusing. No manual focusing, which there was though. http://www.cworld.com.au/info.php?ID=116889
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29-06-2005, 06:32 AM
toetoe's Avatar
toetoe (Peter)
Always Trying

toetoe is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Albury, N.S.W.
Posts: 1,296
I`ll try to get some better specs so you can have a gander at as i have no clue about cameras.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29-06-2005, 06:37 AM
toetoe's Avatar
toetoe (Peter)
Always Trying

toetoe is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Albury, N.S.W.
Posts: 1,296
Quote:
Originally Posted by iceman
What are you trying to take a photo of?
Anything realy, Sunrise/Sunset, hills, cows (sorry ving) moon, stars.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29-06-2005, 07:33 AM
acropolite's Avatar
acropolite (Phil)
Registered User

acropolite is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Launceston Tasmania
Posts: 8,988
If you're trying to take a pic in low light, e.g astro pic then the autofocus probably doesn't have enough light to focus with. If that's the case you should set it to manual focus if the camera has the option.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29-06-2005, 07:56 AM
toetoe's Avatar
toetoe (Peter)
Always Trying

toetoe is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Albury, N.S.W.
Posts: 1,296
No manual focus Phil.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29-06-2005, 08:17 AM
iceman's Avatar
iceman (Mike)
Sir Post a Lot!

iceman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Gosford, NSW, Australia
Posts: 36,709
We don't mean focusing by the lens, we mean by camera settings - there's no setting for changing focus?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29-06-2005, 08:31 AM
toetoe's Avatar
toetoe (Peter)
Always Trying

toetoe is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Albury, N.S.W.
Posts: 1,296
Shows how dumb i am about this don`t it, i am just confused about everything with this camera.
does this link help at all ?
http://www.olympus-europa.com/consum...ifications.htm
Got to go to work for a couple hours now.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 29-06-2005, 12:41 PM
slice of heaven
Registered User

slice of heaven is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: S.A.
Posts: 1,074
Does the green light in the view screen for the focus stay on or does it blink?

I'm assuming youve good batteries and a clean lens.
There are situations where autofocus wont work but it should have worked on most of the subjects you tried except the stars and maybe the moon.
I read the manual for your camera and there are no adjustable/manual settings for the focus.The only other option apart from autofocus is the normal focus lock ,but you still need the autofocus to focus before you can use that.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 29-06-2005, 12:44 PM
iceman's Avatar
iceman (Mike)
Sir Post a Lot!

iceman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Gosford, NSW, Australia
Posts: 36,709
ah yeh make sure your lens is clean - i've had problems coming to auto-focus when the lens is dirty. Also just try a shot at home, of your computer, telescope, whatever. Something only 1-3 metres away. Does it work?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 29-06-2005, 01:01 PM
slice of heaven
Registered User

slice of heaven is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: S.A.
Posts: 1,074
Quote:
Originally Posted by iceman
ah yeh make sure your lens is clean - i've had problems coming to auto-focus when the lens is dirty. Also just try a shot at home, of your computer, telescope, whatever. Something only 1-3 metres away. Does it work?
And start from the beginning with AUTO mode and the standard settings, get comfortable with the camera first then try out different options until you can grasp the function of each option. Hope you get the problem solved .
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 29-06-2005, 02:03 PM
toetoe's Avatar
toetoe (Peter)
Always Trying

toetoe is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Albury, N.S.W.
Posts: 1,296
Thanks guys, good batteries yes, clean lens yes, green light stays on when auto focus stops. Close up shots work OK. Take it step by step and work my way around each setting sounds like the way to go thanks slice.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 29-06-2005, 02:09 PM
slice of heaven
Registered User

slice of heaven is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: S.A.
Posts: 1,074
No prob
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 29-06-2005, 03:11 PM
toetoe's Avatar
toetoe (Peter)
Always Trying

toetoe is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Albury, N.S.W.
Posts: 1,296
I don`t have much hair left to pull out, don`t understand the jargon in this camera book. ISO 100,200,400, shutter speed, aperture value, white balance, exposure compensation and more and more and more. By the time i understand and work out what this stuff does i think i`m going to hate cameras..
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 29-06-2005, 03:37 PM
slice of heaven
Registered User

slice of heaven is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: S.A.
Posts: 1,074
Thats why they have auto mode Peter.
Take your time, trial and error will help you along the way but try one thing at a time.
Once you understand it you can carry that info on to your next camera.
Your lucky its digital, it doesnt cost you anything to develop bad pics.
While I was getting used to the MZ60 I was flicking pic after pic into the bin.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 12:33 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement