#1  
Old 30-08-2007, 04:36 PM
Mark's Avatar
Mark
I Like globs.

Mark is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Wagga
Posts: 145
Got my canon 40D!

..and I'm patiently waiting for the battery to charge...

I really wish I had ordered my EOS to 2" barrel adapter already. Curse!

Mark
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30-08-2007, 04:48 PM
RB's Avatar
RB (Andrew)
Moderator

RB is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 22,022
Cool Mark !
Congrats.

Where did you buy it from?

Looking forward to the pics.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30-08-2007, 04:57 PM
Mark's Avatar
Mark
I Like globs.

Mark is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Wagga
Posts: 145
Got it from Camera Action in Melbourne. I was in Melbourne today and wanted to put a deposit on one for when they got them in stock..but they were already in stock (I was quite surprised) so I said 'gimme one'.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30-08-2007, 07:11 PM
leon's Avatar
leon
Registered User

leon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ballarat
Posts: 10,825
Good stuff Mark you wont be disappointed.

Leon
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30-08-2007, 07:23 PM
Mark's Avatar
Mark
I Like globs.

Mark is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Wagga
Posts: 145
And now for the really good news. With this camera and the EOS utility in remote control mode you can set bulb exposures for more than 30secs..up to 99 minutes 59 secs via the USB cable! There is no need for a shutter control cable. I've just been playing around with the Live View function and the EOS utility. This could make astrophotography painfully easy.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30-08-2007, 08:10 PM
leon's Avatar
leon
Registered User

leon is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: ballarat
Posts: 10,825
Well Mark with all that fancy gear we expect some top images mate yep your right the Canon stuff is unreal.

Cheers Leon
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-09-2007, 02:35 AM
Ingo
Registered User

Ingo is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 559
Quote:
Originally Posted by leon View Post
Well Mark with all that fancy gear we expect some top images mate yep your right the Canon stuff is unreal.

Cheers Leon
Nikon is jumping on the wagon

ISO25600
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-09-2007, 02:53 AM
RB's Avatar
RB (Andrew)
Moderator

RB is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 22,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark View Post
And now for the really good news. With this camera and the EOS utility in remote control mode you can set bulb exposures for more than 30secs..up to 99 minutes 59 secs via the USB cable! There is no need for a shutter control cable. I've just been playing around with the Live View function and the EOS utility. This could make astrophotography painfully easy.
Oh coool, nice feature !!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ingo View Post
Nikon is jumping on the wagon

ISO25600
We're looking forward to some images too from the Nikon at ISO25600.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-09-2007, 03:14 AM
Ingo
Registered User

Ingo is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 559
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocket Boy View Post
Oh coool, nice feature !!!!



We're looking forward to some images too from the Nikon at ISO25600.
Me also...I've seen some from the D3 at 6400 @ they're clean as can be. Equal to or better than the 1D Mark III.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-09-2007, 07:05 PM
CometGuy's Avatar
CometGuy
Registered User

CometGuy is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 942
Mark,

I've heard you can also manual focus adjustments from the control software in live-view mode, Bert (Avandonk) will be over the moon!

Yeh Ingo the D3 images look impressive (at ISO3200/6400, ISO25600 = marketing). I wonder if we will see Nikon produce a 5D equivalent, i.e a cut down body with less fps (not everyone needs 10 fps), but the same sensor at a lower price?

Terry

Last edited by CometGuy; 01-09-2007 at 07:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-09-2007, 01:37 AM
Ingo
Registered User

Ingo is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 559
Maybe, I'm planning on buying a D300 soon.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-09-2007, 06:41 AM
Mark's Avatar
Mark
I Like globs.

Mark is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Wagga
Posts: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by CometGuy View Post
I've heard you can also manual focus adjustments from the control software in live-view mode, Bert (Avandonk) will be over the moon!

Yes, focus adjustments can be made from the software.

The downside of Live View is that it eats up the battery. I'm thinking an AC adapter or DC/DC adapter is going to be a necessity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 07:09 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Star Adventurer
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Celestron RASA
Advertisement
EQ8-R
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Astromechanics
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement