#1  
Old 06-12-2015, 09:49 AM
Somnium's Avatar
Somnium (Aidan)
Aidan

Somnium is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,669
dark lines coming from bright stars

Hi all

i was wondering if anyone else has had the issue that i am having. after i stack my subs, i notice a black line going from bright stars to the edge of the detector. the strange thing is i cant see it in the subs, only in the stacked version (DSS)

PS. forget the blobby stars, i had some differential flexure problems
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (Capture dss.JPG)
47.1 KB72 views
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-12-2015, 04:06 PM
Atmos's Avatar
Atmos (Colin)
Ultimate Noob

Atmos is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 6,328
Quote:
Originally Posted by Somnium View Post
Hi all

i was wondering if anyone else has had the issue that i am having. after i stack my subs, i notice a black line going from bright stars to the edge of the detector. the strange thing is i cant see it in the subs, only in the stacked version (DSS)

PS. forget the blobby stars, i had some differential flexure problems
Imaging past the meridian? My thought is a very minute amount of mirror movement when going from one side of the sky to the other. If the diffraction spike is very slightly moved from one side of a star to the other on different sides of the meridian.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-12-2015, 04:18 PM
RobF's Avatar
RobF (Rob)
Mostly harmless...

RobF is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 5,513
That's an issue with the QHY9 with some drivers and settings Aidan. Clamping is the first thing usually suggested to help. I've found different drivers and download speeds affect the likelihood of seeing it too over the years.

Have you got the clamping tick box selected?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-12-2015, 04:24 PM
RickS's Avatar
RickS (Rick)
PI cult recruiter

RickS is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 10,584
The KAF-8300 can produce short, dark horizontal blooms from bright stars when binned because the horizontal shift register isn't deep enough. That doesn't look exactly the same but I wonder if it might be a similar effect. Are you binning? Have you changed the gain? The fix for the blooming problem when binned is to reduce the gain.

Cheers,
Rick.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-12-2015, 04:36 PM
Somnium's Avatar
Somnium (Aidan)
Aidan

Somnium is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,669
I am not binning , I have never heard of clamping, I will check that out, I am using ezcap to take images. I can't really see evidence of the lines in each sub but that might just be because I haven't stretched it as much. I am out for about 2 hours, will check my settings when I get home . Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-12-2015, 08:07 PM
Somnium's Avatar
Somnium (Aidan)
Aidan

Somnium is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,669
there is no option for clamping in EZcap ...

any suggestion on the best driver to use for the QHY9 ?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-12-2015, 08:40 PM
Somnium's Avatar
Somnium (Aidan)
Aidan

Somnium is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,669
just an addition to an earlier comment, the lines do appear in the subs, they are just extremely faint and it required some stretching to find them
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-12-2015, 09:55 PM
Shiraz's Avatar
Shiraz (Ray)
Registered User

Shiraz is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: ardrossan south australia
Posts: 4,787
any use?
http://www.iceinspace.com.au/forum/s...d.php?t=130615
I think this is an issue with the ABG bias setting.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-12-2015, 10:38 PM
Somnium's Avatar
Somnium (Aidan)
Aidan

Somnium is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,669
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shiraz View Post
any use?
http://www.iceinspace.com.au/forum/s...d.php?t=130615
I think this is an issue with the ABG bias setting.
Thanks Ray, that looks identical to the issue i am getting, i haven't had a chance to fully digest the thread, but it seems like i am going to have to open the camera up and do some surgery on it ... i would have thought if it is an issue it should be resolved by the manufacturer.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-12-2015, 10:43 PM
Shiraz's Avatar
Shiraz (Ray)
Registered User

Shiraz is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: ardrossan south australia
Posts: 4,787
Quote:
Originally Posted by Somnium View Post
Thanks Ray, that looks identical to the issue i am getting, i haven't had a chance to fully digest the thread, but it seems like i am going to have to open the camera up and do some surgery on it ... i would have thought if it is an issue it should be resolved by the manufacturer.
I doubt that anything more than a tweak on the pot will be needed. I think that Allan set the bias on his to 2.2v and the problem went away. Maybe check with Theo and see if he has any info from the factory?

Allan did everyone a service by publishing the info in that thread
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07-12-2015, 01:18 PM
Somnium's Avatar
Somnium (Aidan)
Aidan

Somnium is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,669
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobF View Post
That's an issue with the QHY9 with some drivers and settings Aidan. Clamping is the first thing usually suggested to help. I've found different drivers and download speeds affect the likelihood of seeing it too over the years.

Have you got the clamping tick box selected?
Hi Rob, I found clamping on ezcap and it was unchecked.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-12-2015, 01:30 PM
RobF's Avatar
RobF (Rob)
Mostly harmless...

RobF is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 5,513
Nothing to lose by giving it a try before you "operate"
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-12-2015, 01:31 PM
Somnium's Avatar
Somnium (Aidan)
Aidan

Somnium is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Sydney
Posts: 1,669
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobF View Post
Nothing to lose by giving it a try before you "operate"
yeah, the manual says that if it is checked than it can cause this issue. i am going to play around with my gain and offset first too, because they are not right, if i am still having the issues i will scrub up.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 11:31 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Celestron Australia
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Meade Australia
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Australia
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement