ICEINSPACE
Most Read Articles
Moon Phase
CURRENT MOON Waxing Crescent
5.2%
The Sun Now
Time Zones
Sydney*
8:08 am
Perth
5:08 am
Auckland*
10:08 am
New York
4:08 pm
Paris
10:08 pm
GMT
9:08 pm




Go Back   IceInSpace > Equipment > Equipment Discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
  #21  
Old 25-03-2017, 03:23 PM
Eris
Registered User

Eris is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mount Barker SA
Posts: 57
Hi just an update if anyone's wondering about what progress has been made re the tracking problems on the G11.

Firstly many thanks to Charles (for his time and expertise) who came over and worked with me on the problem.

We pulled both RA and Dec axis apart and cleaned the pads etc of oil as Peter had predicted. However, we were unable to free up the bearings embedded within the polar axis shaft itself.

Also Charles noted that even though the polar axis knob was on tight there was still a fair amount of 'looseness' still remaining when attempting to turn the scope by hand. We were able to improve on this tightening by removing the polar axis scope which is now not required owing to PoleMaster working at the other end.

Charles mentioned that although the pins had been cleaned between the hand controller and the Gemini there could still be corrosion remaining preventing a good connection. Moving the pins in and out of their sockets again several times in RA and Dec has helped and movement in both axes seems fixed.

I am hoping these measures have gone a long way in fixing the problem but as on many occasions before clouds have prevented me doing a further polar alignment and a star tracking test. So until then I am waiting for the next clear night to be sure it is fixed.

Last edited by Eris; 25-03-2017 at 07:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 25-03-2017, 09:31 PM
Octane's Avatar
Octane (Humayun)
IIS Member #671

Octane is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Canberra
Posts: 11,025
Well done!

I also spent several hours today dismantling my G-11 (the first time I've done it in ten years of owning it). I washed and cleaned everything with detergent, then, rubbed dry with rubbing alcohol. I applied lithium grease to all the bearings.

I also installed the encoder set that I've had sitting around doing nothing for the past 6 or 7 years.

Now, my back hurts, haha.

H
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 25-03-2017, 10:28 PM
Eris
Registered User

Eris is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mount Barker SA
Posts: 57
I know what you mean. For me it's my neck.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 07:08 AM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
Tasco Australia
Advertisement
SkyWatcher Star Discovery
Advertisement
Meade Instruments
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Atik 16200
Advertisement
FLI Cameras and Imaging Accessories
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement