#1  
Old 03-03-2019, 11:49 AM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 5,550
NBN slow in the morning

It's been a week I switched to NBN (I stayed with the same provider, Iinet, basic package with phone).

Since the day one, practically I have no internet in the mornings before 11AM (yes, it is there but just barely, it is unusable for browsing. Before that I had ADSL2, no problems).
Interestingly, telephone (VoIp) works normally.

Now I am thinking, I should have stayed as long as possible with the previous arrangement.


Anyone has a similar experience?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-03-2019, 12:00 PM
Nikolas's Avatar
Nikolas (Nik)
Dazed and confused

Nikolas is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,001
Tried contacting them? You are not getting what you paid for hence either they fix it or you demand a refund or go elswehere.

Ombudsman is always the last resort as well
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-03-2019, 01:19 PM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 5,550
I contacted them over the phone today, but the guys from support tried to convince me it is my browser (like, I don't know what I am talking about..)
As to fee payment for upgrade, i can't complain - I told them I wanted free upgrade because:

1) It is not MY wish to go to to NBN, I was perfectly happy with ADLS2 and I did not want to make copper wires obsolete
2) I was an old customer, so I earned the fee they wanted to charge for transfer many times over.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-03-2019, 02:13 PM
skysurfer's Avatar
skysurfer
Dark sky rules !

skysurfer is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: 52N 6E (EU)
Posts: 999
Quote:
Originally Posted by bojan View Post
I contacted them over the phone today, but the guys from support tried to convince me it is my browser (like, I don't know what I am talking about..)
As to fee payment for upgrade, i can't complain - I told them I wanted free upgrade because:

1) It is not MY wish to go to to NBN, I was perfectly happy with ADLS2 and I did not want to make copper wires obsolete
2) I was an old customer, so I earned the fee they wanted to charge for transfer many times over.
Absolutely nonsense. When the same browser works flawlessly with your DSL, it should work perfectly. Usually they put students at the helpdesk with few knowledge.

Do you have fiber ? Not all NBN connections are fiber.
And it can be a DNS problem. The DNS can be different from your old provider, but luckily you can change it yourself. A good one is Cloudflare DNS :
Adresses:
1.1.1.1
1.0.0.1
They include ad blocking as well.

Another one is Cisco OpenDNS:
208.67.222.222
208.67.220.220

These are more reliable than the privacy offending Google DNS.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-03-2019, 02:50 PM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 5,550
I have HFC (so fiber is further up the line).
Good point re DNS, thank you - (it occurred to me as well sort of.. because phone is working OK) - I will try your suggestion asap, I left the previous settings (automatic) as it worked OK... most likely I was on Telstra server with ADSL2, and now that the physical line changed (cable), DNS was also changed.
My mistake.
My apologies, IInet.

Last edited by bojan; 03-03-2019 at 03:28 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-03-2019, 06:47 AM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 5,550
Tried this morning with suggested DNS (and 8.8.8.8)... it seems this solved the problem, however, the effect of changing DNS was not immediate like I expected (change from automatic to specifis DNS), it seems reboot was required?
Anyway.. looks like all works now :-)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-03-2019, 08:55 AM
skysurfer's Avatar
skysurfer
Dark sky rules !

skysurfer is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: 52N 6E (EU)
Posts: 999
Quote:
Originally Posted by bojan View Post
Tried this morning with suggested DNS (and 8.8.8.8)... it seems this solved the problem, however, the effect of changing DNS was not immediate like I expected (change from automatic to specifis DNS), it seems reboot was required?
Anyway.. looks like all works now :-)
You should reinitialize network connection, e.g. turn off and on wifi or unplug and plug again the network cable if you have wired network. That is all.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-03-2019, 09:06 AM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 5,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by skysurfer View Post
You should reinitialize network connection, e.g. turn off and on wifi or unplug and plug again the network cable if you have wired network. That is all.

Makes sense.. Thank a lot
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-03-2019, 12:18 PM
Exfso's Avatar
Exfso (Peter)
Registered User

Exfso is online now
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 1,589
I'd be very wary of IINet, they are a bunch of shonks in my opinion, they told me all sorts of lies, and at one stage I had less than dial up speeds on my 100/50 service. They blamed everything except their ability to provide bandwidth. I had to get the ombudsman involved to get out of their contract, now with Aussiebb and never looked back.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-03-2019, 12:43 PM
The_bluester's Avatar
The_bluester (Paul)
Registered User

The_bluester is online now
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Kilmore, Australia
Posts: 1,648
The slowdown times are odd too, the usual NBN lack of bandwith issues crop up in roughly a 5PM to 9PM or so slot, basically when people get home and start watching Netflix.

Currently I am in NBN fixed wireless congestion hell. Anywhere down to about 1mbps download in peak times since a tower "Upgrade" two months ago and they just keep auto closing tickets, we have established pretty solidly that it is nothing to do with my network or my RSP (Aussie Broadband)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-03-2019, 06:10 AM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 5,550
This morning NBN is slow again (VERY slow actually, every webpage times out), even wih DNS settings that apparently woked OK (or so I thought)).



So far I know for certain that in the morning:
- VoIP (phone) works OK
- Browsing does not work
- Skype does not work (not sure if it depends on DNS setting ?)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-03-2019, 08:43 AM
skysurfer's Avatar
skysurfer
Dark sky rules !

skysurfer is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: 52N 6E (EU)
Posts: 999
Quote:
Originally Posted by bojan View Post
This morning NBN is slow again (VERY slow actually, every webpage times out), even wih DNS settings that apparently woked OK (or so I thought)).



So far I know for certain that in the morning:
- VoIP (phone) works OK
- Browsing does not work
- Skype does not work (not sure if it depends on DNS setting ?)
Probably the provider takes Voip priority over browsing or other internet services.
Skype has nothing to do with DNS settings, different to other internet use.
And, indeed, complain at your provider.

But as "The_bluester" says, all the streaming services are indeed a bandwidth hog. When using Netflix, rather pre-download it in low load times (e.g. night) and watch later.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-03-2019, 06:05 AM
bojan's Avatar
bojan
amateur

bojan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mt Waverley, VIC
Posts: 5,550
Yesterday we were even without phone service.. it was resored at ~8PM.

This morning - same... Internet access is there, phone works, internet browsing and Skype unuseably slow (~1bit/sec or so /-: )
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 15-03-2019, 12:05 PM
The_bluester's Avatar
The_bluester (Paul)
Registered User

The_bluester is online now
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Kilmore, Australia
Posts: 1,648
You need pages to load to do it but I would be doing some speedtest.net tests to see what you connection is actually doing, run them at various times of day to build a profile that shows if you have congestion issues. Unfortunately there is not a lot you can do to show where slow speeds are coming from. All we could do was traceroutes which showed in a 100ms round trip, almost all of it was in the (Invisible) hop through the NBN to our RPS's network.

Ours is finally sorted after I would have to say, two months of obfuscation and BS from NBN.

Another month of anywhere down to 0.9mbps download later and suddenly it is working properly. Unfortunately we are due for more "Scheduled maintenance" later this month, that was the start of this last little escapade in customer service.

They would smell much more of roses if they did not work so hard to gaslight their customers or just tell them porkies. At one point when a ticket was lodged we suddenly had no connection, then really good speeds for about ten minutes then no connection, then good speeds, then back to it's "best". The no connection was because they forced a recycle of the NTD at our end, and then they closed the fault as having no speed problems. Suspicious me wonders if they performed the test while recycling all the NTD's on our sector of the tower, knocking a lot of customers offline and reducing load for the duration of the test so it looked better than it was.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time is now 12:17 PM.

Powered by vBulletin Version 3.8.7 | Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Advertisement
SkyWatcher 2018 Catalogue
Advertisement
SkyWatcher WiFi Adaptor
Advertisement
OzScopes Authorised Dealer
Advertisement
Bintel
Advertisement
NexDome Observatories
Advertisement
Lunatico Astronomical
Advertisement
Interest Free Finance
Advertisement
Astronomy and Electronics Centre
Advertisement