Old 10-01-2008, 10:26 AM
TeZZa

Nikon D200 Best Astro Settings?

Hi guys, I notice that a few people here have the Nikon D200; what settings have you tweaked for your astro-photography? For instance have you adjusted the WB? Do you have all the settings saved into a Bank, or do you adjust them each time to suit?

I'm a complete newb with astro stuff, I've tried a bit but am currently struggling to get any usable images, this site has been a great resource to come and lurk, and has indeed helped, but I haven't been able to search and find any info that tells me how much fiddling with the basic settings of the D200 you guys have done to achieve your results.

TeZZa
Old 13-01-2008, 09:43 AM
CometGuy

Tezza,

I haven't had a chance to use the D200 myself but I know somebody who has and sent me some NEF files from his camera. Looking at the NEF files high ISO noise reduction should be turned off as it removes faint astronomical detail. Generally, daylight/sunny white balance is used although when using NEF this should be irrelevant.

Anyway here is a shot of the Centaurus Milky way made using a D200 and 18-200 Tamron lens set to 18mm (the image here is greatly cropped). Note the camera was TRIPOD mounted, and this image was made by combining 6 x 30 second exposures (alignment and cropping was done in IRIS). The 6 exposures had varying settings with some with NR on others without, ISO1600 and ISO400 etc. It was also photographed against the light pollution of Geelong, so you could do a lot better in a dark sky (Have a look for images posted by Loomberah for example).

Terry
Attached Thumbnails
Click for full-size image (d200_tripod.jpg)
53.1 KB596 views
Old 13-01-2008, 12:06 PM
Deeno
“We are star-stuff”

Hey TeZZa

Only recently started to use my D200 for some astro photography and only at the start of the learning curve.

Here are some settings I've been playing with :- Exp. Delay Mode- On.. This will open the shutter gently reducing camera shake.